Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PNG's back.

BuffaloRules

I'm talking about PNG and it's limitations, unlike you lot that are just shrieking at PR like a bunch of school girls.

For the record, PNG is a terrible terrible idea that's clearly not been thought out, it's a logistical nightmare and relies SOLELY on Government funding.

In a country with crippling poverty and crime, this money is a frivolous waste on an unneeded extravagance.

20 years of every post to support his one agenda crusade has worn down my tolerance for the man

Wb1234

20 years of every post to support his one agenda crusade has worn down my tolerance for the man
He can be funny at times to be fair

somebody has to play the role of the bad guy

when it comes to expansion everyone is a sook when their favourite bid doesn’t get approved or hurts their own little club

this sub forum is just a screaming match or a tonne of people sht posting for the lols

it’s not like pvl would actually waste his time reading this drivel

Maximus

Calculation not you're strong suit if you think 24 international flights is what this bid would need, i would say 9-10 max, 6 in png, 3 in other P.Is and a possible one in Auckland against warriors, the rest wouldn't be international if based in cairns

You know they've got to fly back too right? And there is an away team to charter flights for as well?

BuffaloRules

when it comes to expansion everyone is a sook when their favourite bid doesn’t get approved or hurts their own little club

this sub forum is just a screaming match or a tonne of people sht posting for the lols

Funny as an earthquake maybe …

Personally , I don’t really have a dog in this fight… there isn’t a perfect choice and all the bids have their negative aspects ..

I just want the NRL to bite the bullet and come up with some clear direction on expansion…

Canard

Your obsession with PVL is next level mate, you need something else in your life to fill the void.

"It's not like PVL reads this obscure thread on a RL forum"

No shit, Sherlock.

Also PNG isn't 17M, and the NRL isn't getting 60M a year to run a team.

Canard

Personally , I don’t really have a dog in this fight… there isn’t a perfect choice and all the bids have their negative aspects ..

I just want the NRL to bite the bullet and come up with some clear direction on expansion…
There isn't a perfect choice, there never is, but I don't think it's outrageous to suggest that the PNG option has the most hurdles to overcome and without any third party backing would be easily last on the list.

BuffaloRules

There isn't a perfect choice, there never is, but I don't think it's outrageous to suggest that the PNG option has the most hurdles to overcome and without any third party backing would be easily last on the list.

Yep ….can’t argue with that …actually it’s last on the list even with the Govt backing..

They need to use this as an opportunity to get more out of the Aust Govt if they get coerced into doing this .

MugaB

You know they've got to fly back too right? And there is an away team to charter flights for as well?
Going off your calculations the warriors are doing the same thing...
As for away teams, they'll be doing what they normally do regardless of the location, the FIFO is for Port Moresby mostly, and maybe the other P.I countries, although the reason for the fifo aspect is not to be in PNG overnight... again i don't expect this to be a PNG only team, most likely it will be a Pacifika team

BuffaloRules

As for away teams, they'll be doing what they normally do regardless of the location, the FIFO is for Port Moresby mostly, and maybe the other P.I countries, although the reason for the fifo aspect is not to be in PNG overnight... again i don't expect this to be a PNG only team, most likely it will be a Pacifika team

I will be VERY surprised if this proposed PNG team is playing games in the other Pacific Islands

Maximus

Considering it was news that they chartered a flight for the finals last year, no I reckon that'd indicate they fly commercial.

As for away teams, they'll be doing what they normally do regardless of the location, the FIFO is for Port Moresby mostly, and maybe the other P.I countries, although the reason for the fifo aspect is not to be in PNG overnight...

Wait so away teams have to fly commercial and risk being there overnight, but the home team doesn't?

again i don't expect this to be a PNG only team, most likely it will be a Pacifika team

Based on what exactly? Are we giving the other places hundreds of millions of dollars to build stadiums too?

Wb1234

Vlandys will deliver on 20 teams by 2032

he leaks his plans to the media

I knew redcliffe was going to get admitted well before covid

Wb1234

Yep ….can’t argue with that …actually it’s last on the list even with the Govt backing..

They need to use this as an opportunity to get more out of the Aust Govt if they get coerced into doing this .
With 600 million ? Lmao they are on par with the broncos

they beat every other bid hands down

they will end up providing hundreds of nrl players

and they benefit international competition

this is our Toronto Wolfpack it’s free funded expansion

BuffaloRules

With 600 million ? Lmao they are on par with the broncos

they beat every other bid hands down

they will end up providing hundreds of nrl players

and they benefit international competition

this is our Toronto Wolfpack it’s free funded expansion

If there is more the Govt will give up, then why not take that from them as well? How desperate are they to make this happen?

It’s not all upside …There are negatives to deal with too… as you know as well as anyone else

BuffaloRules

Andrew hill who is behind the png bid said it’s a possibility

What is the PNG Govt saying ,.. you know the ones who are running the bid and who are asking the Aust Govt for help to get them into the competition?

Do they care about the other Islands ?