Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PNG's back.

Wb1234

Perth fans what’s that sound I can hear

……

oh yeh it’s the sound of an nrl team slipping through your fingers

Perth fans what’s that sound I can hear

……

oh yeh it’s the sound of an nrl team slipping through your fingers
“We’ll certainly out of respect to the government look at that. And that would be 2025 if that was to occur.
“But there are plenty of other options.”

Wow your hanging onto vlandys words for dear life
Funny thing is I’d love it if png came in, sure be funny as f**k watching them trying to make a Frankenstein PI club work but at least it’d show some balls which our game has been lacking since 1995.

The Penguin #6.

P.N.G. Hunters are perfect where they are. It`d be complete madness bringing in a team from a third world country, I can`t believe that anyone would seriously contemplate it for more than 10 minutes. I can only imagine some are arguing on here for arguing`s sake.
Melbourne have more than adequately shown you can drop an NRL team into a fumbleball stronghold and it will do well. A Perth team will do well or at least well enough to survive.
I`d strongly suggest that V`landy`s is just letting the W.A. Gov`t know to get a wriggle on here.

MugaB

Funny thing is I’d love it if png came in, sure be funny as f**k watching them trying to make a Frankenstein PI club work but at least it’d show some balls which our game has been lacking since 1995.
Yes ballsy 1995 with North Qld (pop113k)and Auckland (in another country), now that was ballsy,
....the other two not so much ;)

MugaB

P.N.G. Hunters are perfect where they are. It`d be complete madness bringing in a team from a third world country, I can`t believe that anyone would seriously contemplate it for more than 10 minutes. I can only imagine some are arguing on here for arguing`s sake.
Melbourne have more than adequately shown you can drop an NRL team into a fumbleball stronghold and it will do well. A Perth team will do well or at least well enough to survive.
I`d strongly suggest that V`landy`s is just letting the W.A. Gov`t know to get a wriggle on here.
Its all about how passionate you are about it, you cannot beat the papuans for passion, hell if the govt funds them, they could very well be based on the central coast and fifo in for PNG games, (ala the warriors during covid)

I reckon its a bad idea to have it be a PNG and Pacifica team combined, it needs to be one or the other, a Pacfic Islands team would do better set up in Auckland, Fiji or NZ rather than schlep them in with a png team... its actually not a good idea as we dont want to make teams based on race or allegiance (thats what internationals are for) its the reason I've said all along it would be better for this bid to be based in Cairns where there is no top flight presence, and fly in for half the home png games.
And create team that isn't bound by race but by geography, aussies and papuans working and playing together to strive for a common purpose to win footy games... far north qld has a population larger than what Townsville was in 1995 (113k) and they got a license.. theres even a rumoured stadium getting built in cairns for the world cup soccer to me its a no brainer, if the Australian government is footing the bill for better relations with PNG then their going to want it base it in aus.

I mean we all talk about the Dolphins being a team for the "Northern Corridor" and are based in redcliffe with the majority of home games at Suncorp... i see the same thing with this team, based in small town cairns, have 3-4 games there,
Fly in/fly out for the bulk of the Port Moresby games, security there would be more focused on a game day rather than having the whole squad live there, train there, bringing family to live there..
As long as the NRL don't call the team "Papua New Guinea" and stick with a generic term like "Northern" it can be a team for both areas regardless... PVL is going to want another QLD team anyways and this solves the northern pride and mackay cutters not having an affiliate nrl club,
(Cutters can swap with the hunters to be aligned with the dolphins)

Wb1234

18 million people where league is the national sport

juniors basically infinite

sellouts every week

craps all over a plastic club like Perth

any issues about the bid are soleveable

MugaB

18 million people where league is the national sport

juniors basically infinite

sellouts every week

craps all over a plastic club like Perth

any issues about the bid are soleveable
Perth wont be plastic, no way PVL give perth a license without some history
1908 bears seems to be a working solution

