Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Stadium Rebuild and other stuff

The Jackson’s I remember wasn’t anywhere near that fancy.

Sometimes it was just fun going to an absolute shithole, the place you can get in when every other place won’t let you through the doors.

I’m sure this place is really nice. Just won’t have that same atmosphere.

Ive had so many great nights in there, bucks nights, birthdays, and the random Friday nights in there. Even a nice chilled Sunday afternoon watching the NRL.

When I couldnt get into the places like Three Wise Monkeys and Cheers, for some reason this place would let you in on a Friday night. Cheap drinks, dancing. I reckon all those nights I was there till close.

I saw a recent news report on the new place and a bloke was saying it was $15 a schooner and a $18 sausage roll. I mean what ?? o_O:mad:

Wow, that's seriously staggering. A sausage roll must cost what max $3 in ingredients and labour to make?

But I guess that's the price of progress... and the endless cycle of continual infrastructure/development, desired by some?

Wow, that's seriously staggering. A sausage roll must cost what max $3 in ingredients and labour to make?

But I guess that's the price of progress... and the endless cycle of continual infrastructure/development, desired by some?

Well it couldve been one of those fancy ones instead of the ones you get behind the bar or at a 7 Eleven. Although the size of it didnt look much bigger than a usual sausage roll.

Still it doesnt surprise me when a new pub opens up and charge you ridiculous prices the average person is expected to pay.

I went to a "new" pub the other day I paid $20 dollars for chicken wings that looked like one those frozen ones you buy at coles and Woolies. :mad:

T.S Quint

Ive had so many great nights in there, bucks nights, birthdays, and the random Friday nights in there. Even a nice chilled Sunday afternoon watching the NRL.

When I couldnt get into the places like Three Wise Monkeys and Cheers, for some reason this place would let you in on a Friday night. Cheap drinks, dancing. I reckon all those nights I was there till close.

f**king hell, that's worse than a $7 pie.
Right @hindy111?

Also, a schooner of what? Better be some decent craft beer because if you're charging that much for a VB then you won't get much business.

King-Gutho94

I heard from someone at work the shithole now that is Winston Hills Hotel is charging $7.90 for a schooner with no happy hour at all during the week.

Talk about a dump these days i drove out of the Winston Hills shops the other day and exited through the pub carpark it looks like some renovations in the old beer garden area.

Gazzamatta

I heard from someone at work the shithole now that is Winston Hills Hotel is charging $7.90 for a schooner with no happy hour at all during the week.

Talk about a dump these days i drove out of the Winston Hills shops the other day and exited through the pub carpark it looks like some renovations in the old beer garden area.
Is that place also 7 minutes from training?

f**king hell, that's worse than a $7 pie.
Right @hindy111?

Also, a schooner of what? Better be some decent craft beer because if you're charging that much for a VB then you won't get much business.

Hard to find a pie for under $7 now. Only the Vietnamese bakeries and you run the risk of the arse end falling out and being burnt my hot meat sauce.
Its a tough life

TheRam

Hard to find a pie for under $7 now. Only the Vietnamese bakeries and you run the risk of the arse end falling out and being burnt my hot meat sauce.
Its a tough life

Well Hindy I used to get a meat pie from this place below at least once or twice a week around 2 or so years ago and they were only around $3.20 for a meat pie, or a meat and onion or a meat and mushroom, which are my favourites. I had been buying them for over 20 years there, but that was the price they were when I finally stopped going there due to retirement.

Many people look at the place and think what a pokie little dive, but trust me they are excellent pies, especially for the price. Put it this way I can't tell you how many people I put on to this place and became regulars. It's one or at least it used to be one of these places that gives great value and taste for an excellent price. I would always get sauce with it of course for the extra 30c I think it was. Some tight arse at work would not get the sauce though and buy their own bulk bottle. I would shake my head.

I'm not saying they are the best pies in the world mind you, but they are a damned good pie.

Anyway I don't know what the prices are now, but if they are still under the same management, who were an old husband and wife, I can't imagine it being that much different. Word of warning though, get there before 14:00 hrs(before midday is best) or risk being disappointed they would almost always run out. I can't tell you how many times I got there disappointed or just go the last one literally.

Maybe call them and ask how much their pies are now and if it is the same management as before Covid? That way the next time you're in the vicinity you can just duck in mate and get a decent pie for a hopefully decent price.

Anyway I thought you might appreciate it. Good luck baddy.

The address is 9 Regent St, Kogarah
Phone: (02) 9588 6214

1694676182340.png
1694676399923.png

Well Hindy I used to get a meat pie from this place below at least once or twice a week around 2 or so years ago and they were only around $3.20 for a meat pie, or a meat and onion or a meat and mushroom, which are my favourites. I had been buying them for over 20 years there, but that was the price they were when I finally stopped going there due to retirement.

Many people look at the place and think what a pokie little dive, but trust me they are excellent pies, especially for the price. Put it this way I can't tell you how many people I put on to this place and became regulars. It's one or at least it used to be one of these places that gives great value and taste for an excellent price. I would always get sauce with it of course for the extra 30c I think it was. Some tight arse at work would not get the sauce though and buy their own bulk bottle. I would shake my head.

I'm not saying they are the best pies in the world mind you, but they are a damned good pie.

Anyway I don't know what the prices are now, but if they are still under the same management, who were an old husband and wife, I can't imagine it being that much different. Word of warning though, get there before 14:00 hrs(before midday is best) or risk being disappointed they would almost always run out. I can't tell you how many times I got there disappointed or just go the last one literally.

Maybe call them and ask how much their pies are now and if it is the same management as before Covid? That way the next time you're in the vicinity you can just duck in mate and get a decent pie for a hopefully decent price.

Anyway I thought you might appreciate it. Good luck baddy.

The address is 9 Regent St, Kogarah
Phone: (02) 9588 6214

View attachment 79417
View attachment 79418

Unfortunately Ram they are now closed down. Another small business Covid lockdowns killed. Well there is always Michelle's passtiserie. 🥵

Your retirement or their retirement? Because if they retired, the pies might not be the same now...