Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parra's next coach?

Who should be Parramatta's next coach?

whall15

The media whinging about Kearney being under pressure is laughable, by European standards he has got a stress-free job.

He doesn't have newspapers, radio stations and tv stations editorialising against him on a daily basis.

He doesn't have fans staying after the game purely expressing their hatred of him.

He doesn't have fans running on to the field burning their season tickets infront of his face.

He doesn't have idiots on the internet thinking that he is a front for the Scottish mafia (seriously looking at Steve Kean rumours about his role at Blackburn, they're quite funny.)

He is under no pressure.

The third Origin game is in just over two weeks. I am confident that by the following Monday we will have a new coach and that it will be Ricky Stuart. IMO the decision was made a few weeks ago and they are just waiting for his commitments to NSW to finish.

I am also reasonably confident that midway through next season we will have at least one thread condemning the board for the decision and asking for a new coach. I hope that the board see this contract out instead of once again bowing to the mass hysteria that is created when we struggle to win games with a new look side.

Yep. And Ricky Stuart has not only lost as many grand finals as Daniel Anderson, he's been kicked out of as many clubs as well.

Plus he has a poor record building clubs. Let's hope it was due to lack of resources at Cronulla, though given he ran the Chooks into the ground, and they're loaded, that's probably not the case.

Oh well, us fans get the club we deserve, including board and coach.

Go Parra.

cv8z

The third Origin game is in just over two weeks. I am confident that by the following Monday we will have a new coach and that it will be Ricky Stuart. IMO the decision was made a few weeks ago and they are just waiting for his commitments to NSW to finish.

I am also reasonably confident that midway through next season we will have at least one thread condemning the board for the decision and asking for a new coach. I hope that the board see this contract out instead of once again bowing to the mass hysteria that is created when we struggle to win games with a new look side.

I don't reckon all board members are on the same page regarding SK
Or Ricky Stuart
Interesting times ahead

There will always be threads on footy forums commenting on one thing or another. The coach is a hot topic and will continue to be. That's no surprise really. This place would be pretty bland if that did not occur on a regular basis.

Ultimately the Chairman and his Board have the job to get long term results and I doubt that they are influenced by comments on a forum by Jake the Snake, PouPou Escobar and some nuffy called Gronk. :sarcasm:

What I do fear is that the Board may make decisions based on getting re-elected in the not too distant future, rather than a tough decision for the long term benefit.

I felt that a mentor Muzza would have helped SK build for the future and get some short term results in the meantime. Apparently SK said no thanks. I would have like Spags being more of a leader there make the call and tell SK to harden up.

Cloudsurfer

It is the constant transition that is killing the club as it stands. That has more of a bearing over which players are attracted to the club rather than who the coach is. Few big names will take the option when a club holds on to a coach for less than 18 months and gamble on the new coach having them in their plans. The next coach, whoever that may be, has to be allowed to finish what he starts because until such time the club will continue to float around the bottom of the ladder.

Good to see some real insight of the issues from you (and a couple of other posters on here, MJC for instance) who look at the situation realistically. Let's hope for the Eels sake that the reactionary press & fans don't influence the decision-making and sanity prevails. However not holding my breath that this club will allow Kearney to continue which is a monumental shame for the reasons stated above...maybe he is just a transitional coach but the transition is far from completed.

Tony Bongo

It is the constant transition that is killing the club as it stands. That has more of a bearing over which players are attracted to the club rather than who the coach is. Few big names will take the option when a club holds on to a coach for less than 18 months and gamble on the new coach having them in their plans. The next coach, whoever that may be, has to be allowed to finish what he starts because until such time the club will continue to float around the bottom of the ladder.

x2

Tony Bongo

I don't reckon all board members are on the same page regarding SK
Or Ricky Stuart
Interesting times ahead

x2 but I think the numbers are against Stuart as well as the massive offers other clubs have made for an average over rated coach. It's a hell of a lot of money our club can NOT afford.

Tooooks

I'm not sold on Ricky Stuart coming to the club, although my personal dislike of the man is probably a big reason for that.

Looking at his record though, I think some of the comments about him in this and other threads are a little unfair. I wanted to have a somewhat objective look at the man's coaching career, so here goes...

2002 - Grand Final (Premiership)
Yes, he inherited a very good side, but you've still got to get them there.

2003 - Grand Final (Runners up)

2004 - Grand Final (Runners up)

2005 - 9th (two points out of the 8)

Yes, they still had a handy side, but they'd also lost Brad Fittler, Justin Hodges, and a few other first grade players.

2006 - 14th (sacked before the end of season)
Who knows what happened here? Concerning.

2007 - 11th (2 points out of the 8)
His first year with the Sharks, who finished the previous year 13th and 6 points out of the 8.

2008 - 3rd place

2009 - 15th
A horror year, but (the following from wikipedia) Not only was the club in dire financial straits [5] but the Cronulla Sharks club was also tarnished by media allegations about a 2002 group-sex incident involving former Sharks players, player Reni Maitua's dismissal after testing positive to drugs,[6] removal of the captaincy from key player Paul Gallen, accused of racist remarks despite evidence of his non-racist stance,[7] several unsavoury incidents involving now-disgraced CEO Tony Zappia (including his assault of a female staff member and involvement in an insurance-fraud fan donation scandal).[8]

cv8z

x2 but I think the numbers are against Stewart as well as the massive offers other clubs have made for an average over rated coach. It's a hell of a lot of money our club can NOT afford.

