Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Penrith

How much of a fan are you? I’m asking because I don’t think you’re as invested as the rest of us are with our clubs. You’d dump Storm as soon as Perth gets a team, yeh?

Non ticketed member, usually get to melbourne once a year for a game, plenty of merch (first I bought was a marcus bai signed jersey which hangs in the wall, been to a couple of gf’s, watch every game on fox. It’s hard to be super invested when you can’t get to games every week (not that many Sydney fans do that anyway lol)
I’ll still be a Storm supporter but yeh I’d obviously be a full member of a perth team and would volunteer to run the supporters group like I did previously for the Reds bid.

So..

What is the “real” reason people have started hating Penrith in recent times..?

Envy of their success?
Gus Gould?
Ivan Cleary abandoning his bus?
Sex Tapes?
Others??

To me it would seem a combination of the top 3. They don’t seemingly have any folk who carry on like knobs on the field.... perhaps apart from the Canberra game..

I think people subconsciously don't like them cos they're a bunch of wannabe gangstas.

They throw up gang signs and do lil gang dances after scoring tries, they affiliate themselves with so-called Western Sydney gangsta drill rap groups. They show up to the Matty Johns show wearing beanies. Even their coaches son halfback who grew up rich thinks he's a G.

In saying that though, the biggest wanker in the team is white boy Burton.

ACTPanthers

I think people subconsciously don't like them cos they're a bunch of wannabe gangstas.

They throw up gang signs and do lil gang dances after scoring tries, they affiliate themselves with so-called Western Sydney gangsta drill rap groups. They show up to the Matty Johns show wearing beanies. Even their coaches son halfback who grew up rich thinks he's a G.

Yeah, because the Panthers are the only ones doing that...

forby

what a load of bs! If you listen to them talk and see how they treat with respect their families, friends and fans you would realise what rubbish you sprout!

Blues Riff

Haha Burton? You've literally got nothing, you flog.

Yeah i rate Melbourne, not because of their long successful and tainted history, but because of their work ethic, they smell a try off a line break, and got speed all over the park, the roster management is great too, due to the unders most players stay for to keep winning, i don't mind watching them t his year, now that the cameron grub cheat has retired,
View attachment 48617
i even like the fact they wear more purple now than they ever did, as its unique to the comp, not just another boring blue team

Cam is smelling his own fart in this pic, isn’t he.

It seems I've struck a collective bogan nerve.

I was just giving an honest answer to an honest question, and calling it how I see it.

Although Burton doesn't act like a G, he's obviously trying to impress his buddies by acting like a sanctimonious lil prick. You can just imagine him at training telling everyone "OK boys, no one high 5 me if I score. Handshakes only ok. That'll really stick it up the haters! Oh and I might pull out of a swan dive for good measure."

Haha Burton? You've literally got nothing, you flog.

A flog?...you mean like your hero Brandy? Looks like I'm in good company then.

On the flip side, in RL it's always good to see a batch of juniors come through together and play well.

betcats

It seems I've struck a collective bogan nerve.

I was just giving an honest answer to an honest question, and calling it how I see it.

Although Burton doesn't act like a G, he's obviously trying to impress his buddies by acting like a sanctimonious lil prick. You can just imagine him at training telling everyone "OK boys, no one high 5 me if I score. Handshakes only ok. That'll really stick it up the haters! Oh and I might pull out of a swan dive for good measure."

e
A flog?...you mean like your hero Brandy? Looks like I'm in good company then.

On the flip side, in RL it's always good to see a batch of juniors come through together and play well.

Awwww precious, did those westies celebrating to hard upset you? And then you were also upset by the handshake? It must be hard being you.

I'm from NZ so I don't really have first hand knowledge of the whole westie thing. I don't care where they come from. Actually, one of my mates from NZ moved to Penrith as it's cheaper to buy a house there apparently.

I'm not upset, just observant. Enjoy it while it lasts Mr. cats. In 2-3 years this team will be dismantled by the salary cap, possibly without a premiership to their name. It's already begun with Burton off to the Dogs. That scenario will be interesting to watch next year. It will probably end up like Bryce Cartwright at the Titans.

Blues Riff

... but, but it's not fair. These last 2 seasons were supposed to be the Raiders time in the sun. After their GF disappointment they were going to be back there, bigger and better. Everyone said so.