Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels sign Josh Papalii for 2014

The Raiders can bitch and moan all they like. They can run around organizing 3rd party deals until the cows come home. But it's too late fellas, he's signed with us.

Not strictly true ME. Unfortunately the contract he's signed isn't worth anything to us until the NRL registers it, and they won't do that until after round 13.

If he's signed and backs out on June 12, then the rules should allow for the Raiders to compensate us for lost negotiation time while we thought we had our money tied up in a contract...

I still reckon he won't be persuaded to stay in Canberra, it's too late for that - you don't get your mum involved until the deal is done. This is all just paper talk and trying to save face among his mates and the club he'll still be playing with this season (unless the Raiders throw a tanty on June 14 and cut him so he comes to us early :cool:).

If he's signed and backs out on June 12, then the rules should allow for the Raiders to compensate us for lost negotiation time while we thought we had our money tied up in a contract...

I still reckon he won't be persuaded to stay in Canberra, it's too late for that - you don't get your mum involved until the deal is done. This is all just paper talk and trying to save face among his mates and the club he'll still be playing with this season (unless the Raiders throw a tanty on June 14 and cut him so he comes to us early :cool:).

I hope you're right mate.

What we need to do now is chase/sign someone else decent for 2014 and talk up what a great squad it's going to become etc. Get Hopoate doing some interviews about how he's looking forward to it etc.

Then those lowies at the Raiders that let Paps go the first time will have less chance of turning him around :thumn:.

Joshuatheeel

Spot on Twiz.

Say we had Tanginoa off contract and he left for a bigger deal etc, i, as well as every other Parra fan on here, would be gutted, but if i was to see some Parra fans carrying on like this i would be embarrassed. There is either going to be a big LOL@PARRA if he does stay or if he does in fact come to us the Raiders fans will cop it im sure.

When it happens to us most of our whinging us directed to the dongos that run our club

What we need to do now is chase/sign someone else decent for 2014 and talk up what a great squad it's going to become etc. Get Hopoate doing some interviews about how he's looking forward to it etc.

Then those lowies at the Raiders that let Paps go the first time will have less chance of turning him around :thumn:.

Or we could just start winning some f**king games of football!

i do wonder what the raiders fans that are claiming we paid stupid money for him will say when they do match our offer though. Will the figure then change from $500K down to the $330K?

400k is the upper limit of what i think he's worth in the salary cap. If we can organise another 100k in 3rd parties to keep him, great. (and in fairness for all i know of Parra's 500k deal, $150k of it could be third party which makes the 330-350k reasonable from their perspective)

IF we match parra's offer dollar to dollar against our cap and it's 500k against our cap. We've paid overs. Simply as that.

EelsFan05

Can someone remind me whether a board member is/isnt allowed to be involved in negotiations with third party sponsors for a players contract?

From my knowledge they can facilitate the meeting and help with the negotiations, but i believe they can have no paid or official involvement with the company offering the 3rd party deal.

FWIW, which ever way this thing goes, i couldnt agree more that a system that would allow the Raiders to sign him after he's already signed and agreed to a deal with another club is a total farce. It needs to be fixed. That being said, im pleased our club isnt taking the morale high ground and is exploiting it in an attempt to keep a player they want. We've been on the receiving end of this before so, all's fair within the NRL rules.

400k is the upper limit of what i think he's worth in the salary cap. If we can organise another 100k in 3rd parties to keep him, great. (and in fairness for all i know of Parra's 500k deal, $150k of it could be third party which makes the 330-350k reasonable from their perspective)

IF we match parra's offer dollar to dollar against our cap and it's 500k against our cap. We've paid overs. Simply as that.

Parra didn't pay 500k

Bigfella

I'm with the Raider bloke.

Nothing demonstrates Josh's firm commitment to stay in Canberra than signing a three year deal with another club and releasing a media statement about looking forward to joining them.

It's like he has committed to the green machine for life when you think about it.