And png working class have money, so its not going to be the dire outcome, i just don't think theyll be able to attract enough outside talent to be a premeirship threat, theyll have a great side, but without a few key signings they won't be able to match it with the best, and those key signings they won't want to live in a 3rd world country

Gobsmacked

Its all about how passionate you are about it, you cannot beat the papuans for passion, hell if the govt funds them, they could very well be based on the central coast and fifo in for PNG games, (ala the warriors during covid)

I reckon its a bad idea to have it be a PNG and Pacifica team combined, it needs to be one or the other, a Pacfic Islands team would do better set up in Auckland, Fiji or NZ rather than schlep them in with a png team... its actually not a good idea as we dont want to make teams based on race or allegiance (thats what internationals are for) its the reason I've said all along it would be better for this bid to be based in Cairns where there is no top flight presence, and fly in for half the home png games.
And create team that isn't bound by race but by geography, aussies and papuans working and playing together to strive for a common purpose to win footy games... far north qld has a population larger than what Townsville was in 1995 (113k) and they got a license.. theres even a rumoured stadium getting built in cairns for the world cup soccer to me its a no brainer, if the Australian government is footing the bill for better relations with PNG then their going to want it base it in aus.

I mean we all talk about the Dolphins being a team for the "Northern Corridor" and are based in redcliffe with the majority of home games at Suncorp... i see the same thing with this team, based in small town cairns, have 3-4 games there,
Fly in/fly out for the bulk of the Port Moresby games, security there would be more focused on a game day rather than having the whole squad live there, train there, bringing family to live there..
As long as the NRL don't call the team "Papua New Guinea" and stick with a generic term like "Northern" it can be a team for both areas regardless... PVL is going to want another QLD team anyways and this solves the northern pride and mackay cutters not having an affiliate nrl club,
Call them the ( Northern Alliance)

Marlins

I think we’re passed the days of wider spread geographically names like North Queensland, Northern etc.
it’ll be about the Mascot name, hell there’s even the possibility we might get The Bears playing out of Perth. Y’all know this V’Landys Ball

17th The Dolphins - Brisbane/Redcliffe
18th The Hunters - Cairns/Port Moresby
19th The Bears - Perth/NSO lol
20th The Orcas - Wellington/Christchurch

The Penguin #6.

I`m sorry mate, I can see you`ve put a lot of thought into this, but it`s crazy stuff.
If the Hunters are getting 10k to Qld Cup games let`s leave them there. The N.S.W. and Qld Cups are perfect vehicles for these P.I. and P,N,G, teams for the moment, and yes keep developing them, big time, they are a great source of players as we expand our competition.
We don`t need to be tacking those countries teams on to basically Aussie or Kiwi based bids, their turn will come, Rome wasn`t built in a day.
I`m sorry mate, but I`m definitely a wrap up our home metros first kinda guy.

mongoose

Cairns support the Cowboys mate, you really need to drop this idea already, it's not going to happen

Colk

Cairns support the Cowboys mate, you really need to drop this idea already, it's not going to happen

I would have said that 6 months ago but I’m starting to think a Pacific side will happen now. I think there’s plenty of smoke with them and Perth and they might say if governments (federal and WA) want to throw money at this thing, we’ll put both in.

I know it’s News Limited but if twenty sides happen it might be Pasifika, Perth, NZ 2/Brisbane 3.

Pippen94

I would have said that 6 months ago but I’m starting to think a Pacific side will happen now. I think there’s plenty of smoke with them and Perth and they might say if governments (federal and WA) want to throw money at this thing, we’ll put both in.

I know it’s News Limited but if twenty sides happen it might be Pasifika, Perth, NZ 2/Brisbane 3.

Perth with pasifika & nz2 makes no sense. Just increases travel costs. That's why Perth won't happen

Pippen94

"North Sydney chiefs are open to merger talks with the Pasifika consortium to bring the Bears back to the top flight for the first time since 1999;"

hahahahahaha