Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Players refusing to sing the National anthem in protest

Shark62

While we are at it, I like to see Yothu Yindi sing 'Treaty' in Latvian

maxresdefault.jpg
Those 3 could sing Mary had a little lamb and I’d be happy

JamesRustle

How does everyone feel about:

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie
Oi, Oi, Oi
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie
Oi, Oi, Oi
Aussie
Oi
Aussie
Oi
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie
Oi, Oi, Oi

grouch

I don't care if it is changed.

I was responding to someone who said a lyric had a specific meaning. I questioned that alleged meaning given the poster cited a source who simply interpreted it a certain way and I can find no other source that corroborates that meaning. If you can find a source that does please post it here.
Ok.. so.. you're defending the honour of the songwriter? Look, no need. I highly doubt he intended the song to be offensive, artists tend to be more socially progressive. He was simply a man of his time. He's off the hook, you can rest.

None of that stops the song from being offensive today.

some11

Because racist bogans are trying to justify their irrational hatred of this movement
"Yeah mate, he played origin last year and was bloody great.

..what's that? he won't sing the anthem! filthy f**ken boongs all they do is whinge"

This small little statement is going to put boomers into a fit of rage.

grouch

I'm not saying you, but fair dinkum lets get this right.

There are no clear racists words, phrases, paragraphs - but somehow there is an undertone of racism. That needs to be called out as bullshit.

Second, whilst no one can deny the horrific treatment of aboriginals over the years of white colonisation there was no one united aboriginal nation. There was something like two hundred different tribes, with different languages, diffrent societies etc.

This sounds like playing the victim card to me - and that means we can't move forward.

It is clearly crap, with Walker & Co not explaining why they believe it is racist - it just is.

The second line "for we are young and free" - clearly means the 6 British colonies becoming an independent federated country on 1st January 1901.
Indigenous australians: Hey can we change the aussie flag? It's literally a symbol of colonialism.

Aussies: My grandfather spilled blood for that flag!!

Indigenous australians: Ok.. how about we change the date of Australia day? Bit weird to celebrate the day we were invaded right?

Aussies: Please. Not giving up my beers and bbqs mate.

Indigenous australians: The anthem then? No-one even likes it anyway and it's offensive to us.

Aussies: OMG PC OUTRAGE CULTURE. It's not even racist! Show me one racist word!

Ok.. so.. you're defending the honour of the songwriter? Look, no need. I highly doubt he intended the song to be offensive, artists tend to be more socially progressive. He was simply a man of his time. He's off the hook, you can rest.

None of that stops the song from being offensive today.

I am genuinely interested as to whether the "fair" lyric was intended to mean 'white' or implies so and was just seeking clarification. As it stands I can't find any source that says it does mean that apart from someone who has the opinion that it does.

I can't imagine any song not being offensive to some portion of our population so short of not having an anthem, what is the solution?

magpie4ever

Should we bomb ATSI communities for not signing the anthem??

I would like to send a heat seeking missle into your mummy's cellar than some posters on here could discuss matters without have trollydoll jumping in offering SFA in context to the matter at hand.

SBD82

It probably doesn't represent every avenue of my history - from Irish Catholic convict stock; but by god it sends chills up my spine watching one of my sons belting out the anthem before kick off whilst playing for Australia.
I’m glad it does something for you.

I never asked my Irish catholic grandmother what she thought of the anthem. Would be interesting to know. She married a Protestant, so I guess anything is possible.

As is customary I wish to honour the traditional owners of this thread and as is also customary I wish to not let them know we will not be giving them their land back.

grouch

I am genuinely interested as to whether the "fair" lyric was intended to mean 'white' or implies so and was just seeking clarification. As it stands I can't find any source that says it does mean that apart from someone who has the opinion that it does.

I can't imagine any song not being offensive to some portion of our population so short of not having an anthem, what is the solution?
Aside from telling Indigenous Australians the song isn't actually offensive, are you genuinely interested in finding a solution?

As an atheist socialist I used to balk at singing god save the queen!
I get why this countries First people would be pssed at the current anthem. As usual white people won’t be affected one jot if it is changed to be more respectful but will have a massive whinge about pc or some other sht anyways.

Good on the players, stick to your guns.

I think all the Indigenous players who do not sing the National Anthem have clay feet. Nonetheless, they are most welcome to cure themselves of their clay feet by donating each of their $35,000 State of Origin match payments to an Indigenous community.

Judge a man by his actions, not by his words.

magpie4ever

Indigenous australians: Hey can we change the aussie flag? It's literally a symbol of colonialism.

Aussies: My grandfather spilled blood for that flag!!

Indigenous australians: Ok.. how about we change the date of Australia day? Bit weird to celebrate the day we were invaded right?

Aussies: Please. Not giving up my beers and bbqs mate.

Indigenous australians: The anthem then? No-one even likes it anyway and it's offensive to us.

Aussies: OMG PC OUTRAGE CULTURE. It's not even racist! Show me one racist word!

So your point is?

You want the flag, australia day & the anthem changed? Yes/No?