Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta NRL club sack Daniel Anderson as coach at emergency board meeting

Do you support the Board's decision to sack Daniel Anderson?

• Yes

Votes: 30 19.7%
  • No

Votes: 101 66.4%
  • Impartial

Votes: 21 13.8%

Sangreal 86

Chalk one up to the blokes in black.
That's me GONE too.
Good luck to the supporters who are prepared to take this kind of sh*t being dished out by a Board supposed to be in it for the betterment.
For once, I agree with Ray Hadley...Bloody shonky Club being run by amateurs.

Pete hang in there, as when you find out the reasons why this decision was taken, I believe you will all have a change of heart.

Hadley will be shown as "bloody shonky" as he has blind loyalty, and I wonder how Singo will look at that loyalty and the fallacies broadcast across his network, when the REAL facts come out at the end of October.

You all want success, but you don't want any sweat on the brow, or blood to be spilt. A bloke called Nick bit the bullet in the Eastern Suburbs last year.....has anyone heard how that went??

I'm not happy with the way Ando was sacked, i'm not happy that our team is in the paper every day over every trivial matter. But what i am happy with is that the board saw this year as a massive failure and have done something about it.

In past years under the previous regime they woud have shrugged their shoulders and gone theres always next year. That happened for 20 odd years and it WAS NOT good enough. If people honestly thought this year was good enough they are easily pleased. As a club this was just about the worst season in memory, our under 20's got the spoon and not even Wenty could make an impression. Hopefully Kearney can turn this sinking ship around.

Coaching in the ESL is like coaching PL... remember we did win the hat trick or was it 4 comps in a row? what happened to all those players and coaches? ANSWER: Alot of them couldnt cut it in the big league..... much like DA

It means diddly squat....

You're an idiot. The quality of the ESL is well above reserve grade and isn't really that far behind the NRL in terms of quality these days. Other current and past coaches such as Brian Smith, Nathan Brown, Graham Murray, Matt Elliot, Royce Simmons among others have all tried coaching in the ESL but none have had anywhere near the success that DA had over there.

franklin2323

As a non Parra fan. I wasn't expecting you to go well. I spotted holes in the backrow Besides Mateo (inconsistent), Hindmarsh, There was Ben Smith a converted centre and Horo, Oake etc rookies.

Then the halves Robson nothing special and Mortimer a rookie. The problem was IMO you overachieved last year and as such couldn't live up to the hype and Anderson copped it as is always the case.

He changed it up mixed around Robson 6,7,9. Dropped Mortimer blooded Humble and Mitchell so he was trying things.

A new coach will do the same things I would assume.

Anyway I thougth 12 months extra experience for these players you should go much better this year but depends on who is coach now

Sangreal 86

Terrible decision, we're gonna struggle now because of a stupid decision.

Just when I thought our club can move forward with new board members and a new coach, we've gotten worse.

Why sack a coach who took us the GF and missed out this year cause our players need a kick up the @rse? We're gonna start from square 1 and rebuild the club once again and probably struggle.

This is very un professional from Parramatta and Im ashamed of his decision.

It is the most professional decision this club has made in years, it had to be done.

You can all death ride our future, but make sure you come up and have a beer when success is floating around the joint.

In past years under the previous regime they woud have shrugged their shoulders and gone theres always next year. That happened for 20 odd years and it WAS NOT good enough. If people honestly thought this year was good enough they are easily pleased. As a club this was just about the worst season in memory, our under 20's got the spoon and not even Wenty could make an impression. Hopefully Kearney can turn this sinking ship around.

I doubt anyone was pleased. But as a whole everyone has to realise every club has their good years and their bad years that's how it works. Look at other clubs like Penrith, Tigers, and Souths who've all gone 4 years + in a row in recent years missing the semis... or the Roosters, Warriors and Cowboys who've gone 3 years + in a row missing out. Now because we miss the finals ONCE the board's in panic mode saying it's just not good enough and we have to sack the coach. I don't get it. Do we do it all again next year?

parra pete

Pete hang in there, as when you find out the reasons why this decision was taken, I believe you will all have a change of heart.

Hadley will be shown as "bloody shonky" as he has blind loyalty, and I wonder how Singo will look at that loyalty and the fallacies broadcast across his network, when the REAL facts come out at the end of October.

You all want success, but you don't want any sweat on the brow, or blood to be spilt. A bloke called Nick bit the bullet in the Eastern Suburbs last year.....has anyone heard how that went??

