Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Phillip Hughes has passed away at the age of 25

I've shed a few tears earlier and now just have an uneasy feeling in my gut.

Wasn't helped by seeing a photo of Sean Abbott crying on his way out of the hospital. What that poor bloke is going through. The only comparison I can imagine is Ray Mancini who was a champion boxer and his opponent died in the ring in the 80s. His career was never the same afterwards.

Hughes and Abbott were teammates just 6 weeks ago in the T20 in the UAE. Hughes was the first person who shook Abbott's hand when Abbott first came into the NSW dressing room.

I hope Abbott can overcome this and fulfill his potential. Would only compound the tragedy if two lives and careers are ruined by this. I heard that Phil's family met with him today, I'm sure they had kind words to say despite their grief.

Really wishing Sean makes a full emotional recovery.
well said mate, I am sitting at home in the dark after a massive storm hit and knocked the power out. And I couldn't care less. Still upset and shocked at what has happened. Having a few not so cold rums in PJH honour :(

Haffa

Will always remember him belting the Vics at the SCG in the 07-08 shield final. At 19 you just knew you were watching something special.

Still shaking my head.

Pete Cash

I am watching highlights of his double hundred against South Africa on youtube. What about him hitting a 6 to bring up his first 100 :)

I was watching what has now turned out to be one of the most tragic events in Aussie sporting history. The stream wasn't very smooth and I thought it was no big deal. I didn't see the collapse itself properly and I thought it was all precautionary. Even when they put him on the medicab I, possibly naively, thought he was going to give a wave as they took him off like you see in so many footy games. So I was looking at his hand and I realized Dave Warner was trying to keep it up so it wouldn't fall down to the side. That's when I first thought this was bad.

I followed his career passionately because I went to school with people who knew him. He was playing seniors from age 12. I know one person who met him in a game. He said the star of every other team was almost always a wanker. Hughes was the star of his team and also the friendliest person on the team. It seems like he was universally liked. You wouldn't wish this on your worst enemy but especially not on someone who was such a genuinely good person.

RIP Phil.

Well said mate.

Will be a hauntingly long night for many people

As many do, I feel for Abbott. No one deserves this type of permanent mental scar happen to them playing a game they love.

mozza91

Have been in tears several times this arvo. Feel like a knob for being so critical of the guy in the past.
Such a terrible accident & for it to happen to someone so young and well loved makes it even worse.
RIP brother.

Sure a lot of us (myself included) were criticial of him and criticised his inclusion in squads, however a lot of that was more directed at BM's incessant adoration of the bloke and not meant with any malice toward the bloke.

As a cricketer from country NSW, I can fully appreciate and understand just how hard Phil worked to become a test cricketer. Earning a baggy green is the toughest thing any cricketer can hope to achieve, but it's just that extra bit harder for a country kid, as it generally means relocating away from family and friends and backing yourself to make it work, while competing with countless other talented individuals, who have possibly been privvy to better better training facilities and the like.

To have earnt that test selection is a massive credit to him and he took that opportunity immediately. His story is not supposed to end this way and It should not have ended this way. It's just not fair.

He was a son, a brother, a friend and a team mate more than anything else, and from all reports, he was very good at all of them. His on-field feats, many of which are impressive, pale into insignificance against the man that was Phil Hughes who has tragically passed away today.

RIP Hughesy

chigurh

Before he broke into the Australian and before I'd even seen him bat I remember the weekly updates from ABC Grandstand saying that this young kid coming through had hit yet another hundred and was going to be something special. What a tragedy.

axl rose

Will be a hauntingly long night for many people

As many do, I feel for Abbott. No one deserves this type of permanent mental scar happen to them playing a game they love.

Feel for him. Such a bizarre situation. If you run a red or drink drive and hurt someone you can blame yourself. A situation like this though? Thoughts in his mind are probably the ball he was going to bowl but didn't.

What can even be said, its just beyond belief. I think everyone just wants to wake up and for this nightmare to be over.

Lemon Squash

I'm just numb....

Awful,tragic, gut wrenching, surreal, shattering... none of these words fully describe how I feel over this.

Was always a fan of his and took a keen interest in his career progression, I'm a similar age and used to watch in awe as he was playing cricket for Australia as a 20 year old let alone scoring hundreds.
Also had mates who played junior reps with and against him and all always said he was just a champion fella.

As others have mentioned thoughts also with young Sean Abbott, I can't even start to try and imagine what he is going through. It was freak incident and I'm sure he will be getting all the support and kind wishes in the world but still it will have such profound impact on his life and I just hope he isn't lost to the game.

RIP Hughesy

Mr Spock!

Sure a lot of us (myself included) were criticial of him and criticised his inclusion in squads, however a lot of that was more directed at BM's incessant adoration of the bloke and not meant with any malice toward the bloke.

As a cricketer from country NSW, I can fully appreciate and understand just how hard Phil worked to become a test cricketer. Earning a baggy green is the toughest thing any cricketer can hope to achieve, but it's just that extra bit harder for a country kid, as it generally means relocating away from family and friends and backing yourself to make it work, while competing with countless other talented individuals, who have possibly been privvy to better better training facilities and the like.

To have earnt that test selection is a massive credit to him and he took that opportunity immediately. His story is not supposed to end this way and It should not have ended this way. It's just not fair.

He was a son, a brother, a friend and a team mate more than anything else, and from all reports, he was very good at all of them. His on-field feats, many of which are impressive, pale into insignificance against the man that was Phil Hughes who has tragically passed away today.

RIP Hughesy

Yep. I'm shattered. I'll always remember his hundreds against South Africa.

RIP Champ.

Y2Eel

Devastating news. I feel terrible for His family and friends..

A life taken to soon Rest In Peace Phillip Hughes.

Hate to see him never play again..

Nice image from Facebook, he's at the crease with the Don.

10426075_10205444815179757_705276619717141677_n.jpg

axl rose

As a cricketer from country NSW, I can fully appreciate and understand just how hard Phil worked to become a test cricketer. Earning a baggy green is the toughest thing any cricketer can hope to achieve, but it's just that extra bit harder for a country kid, as it generally means relocating away from family and friends and backing yourself to make it work,

RIP Hughesy

Well said, appreciate it as a country lad myself. The relocation to Sydney is daunting enough by itself. Full credit to him.

veggiepatch1959

After reading the last 50 or so posts, I have tears running down my cheeks five hours after the fact.

Dunno why. To be honest, I've seen about two hours of Hughsie's batting career in my life.

Obviously I'm not the world's most avid cricket fan but, f**k this hit me like a ton of bricks.