Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Petty things that give you the shits…

roboshark

Is it against the law to shoot kookaburra's? Asking for a friend.

(psssst I know a bloke that disposed of a scrub turkey that was about to take up residence in a place where he was not welcomed)
Don't U dare kill a kooka. I love them

Reactions: PJ
Is it against the law to shoot kookaburra's? Asking for a friend.

(psssst I know a bloke that disposed of a scrub turkey that was about to take up residence in a place where he was not welcomed)
Ive had a running battle with bush turkeys since 2016 . A few runins previously even when living in Taringa , Brisbane! .... Ive trapped them in a possum trap and relocated them . After awhile only smarter ones are left . I have destroyed nests, chased them off daily etc etc . I think they were made protected because in depression years they ere easy targets and took a pounding . I dont think they are in any danger now (at least till total collapse of our economy) One tactic I had success with was putting a upright Mirror on top of the nest . They see their reflection , try to chase themselves off And end up giving up and leaving that nest. Lately I just feed them out back door . Theyve become tame almost and too fat and lazy to go amongst the trees and pull away the humis. If I had a gun and silencer I reckon I could get about six in one go to stick in the freezer for when the economy collapse.

My scrub turkey story: 37 years ago I came across the beautiful part of the world where I have since resided in. For the first 11 months we rented a place just north of Emu Park to see if we would like living here. I noticed a few of these strange birds (the turkeys) hanging around the back yard. They came in from the bush just out from the back boundary.

So being of city boy stock I thought it would be a good idea to feed them some scraps. Next bloody minute I'd have 22 two of the bastards regularly coming into the yard.

When I finally bought the Tora Bora Cave just south of EP I was out the back one day and spotted a bloody scrub turkey up the tree. No way was this happening again. I had a mate that just happened to have a good slug gun. I borrowed it off him for a few days and was like a commando stalking the far-ker.

Needless the say he and I didn't share the same address for long.

Chimp

Here’s a controversial one….

Doing a ‘haka’ for every pissing moment in life…. Player makes his debut, let’s do a haka for him. Player retires, let’s do a haka for him. Player wins an award, let’s do a haka for him. Player lets out a silent but dealt fart, let’s do a haka for him….

Get it’s an important part of culture for certain communities, but it’s getting to the point where I think it’s not being done for genuine reasons, it’s been done for mates/family to muscle in on the occasion and get 30 seconds of attention and some insta ‘likes’.

DJDL

Here’s a controversial one….

Doing a ‘haka’ for every pissing moment in life…. Player makes his debut, let’s do a haka for him. Player retires, let’s do a haka for him. Player wins an award, let’s do a haka for him. Player lets out a silent but dealt fart, let’s do a haka for him….

Get it’s an important part of culture for certain communities, but it’s getting to the point where I think it’s not being done for genuine reasons, it’s been done for mates/family to muscle in on the occasion and get 30 seconds of attention and some insta ‘likes’.

I’m with you.

“Can I have a steak and eggs?”
“I’m sorry sir, this is a vegan restaurant”
“Ka mate ka mate ka ora ka ora”

“I’d like a ticket to the grand final please”
“I’m sorry sir, it’s sold out”

“Did you see Keeping Up With The Kardashians last night?”
“No. I don’t watch it”

“Hi, my car won’t start
“No problem sir, we can have a service man to you in the next hour”

I’m with you.

“Can I have a steak and eggs?”
“I’m sorry sir, this is a vegan restaurant”

“I’d like a ticket to the grand final please”
“I’m sorry sir, it’s sold out”

“Did you see Keeping Up With The Kardashians last night?”
“No. I don’t watch it”

“Hi, my car won’t start
“No problem sir, we can have a service man to you in the next hour”

It is death, it is death. It is life, it is life.

shadowboxer

Phil Gould talking up his bulldogs after a stellar weekend in all grades.
That win over the Saints in 1st grade was one for the ages. I blamed my Monday hangover on having to watch and listen to that game. Absolute flop

Watching Sharks games when they play new teams. Do we ever win against a newbie side?

week in week out yeah nah yeah.
doing it for the boys.
getting into the grind.
yeah nah yeah.

almost every interview ever.