Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penrith Panthers V the lot that stole our song, & claimed it as their own (bulldogs)

martielang

I don’t buy into the notion that cause Maloney is currently our most creative half, with him gone we’ll be worse. Cleary & Maloney have just never really got rolling as a pairing. They very rarely gel effectively. I think Luai & Cleary will compliment each other a little more but I guess we’ll see.

Couple of points:

- Time to bring back the scapegoat & forum favourite Katoa.

- If anyone can tell me why RCG is getting more time than Leota I’d like to know. Leota looks far more impressive, lands on his front, quicker play the balls, better defensively... he wasnt fatigued last night when he got pulled either, he was blowing up about being taken off.

- Badly need a strike centre.

OldPanther

I don’t buy into the notion that cause Maloney is currently our most creative half, with him gone we’ll be worse. Cleary & Maloney have just never really got rolling as a pairing. They very rarely gel effectively. I think Luai & Cleary will compliment each other a little more but I guess we’ll see.

Couple of points:

- Time to bring back the scapegoat & forum favourite Katoa.

- If anyone can tell me why RCG is getting more time than Leota I’d like to know. Leota looks far more impressive, lands on his front, quicker play the balls, better defensively... he wasnt fatigued last night when he got pulled either, he was blowing up about being taken off.

- Badly need a strike centre.

I agree about the forwards. It's unfortunate but RCG is being outplayed now. We also should be bringing Lenui up to develop him.

Dave's mate

Ivan needs to have the balls to drop Jimmy or move Nathan to 9 for the rest of the year. We need to know if Luai is our 6 going forward

Vicpanther

Things started to move whe luai was on the field so i have no doubt he will make all the difference.
I think the problem we have is we have 2 controlling halves where you need 1 controlling and one that plays off the cusp.

Also I garentee the match review commitee wont do a thing about hopa smashing edwards head into the ground.Wich will show there agenda. They gave issac 3 weeks for a solid tackle due to head contact with the ground so hopa should get atleast 1,

forby

We lose 6 in a row - we are no good
We win 7 in a row - we are no good
We make finals 4/5 years - we are no good

I reckon if we went through a season and lost one or two games most of the people on here we would say we are no good!

Why can't anyone be positive and proud?

franklin2323

We lose 6 in a row - we are no good
We win 7 in a row - we are no good
We make finals 4/5 years - we are no good

I reckon if we went through a season and lost one or two games most of the people on here we would say we are no good!

Why can't anyone be positive and proud?

How many games in the last few years have we played well?

The Teach

Ivan needs to have the balls to drop Jimmy or move Nathan to 9 for the rest of the year. We need to know if Luai is our 6 going forward

With Jimmy leaving, maybe it's time to bite the bullet and develop the Nathan/Jerome combination for the rest of the year.

Also, thank heavens for Fish, without him our team would have no heart. If RCG isn't out the door, he sure is playing like it. He's started doing that backing into the defence crap he was doing before being dropped. Time to see if Leniu has what it takes and put him in for RCG for the rest of the season.

Munted

I agree yet I'm confused by the constant "merkin" term. I mean, I know what a "merkin" is, although it's just a strange thing to call an average Footy player.
I love saying the c word, particularly when I am angry and a panthers loss under these circumstances takes my anger levels to unprecedented heights. The whole team save for JFH and Martin are a pack of merkins.

TheFrog

With Jimmy leaving, maybe it's time to bite the bullet and develop the Nathan/Jerome combination for the rest of the year.
Believe it or not, we are still in the running for the finals. Maybe wait for the Sharks and Broncos games, that'll just about do it.

Abacus

It's not whether or not we're a chance for the finals - it's whether we deserve to be. On the form of most of the season and last night in particular, we don't.

Given the coach's perspective that we were not complacent, we are either incapable or poorly coached - on both sides of the footy.

franklin2323

It's not whether or not we're a chance for the finals - it's whether we deserve to be. On the form of most of the season and last night in particular, we don't.

Given the coach's perspective that we were not complacent, we are either incapable or poorly coached - on both sides of the footy.

I say both. To be fair to Ivan I don't think the squad that good but I think a better coach could do more with what we have

OldPanther

Sooo what about hopa? That has me more fired up than the loss to be honest.
I rekon if I was in Sydney I'd be knocking on his door (then have my ass handed to me)

I'm not sure. I don't remember it but sounds dodgy from what people here are saying.