Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paul Kent: NRL salary cap isn't working

Johnnie Red

Fans like to blame the salary cap because it is easier to attack, when in reality it is the clubs poor management and inability to run a successful sports franchise that is the real issue.

The Russell Crowe and Souths relationship is the perfect example of a once very poorly run club which turned into a NRL powerhouse. Once the club gained clear direction, hired good management and improved the culture of the club they then tasted success. (albeit a few years longer than expected)

If a club can get the foundations right than they will attract good coaches, star players and good sponsors. The clubs that have this in place are not complaining about the salary cap.

Craig Johnston

How is that any different to the current situation other than its got a name to it?

Ok Manly Fans no need to get all uppity its just a "Bosman"?

"Oh well if thats the case then its fine"

the current system isn't enforced by law, it's enforced by the competition, and the nrl allows negotiation and contact outside of 12 months, in football this is called tapping up and can result in fa or legal action

Penrose Warrior

How is the cap not working? The most successful team of this era has been forced to lose their best 2 players. And who was able to bid the most? Two teams that haven't made the finals in 4 years (GC) and 5 years (Parra). The teams with the current longest streaks without finals footy.

So they've gone from the most consistent team to the worst 2 teams of recent history.

That's a working salary cap.

Difference being, Manly's f**k ups cost them DCE and Foran, not the salary cap. DCE said he was close to signing, then the offer got downgraded. Foran says he was so close either way.

So keeping that in mind, why should they be given a leg-up to sign Burgess or anyone else?

Canard

Sorry but I don't have access to the press releases nor newspapers from 1989-1990 to post. I don't know how old you are, but I've been around long enough to remember when it was introduced and why. It is why the salary cap came in, financial prudence and nothing else. Yes it does have a consequence of helping spread the talent around, but that is not why it was brought in. If you don't want to believe it, that is your problem not mine.

Thanks for playing newcomer :crazy:

Do you not agree that is what is about now (as in 2015) however?

I just think your mis-remembering. Financial prudence may have been part of it but talent equalisation was also, and for the last 20 or so years that all its been about.

Canard

the current system isn't enforced by law, it's enforced by the competition, and the nrl allows negotiation and contact outside of 12 months, in football this is called tapping up and can result in fa or legal action

In other words you would like to see the window reduced down to 6 months.

Thats nothing to do with the Bosman transfer ruling really.

Craig Johnston

In other words you would like to see the window reduced down to 6 months.

Thats nothing to do with the Bosman transfer ruling really.

nope

the point on the bosman is that it's a part of footballing transfer culture where fans don't ark up about it because they accept it as legally binding.

even if the nrl reduced the anti-poaching rules back to 6 months as it was in a previously failed system you'd still ark up about it as fans did back then.

Canard

nope

the point on the bosman is that it's a part of footballing transfer culture where fans don't ark up about it because they accept it as legally binding.

even if the nrl reduced the anti-poaching rules back to 6 months as it was in a previously failed system you'd still ark up about it as fans did back then.

So you think people wouldn't ark up about losing there favourite player because "its the law"

That's a different world view you have there mate.

Craig Johnston

So you think people wouldn't ark up about losing there favourite player because "its the law"

That's a different world view you have there mate.

there's a combination of factors if you bothered to read without trying to hold onto your right to grudge.

you tell me then why european football fans deal with bosman in a better way?

oikee

The cap was about stopping clubs going broke. Unfortunately it has divided the competition into the haves and have nots. Player trade window plus draft or else the game is just a joke.

You got to love the moronic Trolls on this site. Always ready to stick the boot in. What a real sense of community.

You are making all the right noises.
Community, family, moronic idiots, yes, all these are part of rugby league.

The real problem is trying to grab those idiots by the scruff of the neck and drag them into the 21st century.
Gus and his old dinosaur mates are the last of the has-beens, the holding of the code back.
I love Gus, but geex whiz, for the sake of the code, we need to bury the big guy.

Canard

there's a combination of factors if you bothered to read without trying to hold onto your right to grudge.

you tell me then why european football fans deal with bosman in a better way?

What grudge?? About a Manly player leaving?

Im talking about fans in general.

Your having a lend of yourself if you think that player transfers will be more widely accepted by NRL fans if its the "law"

Its not that widely accepted in Europe anyway.

oikee

Fans like to blame the salary cap because it is easier to attack, when in reality it is the clubs poor management and inability to run a successful sports franchise that is the real issue.