Ricky should and probably will end up at the raiders next year if not 2014
I say the board will persevere wil SK next year

Ricky should and probably will end up at the raiders next year if not 2014
I say the board will persevere wil SK next year

If the Board are rock solid with Kearney, then Spags needs to hold a pressie today, with SK, Nolan and that cranky assistant dude and pledge his long term support for his coaching team.

He needs to nip this in the bud because the constant speculation is just as damaging as the poor results on the field.

cv8z

If the Board are rock solid with Kearney, then Spags needs to hold a pressie today, with SK, Nolan and that cranky assistant dude and pledge his long term support for his coaching team.

He needs to nip this in the bud because the constant speculation is just as damaging as the poor results on the field.

Agree 100%

Joshuatheeel

Yep and gee the constant reports on kearneys future must be doing wonders for our 2013 recruitment

Gronk, I understand what you are saying HOWEVER Kearney has wraps on him from both within and outside the club and I can't believe the so called experts that wrap him can all be wrong.
I can MJC. All reports are he's a very nice bloke. Nice blokes make a good impression and get a good rub of the green when people are asked their opinions of them. Nothing to do with his head coaching ability, probably more a desire of people wanting to see the nice bloke be successful.

Sure, there are likely a combination of factors at play in our current state. But imo all of those possible factors are within a coach's responsibility and ability to influence and improve for the sake of the team/club. Judging by the nature of our performances (and the results) Kearney isn't the guy to influence or improve any of these things, and imo we need to move on from his tenure.

If that makes some experts wrong about SK, so be it - it won't be the first time in history that "experts" or directors of a board have been wrong, nor will it be the last.

I have a bad feeling the board will make a knee jerk decision like they did punting Ando, rushing out and signing Stuart will only be a quick fix and the last 18 months will be all for nothing.
I think the reason the club is in this situation is that the last 18 months have already proven to be for nothing.

Kearney has not been up to the job, it's a shame but imo you can't persist with that for a further 18 months for the sake of the concept of "stability".

If we punt him, then we must appoint a better - more experienced, more credentialled, more respected - head coach. Getting the right person in the job isn't a "quick fix", it's just that Kearney wasn't the right person and as an unproven rookie just couldn't follow through on his powerpoint presentation that impressed Osborne etc.

Hopefully the club won't make the same mistake again, and we'll soon get a capable coach who can make the place ship-shape again. And I wish Kearney well in his future endeavours.

spartan2153

I'm not sold on Ricky Stuart coming to the club, although my personal dislike of the man is probably a big reason for that.

Looking at his record though, I think some of the comments about him in this and other threads are a little unfair. I wanted to have a somewhat objective look at the man's coaching career, so here goes...

2002 - Grand Final (Premiership)
Yes, he inherited a very good side, but you've still got to get them there.

2003 - Grand Final (Runners up)

2004 - Grand Final (Runners up)

2005 - 9th (two points out of the 8)

Yes, they still had a handy side, but they'd also lost Brad Fittler, Justin Hodges, and a few other first grade players.

2006 - 14th (sacked before the end of season)
Who knows what happened here? Concerning.

2007 - 11th (2 points out of the 8)
His first year with the Sharks, who finished the previous year 13th and 6 points out of the 8.

2008 - 3rd place

2009 - 15th
A horror year, but (the following from wikipedia) Not only was the club in dire financial straits [5] but the Cronulla Sharks club was also tarnished by media allegations about a 2002 group-sex incident involving former Sharks players, player Reni Maitua's dismissal after testing positive to drugs,[6] removal of the captaincy from key player Paul Gallen, accused of racist remarks despite evidence of his non-racist stance,[7] several unsavoury incidents involving now-disgraced CEO Tony Zappia (including his assault of a female staff member and involvement in an insurance-fraud fan donation scandal).[8]

What isnt in those stats his retention policy. YOu have also missed out on
2010 the year he was let go. They had won like 5 games up until round 20. He is overated & is suited to state of origin as those games are more about passion then tactical man management

For what it's worth :(

http://www.parraeels.com.au/news-display/BUZZ-BRiEFS--Manly-fuming-over-Lussick-loss/57460

Ricky Stuart is not happy about speculation linking him to the Eels coaching job.
“I haven’t even thought about coaching anywhere next year,” he said.
“All I’m focused on is July 4 and the State of Origin decider.
“If there is any interest after that, I’d be happy to talk but there has been no contact with any club.”

Disclaimer: Statements and opinions expressed in BUZZ BRIEFS are those solely of the author.

If it is true Stuart's heading our way, then we can't expect an announcement until after that 3rd SOO game.

So that's after our games v Penrith and Newcastle.

Or, the Board may dump Kearney beforehand, say that Arthurs *shudder* is acting in a caretaker role for a week, and then announce Ricky when it's "safe" to do so?