Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penrith's draw this year...

mxlegend99

87% of the games are the same, 3 of the games that aren't are similar. At most you could say one or two games are easier on paper.

But then you have instances where Titans are supposedly an easier team, yet they beat the Souths, Broncos and Storm. Sharks are supposedly an easy game and yet they have beaten Panthers, Roosters and Broncos. Dragons beat Storm.

Trying to accuse a draw where nearly 90% of its the same for where you sit on the ladder after 17 rounds is a joke. Especially if you're not winning all the supposedly easy games. Win them first and then batch about the hard games, although if you're the best team in the competition there shouldn't be that many hard games anyway.

TheFrog

87% of the games are the same, 3 of the games that aren't are similar. At most you could say one or two games are easier on paper.

But then you have instances where Titans are supposedly an easier team, yet they beat the Souths, Broncos and Storm. Sharks are supposedly an easy game and yet they have beaten Panthers, Roosters and Broncos. Dragons beat Storm.

Trying to accuse a draw where nearly 90% of its the same for where you sit on the ladder after 17 rounds is a joke. Especially if you're not winning all the supposedly easy games. Win them first and then batch about the hard games, although if you're the best team in the competition there shouldn't be that many hard games anyway.

This is the point I tried to make the other day but it was too hard for some. At the most the favourable draw is worth 2 points. Maybe not even that.

roofromoz

Penrith have hardly set the world on fire over the past decade. So perhaps the current position has been maybe a bit too with flying under the radar whilst all the attention has been on the premiership heavyweights. What is done is done re: the draw and the perceived easiness of it. However, the run home will test our credentials. Look forward to how we fare. For the record, I'm still not counting on a finals appearance yet, yet alone speculating where we will finish. But if Penrith is playing finals footy this year, I reckon it will be likely be from a spot in the bottom half of the 8.

firechild

Roosters dropped a 24-0 lead against the Sharks. Any Roosters fan trying to blame the draw is kidding themselves.

RWB

Last year you would not have cared. I don't suppose you will complain about facing the Panthers on a 4.5 day turnaround either.

I really don't case now tbh. If we're going to win the comp we're going to win the comp irrespective of our draw.

I just think it's an interesting discussion, is the Panthers position indicative of a side that's had a soft run or a side who truly deserves to be there.

mxlegend99

I really don't case now tbh. If we're going to win the comp we're going to win the comp irrespective of our draw.

I just think it's an interesting discussion, is the Panthers position indicative of a side that's had a soft run or a side who truly deserves to be there.
They won games that even more fancied teams have lost. They deserve to be where they are today. Consistency is important.

There's still a long way to go though, and with how close the comp is it will only take a few games for the whole ladder to look wildly different. Even two losses could drop a team from first to outside the top 4. Where it will take a lot of wins in a row to get back up to first.

RWB

They won games that even more fancied teams have lost. They deserve to be where they are today. Consistency is important.

There's still a long way to go though, and with how close the comp is it will only take a few games for the whole ladder to look wildly different. Even two losses could drop a team from first to outside the top 4. Where it will take a lot of wins in a row to get back up to first.

It's easy to be consistent when you have an uninterrupted and relatively softer draw though, that's the point I don't think you guys get. It's like talking to a brick wall.

soc123_au

It's easy to be consistent when you have an uninterrupted and relatively softer draw though, that's the point I don't think you guys get. It's like talking to a brick wall.

Uninterrupted? Do you mean because we have no Origin players? Yes, it no doubt makes our life easier for the 6 rounds where we arent missing players or having them back up. What about the other 20 rounds where we face Origin quality players?

Blues Riff

No mate, a brick wall would just sit there and listen to your shit. We actually disagree with you and have stated the reasons.

Roosters dropped a 24-0 lead against the Sharks. Any Roosters fan trying to blame the draw is kidding themselves.

No one is blaming the draw for that loss.

I'm not sure why the merits of the way the draw works at the moment can't be discussed without bringing the roosters into it.

It is a pretty simple thread. Have Penrith been the recipients of an easier draw than others? if yes, is it just the swings and roundabouts of the comp? Can the way we do the draw be improved?

Simple stuff to answer really.

For the record I have no problem with Penrith's draw given we don't have a complete home and away competition and I can't think of a fairer way of determining who each team plays once than the current system.

mxlegend99

The only advantage Panthers have is not having to face ourselves at all. Roosters and Broncos can consider themselves lucky to play us only once. especially the Roosters who face us after the same turnaround Broncos fans are crying about their Origin players having. Yet our entire team has that turnaround.

we play essentially full strength sides on the back of greater turnarounds without our captain and top two half backs . Yet both fans are still scared and whinging about our easy draw.

mxlegend99

I think it will hurt us for the first game or two, but could potentially open up our attack once Peachey gets used to his new role in the team.

Doomednow

This thread and the people complaining for the last couple of weeks has been the most fun I've had on this forum since Melbourne got sprung.

TheFrog

Bigger test will be to see how pennies go without Wallace IMHO

Well the Bronco people seemed to suggest we'd have a disastrous season with him in our side....as Bronco people do. No-one who leaves Brisbane can possibly be of any use after all.

I'm not too worried about getting by for a few weeks without Wal. We have a reserve grade side unbeaten in 11 or 12 games and the coach has a better option than using those halves. Peach will be a revelation.

firechild

No one is blaming the draw for that loss.

I'm not sure why the merits of the way the draw works at the moment can't be discussed without bringing the roosters into it.

They've only been brought into it because it is predominantly Roosters fans complaining.

I wasn't suggesting the draw was being blamed for the loss, my point was that if anyone wants to look at a gift 2 points, it's having a 24-0 lead against a team coming last, without any of their stars, having just lost their coach and just generally in turmoil. The Roosters couldn't take a gift when it was on offer but Roosters fans are complaining about percieved gifts to other teams.