It will take A BLOODY lot to get me back Terry..Sick and tired of the lack of discipline by the Board...Over it....50 years following the Club, and all through the bad days...but I have NEVER been as disappointed as I am now...

parra pete

The Board seems to be using the old divide and conquer trick.
They should know..the people united will never be defeated.

Chipmunk

I thought I would let the dust settle on this before making a comment. But not sure the dust will ever settle on this decision.

Firstly I would like to say that I am a massive fan of Daniel Anderson. He is a high quality coach and his success he had with the Warriors and in the UK Super League was no fluke. He knows what he is doing. If he continues to be a career coach I am sure he will find a job either here in the NRL or in the UK Super League and he will more than likely win some more premierships

Second thing I would like to say is that he is a great Parramatta man and didnt deserved to be shafted the way he was. The passion and ambitions he had to be a Parramatta Premiership winning coach could never be questioned. Unfortunately it was clear that he was never given a fair go at the job and the way the board has handled things is nothing sort of disgraceful. But I will leave the board and the people on it to another day.

Having said all that. The current team of players was not responding to the coaching of Daniel Anderson and I defy anyone on this forum to justify that they were. The 2010 Parramatta first grade team were a disgusting rabble that played every game as if they had just met out in the car park an hour before the game. Someone has to be accountable for the rubbish dished out on the field by this club in 2010…..In my opinion, Daniel Anderson relied too much on the individual attacking abilities of certain players and didnt attempt to bring what abilities he had in his 25 man squad together to come up with the right game plan for the team to be successful. I certainly wouldnt blame Daniel Anderson solely for the performances of the team in the last two years. The attitude of the entire squad has a great deal to be desired. But realistically in my opinion it is the job of Head Coach to get that attitude right. In the two seasons he was at Parramatta, Daniel Anderson didn’t appear to be able to improve this attitude significantly.

For 2011 I ask myself two simple questions. Would the team have the same style, game plan, attitude and direction if Daniel Anderson remained the coach? I would say YES. Is that style, game plan, attitude, direction going to create a more successful season? I would say NO.

Unfortunately, I am actually pretty sad to say this as well, but as a result the board has no real choice but to move on from Daniel Anderson as the Head Coach of the Club. You can use the ‘getting rid of Fitzy’s mates’ excuse as much as you want, but realistically Daniel Anderson just isn’t the right person for the Parramatta Club at the stage they are at.

In my opinion, this squad of 25 players needs to be coached a certain way and it’s obvious that Daniel Anderson wasn’t able to provide that style of coaching. They require a coach that can provide a structured game plan, a clear direction and actually has to make some of the decisions for the players on the field for them. Simply, Daniel Anderson wasn’t that coach. Whether we go with Kearney, Gould, Stuart, JT, Bennett, Ray Price, Brett Kenny or even Peter Sterling, then how adaptable that coach is being able to mould the squad and harness all the abilities (and lack of) of all the squad will decide how well Parra will go in 2011.

At the end of the day, as disgraceful as it has been done, the board could not really make any other decision than the outcome they have come to. Daniel Anderson wasn’t the right person to be coaching Parramatta at this time. An even bigger decision that they now need to make is who will replace him and what sort of coach are they going to be……

It is the most professional decision this club has made in years, it had to be done.

You can all death ride our future, but make sure you come up and have a beer when success is floating around the joint.

Professional? :lol::lol::lol::lol: There is nothing, absolutely nothing, professional about they way 3P have acted since coming into power. This board leaks like a f**king wooden submarine, they're more than happy to play out the internal workings of the club through the media and more concerned with personal agendas than the club itself. This "professional" decision was handled in the most unprofessional manner I have ever seen in the game. It was disgusting and shameful and for you to pop in here and spout this crap while the rest of the league is laughing their arses off at us is just embarrassing...I can tell you that I am one fan who won't be giving you lot a cent this year. I mentioned elsewhere I was mulling over membership options, but I have now thrown out the brochure and will not be looking until 3P are gone. Luckily for me, I reckon that'll be April...then I can give my monetary support to a new board and make sure that if anyone like you lot get in again, I can have a hand in throwing them to the curb.

stiffmeister

Terry,

I just want to say that as a businessman myself, I applaud the decision made by the board. DA simply wasn't performing and he had to go. Sport these days is a business & the sacking of a non performing coach happens in most sports all over the world.