The Russell Crowe and Souths relationship is the perfect example of a once very poorly run club which turned into a NRL powerhouse. Once the club gained clear direction, hired good management and improved the culture of the club they then tasted success. (albeit a few years longer than expected)

If a club can get the foundations right than they will attract good coaches, star players and good sponsors. The clubs that have this in place are not complaining about the salary cap.

Sounds romantic, Rusty Crowe being able to attract great players to the club.
If i recall, Inglis was nearly at the Broncos until rusty smiled at him.

Look, the cap is working, and has worked.

The major problem is that outside the cap, the game is suffering.

The juniors and where they are located is now the new problem.

I marquee player is a must, and a junior draft also has to be introduced.
Yes it will be complex, yes it will be hard to set up, nothing ever is easy.

Some juniors wont want to move, some will get homesick.
So the draft will involve many issues.
The point is we are a modern world, not third world.
The draft is now a common sense way to spread the talent.
Our code will still have to make concessions for indigenous and islanders, no worries.

Get all the juniors on the one payment system, any kids who dont want to travel or wish to stay home can be bought, ,,,,,,,,and paid for to the NRL.

This helps stop the crazy junior spending we have now, where all the top juniors are just ending up at the choooks.

We are not blind.

Edwahu

What are all the third party deals these dogs players or Roosters are allegedly earning?

If any club can not manage the measly 600k from sponsors for player contracts then that's tough shit.

Individual player's third party sponsorship outside of that amount I will not believe is really much of a factor until someone can actually point to some evidence of such.

I won't be holding my breath waiting for Kent to produce something of the sort.

The Daily Telegraph claims the NRL released a "not to be published" summary of the annual report that has clubs with between 2 million and 200k in registered deals. Link

No big deal though, I'm sure the Raiders can find a couple of million from all the massive corporates based in Canberra. It's just bad management if they can't.

Sorry but I don't have access to the press releases nor newspapers from 1989-1990 to post. I don't know how old you are, but I've been around long enough to remember when it was introduced and why. It is why the salary cap came in, financial prudence and nothing else. Yes it does have a consequence of helping spread the talent around, but that is not why it was brought in. If you don't want to believe it, that is your problem not mine.

Thanks for playing newcomer :crazy:

Not entirely correct.

The salary cap, in conjunction with the player draft, we're both brought in to combat spiralling player payments and ensure financial prudence AND spread the talent.

Pete Cash

The Daily Telegraph claims the NRL released a "not to be published" summary of the annual report that has clubs with between 2 million and 200k in registered deals. Link

No big deal though, I'm sure the Raiders can find a couple of million from all the massive corporates based in Canberra. It's just bad management if they can't.

Yes clubs like Canberra and Newcastle are basically f**ked by the current system. Not through bad management but through geographical happenstance. The raiders would be more competitive if there was no salary cap tbh.

I Bleed Maroon

I'm really hoping you're trolling because if not, f**k you're a dumb merkin.

A club like the Raiders isn't without money. Their issue is the lack of third party wanting to get involved in that area so they end up losing people like Milford to the Broncos with a never ending supply of money outside of the cap.

The Raiders aren't going to die. The club is wealthy enough to sustain itself...but it's never going to be able to really compete in the current environment either.

Also good luck if you think clubs like St George, Newcastle and the Tigers dying will be good for the game. Those supporter bases are very large and can't afford to be lost.

I was more thinking along the lines of the likes of Cronulla, the Titans and Manly but whatever mate.

chrisD

So they registered deals for clubs over their own 600k cap? Makes sense.

Not entirely correct.

The salary cap, in conjunction with the player draft, we're both brought in to combat spiralling player payments and ensure financial prudence AND spread the talent.

Really? Then why was the Salary Cap brought in for the 1990 season and the draft not until 1991?

I know why the salary cap was introduced as I read the actual press release from the NSWRL when it came out, and it mentioned financial prudence as THE reason.

betcats

Yes clubs like Canberra and Newcastle are basically f**ked by the current system. Not through bad management but through geographical happenstance. The raiders would be more competitive if there was no salary cap tbh.

Newcastle recently went on a huge player buying binge, they signed like 3 current internationals over two years a long with a shitload of other players coming in those two years so how disadvanteged can they be?