I'm with the Raider bloke.

Nothing demonstrates Josh's firm commitment to stay in Canberra than signing a three year deal with another club and releasing a media statement about looking forward to joining them.

It's like he has committed to the green machine for life when you think about it.

Parra didn't pay 500k

As i said, im not sure what Parra are paying. The deal is worth over 400k, because that's our offer and according to your own CEO - that offer wasnt near yours.

Now what the break down of that is Parra or 3rd parties, im not sure. But the deal is well in excess of 400k a year. For all i know Parra are paying 75k with some 3rd party chipping in the rest. Perhaps the 1 mil over 3 years which you are desperately clinging too is a Parramatta only figure and doesnt include the 3rd parties. But If you think you've got this kid for a deal totalling less than 400k a year, you're kidding yourself

As i said, im not sure what Parra are paying. The deal is worth over 400k, because that's our offer and according to your own CEO - that offer wasnt near yours.

Now what the break down of that is Parra or 3rd parties, im not sure. But the deal is well in excess of 400k a year. For all i know Parra are paying 75k with some 3rd party chipping in the rest. Perhaps the 1 mil over 3 years which you are desperately clinging too is a Parramatta only figure and doesnt include the 3rd parties. But If you think you've got this kid for a deal totalling less than 400k a year, you're kidding yourself

you assume everything you read from a Canberra journo is fact and now you are doing the same with your CEO

the bloke is clearly trying to save face and make it look like Parra broke the bank in getting him to sign

Craig Johnston

Bartman, i'd love to hear the sound grabs of those words... And i mean this entirely as not to offend Josh, but anyone who has heard the guy speak to the media will tell you those are very strange quotes.

Given he wasnt there at the media conference, but was in Canberra preparing for a trail, i might suggest that when he signed the deal, some two weeks ago (before perhaps his 2nd thoughts come into play) his manager drafted a written statement and Papalii signed it to be read out at the appropriate time.

Papalii can end this saga any time he wants, the media will be itching to get some direct quotes, rather than written statement read out by someone else. All he has to do is say "Im committed to Parramatta in 2014 and am looking forward to finishing off strongly with the Raiders"

The fact he hasnt done so, and the fact Canberra are still quite adamant he wants to stay, so adamant in fact they are working their tails off to arrange 3rd party deals to bring our offer in line with Parramatta's, combined with the desperation (imo of course, you'll of course disagree and suggest the desperation is on our side and it is, i think it's coming both ways, both clubs are desperate to have this kid apart of their future) being showed in forms of an early press conference (Surely Parra would want to trumpet their big signing by parading him in front of the cameras holding a jersey up as per standard procedure.) and what appears to be some interesting tactics to try and pressure Papalii into honoring the deal (i dont blame them for this btw, id want the raiders to do the same in similar circumstances)... it's becoming abundantly clear as the days drag on that Papalii is not yet a done deal.

You can deny it if you like. Say we're in denial at losing a talented footballer. Both fan bases can play the denial game against the other if they choose, but the facts are if it was as clear cut and dry as you are pretending, we wouldnt be having this dicussion.

The longer Papalii stays mum on this, the more it seems like the Raiders side of things, has serious merit.
Papalii should come out, no manager, no Stuart, Edwards, Furners or anyone and just speak from his heart as to what he wants for his future. If that's parra so be it, and good luck to him and there is nothing we can do except hope to send him out on a high. But if its Canberra he wants... this thing is not going to go quietly into the night for Parramatta fans, and sticking your heads in the ground and saying "he's signed a deal, he's definitely coming, dont worry about" would be foolish

"Heading to Parramatta next season is a new and exciting challenge, they are a club on the rise and I am looking forward to being a part of what Ricky Stuart and the team up there are doing," Papalii said.

"My first priority though is playing good footy for the Raiders this year and going out on a high."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/papalii-picks-parramatta-20130222-2ex7t.html

:lol:nah i can't see the similarities