Gobsmacked
Literally just got f**k by government on stadiums.How is there "no financial risks" when 1 of the 2 major parties is likely to drop it the next time they are in govt?
PVL arse is still sore.
Literally just got f**k by government on stadiums.How is there "no financial risks" when 1 of the 2 major parties is likely to drop it the next time they are in govt?
Yeah, that could be interpreted multiple ways.See my post above PVL said as much. Lock in PNG.
It is the strongest statement so far that they are going to be club 18.Yeah, that could be interpreted multiple ways.
If it was done, there'd be an announcement.
Vlad and Albo will be long gone when the money runs out, then it'll be some other poor buggers job to pick up the pieces and try to figure out what they do with a totally unsustainable club.How is there "no financial risks" when 1 of the 2 major parties is likely to drop it the next time they are in govt?
You’re right vlad was long gone when the money to fund those lemons gws and gcs is running outVlad and Albo will be long gone when the money runs out, then it'll be some other poor buggers job to pick up the pieces and try to figure out what they do with a totally unsustainable club.
Its government moneyHow is there "no financial risks" when 1 of the 2 major parties is likely to drop it the next time they are in govt?
Its government money
The NRL could be the biggest code in Australia if it wanted to be.You’re right vlad was long gone when the money to fund those lemons gws and gcs is running out
Saint Peter will leave rugby league with at least 20 bud more likely 24 teams with a footprint of close to 50 million people
you can see the jealousy from fans of rival codes how much growth there is in rugby league
The NRL could be the biggest code in Australia if it wanted to be.
It just doesn't want to be.
It's truly pathetic that we haven't expanded to Perth, Adelaide and Tassie, and don't have more teams in Victoria.
The flogs on Big Footy must be livid.
You'd imagine this would have been the first objection thrown at Albo when this was floated last year. I'm sure either there will be a long-term financial contract signed or a large upfront sum paid that represents something like 10 years worth of payments. Either that or some other agreement where the NRL funds the team for 10 years min and Albo pays for a new stadium in Canberra and a rectangular Accor.That is only really guaranteed for an election cycle. If the LNP wins the next election and they don't want to fund a foreign professional sporting team, the funding is gone.
You'd imagine this would have been the first objection thrown at Albo when this was floated last year. I'm sure either there will be a long-term financial contract signed or a large upfront sum paid that represents something like 10 years worth of payments. Either that or some other agreement where the NRL funds the team for 10 years min and Albo pays for a new stadium in Canberra and a rectangular Accor.
There will be something in the deal for the NRL for sure that means if the team goes under after the funding period we get left with a legacy (one of which will be talent through the new pathways created).
Albo might have also agreed to put the Aus Govt weight behind our push into the US market (hence the state dinner this week).
They kind of do. Albo wants it pretty bad and we don't really need to do it. We could go to Perth, Ipswich or Christchurch and they'd be better options for the game. So I don't really see why we would say yes unless there is an offer on the table we can't walk away from.You seem to be approaching this with an idea that the NRL has all of the power here. Why would the govt sign a deal that says they have to fund it for 10 years, and build 2 new stadiums?
They kind of do. Albo wants it pretty bad and we don't really need to do it. We could go to Perth, Ipswich or Christchurch and they'd be better options for the game. So I don't really see why we would say yes unless there is an offer on the table we can't walk away from.
Saying it is so doesn’t make it true lol
pretty much sums vlandys decision up!. We could go to Perth, Ipswich or Christchurch and they'd be better options for the game.
They kind of do. Albo wants it pretty bad and we don't really need to do it. We could go to Perth, Ipswich or Christchurch and they'd be better options for the game. So I don't really see why we would say yes unless there is an offer on the table we can't walk away from.
Because it isn’t actually costing you a centThat doesn’t sound like a good decision does it? At least from a logical standpoint.
Why do something that you don’t need to do or has a higher chance of failure?
Because it isn’t actually costing you a cent