This board is not scared to make the tough decisions and I admire that. To make changes, decisions have to be made. These decisions won't please everyone but that's life

I have a very good feeling what Parra will achieve on and off the field from 2011. I am excited on what this club will achieve from now on.

I suppose people are entitled to their opinions, but myself, all my family, most of my friends & business partners agree with the boards decision.

True EEL

I thought I would let the dust settle on this before making a comment. But not sure the dust will ever settle on this decision.

Firstly I would like to say that I am a massive fan of Daniel Anderson. He is a high quality coach and his success he had with the Warriors and in the UK Super League was no fluke. He knows what he is doing. If he continues to be a career coach I am sure he will find a job either here in the NRL or in the UK Super League and he will more than likely win some more premierships

Second thing I would like to say is that he is a great Parramatta man and didnt deserved to be shafted the way he was. The passion and ambitions he had to be a Parramatta Premiership winning coach could never be questioned. Unfortunately it was clear that he was never given a fair go at the job and the way the board has handled things is nothing sort of disgraceful. But I will leave the board and the people on it to another day.

Having said all that. The current team of players was not responding to the coaching of Daniel Anderson and I defy anyone on this forum to justify that they were. The 2010 Parramatta first grade team were a disgusting rabble that played every game as if they had just met out in the car park an hour before the game. Someone has to be accountable for the rubbish dished out on the field by this club in 2010…..In my opinion, Daniel Anderson relied too much on the individual attacking abilities of certain players and didnt attempt to bring what abilities he had in his 25 man squad together to come up with the right game plan for the team to be successful. I certainly wouldnt blame Daniel Anderson solely for the performances of the team in the last two years. The attitude of the entire squad has a great deal to be desired. But realistically in my opinion it is the job of Head Coach to get that attitude right. In the two seasons he was at Parramatta, Daniel Anderson didn’t appear to be able to improve this attitude significantly.

For 2011 I ask myself two simple questions. Would the team have the same style, game plan, attitude and direction if Daniel Anderson remained the coach? I would say YES. Is that style, game plan, attitude, direction going to create a more successful season? I would say NO.

Unfortunately, I am actually pretty sad to say this as well, but as a result the board has no real choice but to move on from Daniel Anderson as the Head Coach of the Club. You can use the ‘getting rid of Fitzy’s mates’ excuse as much as you want, but realistically Daniel Anderson just isn’t the right person for the Parramatta Club at the stage they are at.

In my opinion, this squad of 25 players needs to be coached a certain way and it’s obvious that Daniel Anderson wasn’t able to provide that style of coaching. They require a coach that can provide a structured game plan, a clear direction and actually has to make some of the decisions for the players on the field for them. Simply, Daniel Anderson wasn’t that coach. Whether we go with Kearney, Gould, Stuart, JT, Bennett, Ray Price, Brett Kenny or even Peter Sterling, then how adaptable that coach is being able to mould the squad and harness all the abilities (and lack of) of all the squad will decide how well Parra will go in 2011.

At the end of the day, as disgraceful as it has been done, the board could not really make any other decision than the outcome they have come to. Daniel Anderson wasn’t the right person to be coaching Parramatta at this time. An even bigger decision that they now need to make is who will replace him and what sort of coach are they going to be……

finally some sanity prevails....thanks Chipmunk, well put.....all of it, and i mean it

also, to some others, it was a professional decision by the club.....a harsh one no doubt, but it was a business decision

also, to some others on this board.....i'm hurting, i'm embarrassed, i'm upset, i'm disillusioned - i'm all of that and more - but its not like its the first time i have felt that way with Parra and it wont be the last........i have supported this club for something like 28 years......i'm not about to drop them now because they dared to sack a coach. i am going to feel sorry for DA and the way he was handled, sure, but then i am going to pick myself up, move on and look forward to the EELS one day winning a premiership that i can fully remember, understand, appreciate and savor

i support the Parramatta and District Rugby League Football Club.......i support the EELS.....

is it true that the board hired an ex crim to look for dirt on Hadley?

i think that is what he said on the weekend

some guy who had spent time in jail was allegedly hired by someone to look into him

Sangreal 86

The Club lost so many good men at the clean out. The supporters are starting to pay now for that clean out.
Oh for the days when decent people like Jack Boyle, Billy Rayner, Stan Simpson sat on the board.
Everybody knew them to be men of integrity, people who would honor commitments. People supporters could be, and were proud to have representing their views.
They were REAL people who didn't have to tell anyone that they had Pride, Passion and Performance as their 'catch cry'. They demonstrated it EVERY day, by the way they conducted themselves in day to day lives.

