Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Players refusing to sing the National anthem in protest

Xcalibre

For the bloke who gave me a very good explanation of the how and why of the differences between the Maori and Aboriginal position/respect in their countries today, that's a pretty simplistic take.

I remember a while ago there was a rendition of the anthem similar to how NZ do it. I don't recall hearing it ever again. From my limited understanding Maori all speak 1 Indigenous language, whereas Aboriginals spoke many different languages. I assume that'd make it pretty difficult to incorporate them all equally within a 2 minute song.

That’s often how the argument goes. Someone questions or criticisms the pc rhetoric, they’re instant bigots.

I thought I was pretty far left thinking before seeing this thread.

Willie Ray

Alrighty then...alcohol in the NT.... here we go....
there are five liquor outlets in town,they are open 2pm til 8pm Monday to Friday...12pm til 8pm on Saturdays and public holidays and on Sundays only the two drive throughs are open 2pm til 8pm...
when you walk into one you will see a PALI...Police Auxilliary Liquor Inspector,you must show your ID... no ifs and or buts...age,gender or colour doesn't matter...it's called POSI...Point Of Sale Intervention..
I'm local so I get asked if the address on my license is where I will be drinking the alcohol I'm about to purchase...so I say yes...I'm allowed to go browse or buy....
when I've selected my alcohol at the register I must again give my ID to the counter staff who will scan it onto the BDR...the Banned Drinkers Register,if your name comes up on the BDR they will notify the cop and you will be interviewed and shown outside...if not as in my case I can go on my way...some times getting accosted in the carpark to sell my alcohol or asked to go back inside and buy for those that are on the BDR and then get the shite abused out of you when you say no, [there is a hefty fine or a couple months in the lock-up for supply]...best thing to do is have a Woollies plastic bag to put it in so they can't see the plain brown paper bag...
Illegal alcohol supply or grog running is a massive thing...in a so called 'dry community' a 750 bottle of Bundy or a 30 pack of VB cans can fetch up to $200.

Anyway for those that don't know this is the reality.

AJB1102

I’d be happy for it to be a mad didgeridoo instrumental

Mate maybe you're onto something here.

Our current anthem either offends or means f**kall to most. Given how loose the interpretation of words can seem in isolation and that there are so many Indigenous languages, plus the many languages of all our "newer" Australians, perhaps we f**k of words altogether and just have a mad instrumental.

Like an international orchestra with them all playing their style of instrument.

In Katherine, I bought some booze from a liquor store and there was a cop stationed there. Perhaps it was implemented by local indigenous. I don’t know but I also saw an issue when I went to buy a case in Alice.

Cool story. I’ve wanted to watch Ten Canoes ever since I heard about it. Thanks for the heads up. I’m a big fan of indigenous art and their Dreamtime stories and the way they respect the land.

Education and creating opportunities are big factors imo. A lot of these places are so remote with few amenities. It makes it hard.

Katherine is confronting.
Been there a few times.
Once on a Sunday arvo with my mum.
Walked down the main street .
We had no trouble but it was very depressing.

Katherine is confronting.
Been there a few times.
Once on a Sunday arvo with my mum.
Walked down the main street .
We had no trouble but it was very depressing.

Kalgoorlie is an interesting place after dark as well. Have heard some interesting tales about what the locals get up to with petrol. Very sad

Got it set to record.

There is another movie also filmed in Ramingining called Charlie’s Country.
David Gulpilil is in it.
That gives a bloody good idea of what life is like for the people in remote areas.
Great movie.
Gulpilil is unreal.
Parts are autobiographical for him too.

There is another movie also filmed in Ramingining called Charlie’s Country.
David Gulpilil is in it.
That gives a bloody good idea of what life is like for the people in remote areas.
Great movie.
Gulpilil is unreal.
Parts are autobiographical for him too.

Fantastic movie, seen it about half a dozen times. I spent a bit of time in Arnhem Land, unbelievable place to just sit and chill.

People think what they see in the city is what all indigenous people are like.

There is a bloody good reason why you need a permit to to Arnhem Land.
They don’t want white people f**king that place too.

Geeze they have some confusing cultural laws up there though.
Just for them to get actors for 10 canoes was a mission in itself.
Not because they couldn’t find actors but because of their laws about skin name and people who are related to each other.

They don’t want white people f**king that place too.

Geeze they have some confusing cultural laws up there though.
Just for them to get actors for 10 canoes was a mission in itself.
Not because they couldn’t find actors but because of their laws about skin name and people who are related to each other.

yeh, I played RL for Nightcliff footy club in Darwin and there is a fair amount of indigenous players, some worked for what was ATSIC at the time and got permits for us to spend time in Arnhem Land.

Met a mob of indigenous people who lived there who were full blooded aboriginals, lovely people.

Something I will never forget.

Kalgoorlie is an interesting place after dark as well. Have heard some interesting tales about what the locals get up to with petrol. Very sad

Once sat in the middle of a big brawl in a Kal pub, it was like the wild west with people and chairs flying around the place! Should have suspected something when they told me they dont sell drinks in glasses, only cans!

Similarly there are Maori tribal lands in New Zealand where people cannot go unless they have the permission of the local tribe. My late Father used to go to New Zealand quite often on holidays as he loved to fish, and he found this out when he was permitted to fish on tribal lands which are normally restricted access.

typicalfan

To be honest I think changing the national anthem would change very little for the Indigenous community.

Not many Indigenous people:

- High net wealth individuals;
- Are a Justice of the High Court of Australia;
- High-ranking public servants;
- A Chancellor of a Group of Eight university;
- Admirals, Generals, or Marshals in the Australian Defence Force;
- CEO of an ASX listed company; or
- On the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia?

Whether you like it or not, this is a white man's country - changing the words to a song sung before bread and circuses isn't going to do much.
With all due respect all of what you say here is fairly irrelevant to the topic. The status of Aboriginal Australians, whether it be good, bad or otherwise is beside the point.

Our country is a representation of our past, which is why acknowledging the past is important and we shouldn't just 'get over it'.

Most people in these roles are also male, does this make this a "mans" country?