Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Phillip Hughes has passed away at the age of 25

I don't remember the last time I was this shaken up or devastated.
I still keep expecting to wake up find and it was all a nightmare.

Rest In Peace mate.
A real Aussie hero, the world has suffered the loss of one of its real good guys today.

As has been said, thoughts are also with Sean Abott.

WaznTheGreat

:( So devastating,i actually had a few tears coming from the eyes and i didn't even know him,this really hits hard,maybe because im a big Cricket fan,i can only imagine how his family must be feeling,also thoughts go out to Sean Abbot.

RIP Phil

Everything must be done to help Abbott.
Not many of us, maybe none us, can truly understand what he must be going through right now.
Condolences to the Hughes family.

This may be the most tragic day in Australian cricket history.

Cletus

I was watching what has now turned out to be one of the most tragic events in Aussie sporting history. The stream wasn't very smooth and I thought it was no big deal. I didn't see the collapse itself properly and I thought it was all precautionary. Even when they put him on the medicab I, possibly naively, thought he was going to give a wave as they took him off like you see in so many footy games. So I was looking at his hand and I realized Dave Warner was trying to keep it up so it wouldn't fall down to the side. That's when I first thought this was bad.

I followed his career passionately because I went to school with people who knew him. He was playing seniors from age 12. I know one person who met him in a game. He said the star of every other team was almost always a wanker. Hughes was the star of his team and also the friendliest person on the team. It seems like he was universally liked. You wouldn't wish this on your worst enemy but especially not on someone who was such a genuinely good person.

RIP Phil.

Well said BM, hope you're ok.

unbreaK

I was watching what has now turned out to be one of the most tragic events in Aussie sporting history. The stream wasn't very smooth and I thought it was no big deal. I didn't see the collapse itself properly and I thought it was all precautionary. Even when they put him on the medicab I, possibly naively, thought he was going to give a wave as they took him off like you see in so many footy games. So I was looking at his hand and I realized Dave Warner was trying to keep it up so it wouldn't fall down to the side. That's when I first thought this was bad.

I followed his career passionately because I went to school with people who knew him. He was playing seniors from age 12. I know one person who met him in a game. He said the star of every other team was almost always a wanker. Hughes was the star of his team and also the friendliest person on the team. It seems like he was universally liked. You wouldn't wish this on your worst enemy but especially not on someone who was such a genuinely good person.

RIP Phil.

People can talk as much shit as they want about you, great post, you supported him through thick and thin, and didn't care what people thought of your affection towards Hughes' game.

Condolences.

undertaker

Just like it was for the Knights with the Alex McKinnon incident, it's going to be a very long summer for our national cricket side, considering that the World Cup finishes in late-March. Hopefully we can win the World Cup in memory of Phil!

Sad,just so damn sad,
taken far too early with still his best cricket ahead of him,RIP Phil and sincere condolences to his family and friends.

Walt Flanigan

Absolutely tragic. Feeling gutted.

Can't imagine what his friends, family and especially Abbott are going through.

RIP.

MARSHALL ZHUKOV

Very very sad news hope the bowler Abbott will get assistance and have people with him now. He is going to need a lot of help to get over this. It was a pure accident - They need to come up with a helmet to avoid this happening again.

RIP Phil.
Missed this post, well said BM.

play has been suspended between Pakistan and NZ and the two boards will meet to decide what to do

seanoff

RIP Phil. May the angels speed you to your destination.

Terrible

All love and support to his family. And also to Sean abbott. Please support that boy.

WaznTheGreat

RIP Phil.

Good post mate

I feel so shit for bagging him as a cricketer.
God, I hope Sean Abbott is okay, it's incomprehensible to me how he must feel.