All great people you have mentioned here Pete, but you are comparing chook raffle days with a multi million dollar entity. Honouring commitments is a two way street Pete, and I think you will calm down when everything is made clear to all supporters.

You brush this board away with the wave of a hand as not being real people compared to the gentlemen above, well Pete you have no idea of the sacrifices made by this board, and more importantly Roy Spagnolo. Change after 30 years, have a think about it.

Pete our club would not be where it is today without the participation and sacrifice the gentlemen you have mentioned above, but none of us would have had a club with such a future if it kept going down the path and direction it was. Denis has a huge part in the history of this club, but that part of our history is exactly that....past history.

I am filthy that good people in this group getting ridiculed by people who don't know them, or know the circumstances their decisions arrive from. I look forward to you all finding out the truth at the end of October, as ridiculous legal ethics has kept a multitude of factors from our members.

It is amazing Pete, that people who refuse to let go of something that is firmly in their past, being persistent in causing as much havoc and wasting of club funds to denigrate the people and their objectives for the clubs future.

A CLUB THAT THESE PEOPLE APPARENTLY LOVE.........surely Pete with all your years of experience, you can read through that.

is it true that the board hired an ex crim to look for dirt on Hadley?

i think that is what he said on the weekend

some guy who had spent time in jail was allegedly hired by someone to look into him

El D I raised that with Terry a few weeks ago. You can find his response there.

badav

As an outsider i find it hard to understand why so many Eels fans are opposed to the move.

Obviously the way it was done was less than ideal. But for the a fair part of the last 2 seasons the Parramatta football side has looked lost, devoid of any game plan (particularly in attack) and overly reliant on the individual talents of 1 player.

Some responsibility for that should fall back on the coach.

Daniel Anderson was appointed by a previous managing director. The board should have an opportunity to steer the club in the direction it has planned, and like in any business you can't always do that with senior staff who have been employed by others no longer involved.

Im sure Parramatta will improve next year.

boxhead

Terry,

I just want to say that as a businessman myself, I applaud the decision made by the board. DA simply wasn't performing and he had to go. Sport these days is a business & the sacking of a non performing coach happens in most sports all over the world.

This board is not scared to make the tough decisions and I admire that. To make changes, decisions have to be made. These decisions won't please everyone but that's life

I have a very good feeling what Parra will achieve on and off the field from 2011. I am excited on what this club will achieve from now on.

I suppose people are entitled to their opinions, but myself, all my family, most of my friends & business partners agree with the boards decision.

finally some sanity prevails....thanks Chipmunk, well put.....all of it, and i mean it

also, to some others, it was a professional decision by the club.....a harsh one no doubt, but it was a business decision

also, to some others on this board.....i'm hurting, i'm embarrassed, i'm upset, i'm disillusioned - i'm all of that and more - but its not like its the first time i have felt that way with Parra and it wont be the last........i have supported this club for something like 28 years......i'm not about to drop them now because they dared to sack a coach. i am going to feel sorry for DA and the way he was handled, sure, but then i am going to pick myself up, move on and look forward to the EELS one day winning a premiership that i can fully remember, understand, appreciate and savor

i support the Parramatta and District Rugby League Football Club.......i support the EELS.....

All great people you have mentioned here Pete, but you are comparing chook raffle days with a multi million dollar entity. Honouring commitments is a two way street Pete, and I think you will calm down when everything is made clear to all supporters.

You brush this board away with the wave of a hand as not being real people compared to the gentlemen above, well Pete you have no idea of the sacrifices made by this board, and more importantly Roy Spagnolo. Change after 30 years, have a think about it.

Pete our club would not be where it is today without the participation and sacrifice the gentlemen you have mentioned above, but none of us would have had a club with such a future if it kept going down the path and direction it was. Denis has a huge part in the history of this club, but that part of our history is exactly that....past history.

I am filthy that good people in this group getting ridiculed by people who don't know them, or know the circumstances their decisions arrive from. I look forward to you all finding out the truth at the end of October, as ridiculous legal ethics has kept a multitude of factors from our members.

It is amazing Pete, that people who refuse to let go of something that is firmly in their past, being persistent in causing as much havoc and wasting of club funds to denigrate the people and their objectives for the clubs future.

A CLUB THAT THESE PEOPLE APPARENTLY LOVE.........surely Pete with all your years of experience, you can read through that.

Yes to all of this.
I cannot personally wait for the truth to be revealed.