Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Police recordings on Knights players

Pete Cash

After how long? This is the guy pleading for a team mate to take the fall, accepting responsibility my arse

He was responding to a dig about Joel Monaghan who did stand up and take it like a man so to speak. Todd Carney is a dickhead of the highest order and the Raiders were too soft on him but Monas did the right thing.

Rusty

Nothing like a Canberra supporter having a dig. I would rather A Johns drugs and all over that Monoghan fella and his sexual appetite for dogs.

After how long? This is the guy pleading for a team mate to take the fall, accepting responsibility my arse

as i said, when we punted him we sent a clear message to the players, the bullshit was over. We had put up with too much of it, Todd Carney was the straw that broke the camel's back.

the culture has changed since that time, and Monaghan is a perfect example, he did something wrong and like a man, he stood up, accepted full responsibility, and copped his punishment on the chin

Very few footballers involved in off field incidents can genuinely say they took full individual responsibility. Monaghan can, and i have the upmost respect for him and couldnt be prouder to have had him represent my club.

He didn't try and get someone to take the wrap, he didnt out the blokes who passed on the photo, he didnt blame them, he didnt attack the club, he didnt lash out at the NRL or the media for the over kill of the harmless prank, he didnt hide behind a phoney medical diagnosis, he didnt stay bitter and he didnt blame alcohol of claim its not really his go

he said he did a dumb thing, and he alone will face the consequences of his actions.
As said, very few players can genuinely claim to being man enough to own up to his actions, in fact i cant think of one off my head.

Cletus

the sacking of that clown was a very clear signal of a change of culture within our club. Others could do with said change. Yours included, thankfully for you it seems like thats exactly whats happening at the chooks

Steve Irwin was a cancer and had to be removed before he infected the rest of the club.

Alex28

Canberra has a history around drugs mate - they did the right thing and punted some, they didn't and retained others.

You really shouldn't be in here being high and mighty about your clubs record over any other in relation to drugs.

MrT

Yeah, comparing dropping a pill with armed robbery. That's sound logic.

I was talking about Gids and Aku you f**ken dunce; not the supplier.

Hopoate's that guy who got to win a premiership with his local NRL side isn't he? Don't think there are many Parramatta juniors who can say the same.

a lot more Parra juniors have won a GF than Manly juniors. Your club lives on Parra juniors

Steve Irwin was a cancer and had to be removed before he infected the rest of the club.

perhaps if steve irwin showed up to his physio or rehab appointments he might not have been so easy to sack... as it turns out he didnt take his rehab seriously and barely showed up to physio as he was too busy at pubs getting pissed and asking dickhead mates who have no regard for the law to drive him home.

Irwin was a cancer.

as for alex, every club is clean skinned on drugs compared to the knights. I cant think of any blokes who have been pinched with gear who have continued at the raiders... hell we served BK up on a platter to you blokes on the back of being pinched with E's

Bucket

In my view, players taking drugs on mad monday is a non event, yes they are illegal but tbh almost every player in all levels of rugby league have taken or have turned a blind eye to their mates taking recreational and/or performance enhancing drugs. What is the difference between some bloke having a pill of amphetamines before a game and having a supplement such as creatine, whatever is in no xplode/jack3d or even injecting themselves with testosterone a couple times a week? At the end of the day every man on every team has to line up against the next bloke and do the same thing week in week out....and in no way am I a supporter of drugs in society, I think they are a scourge on society but they are widespread and they are commonly used not only in rugby league but every wannabe who goes to their local gym trying to get big......they have existed since the beginning of time, why should they be labelled illegal?

he was pinched in 1999 and finished up in 2000. Same too with Kennedy
Who else ya got? Bulgarelli, who was sacked?

name em, the club has been pretty good on drugs
unlike newie who not only bred em, mcdougall, odavis, and bring them in, kafusi, kennedy but now apparently deal them

Alex28

You are kidding yourself if you think that the Raiders "moved on" Kennedy. You lost him, and you didn't really discipline him at the time.

Biased as always mate. Never disappoint us :)

bileduct

McDougall's steroid use is related to a medical condition and has since been approved by the NRL.

MSIH

a lot more Parra juniors have won a GF than Manly juniors. Your club lives on Parra juniors

That's nice. Still can't net you a Premiership though can it?

That's like being a massive nerd ripping on Hugh Hefner about having a bigger c**k. Doesn't mean shit if you can't use it.

Cletus

perhaps if steve irwin showed up to his physio or rehab appointments he might not have been so easy to sack... as it turns out he didnt take his rehab seriously and barely showed up to physio as he was too busy at pubs getting pissed and asking dickhead mates who have no regard for the law to drive him home.

Irwin was a cancer.

as for alex, every club is clean skinned on drugs compared to the knights. I cant think of any blokes who have been pinched with gear who have continued at the raiders... hell we served BK up on a platter to you blokes on the back of being pinched with E's

Yes Skeepe he just magically appeared with his ute when Carney fought the law. The Raiders bent over backwards to keep him even though he was a recidivist who was out of control. People in glass houses and all that. There's still a Newcastle scapegoat playing for you isn't there?

oh well at least we know why gidley makes all those rep teams....must organise a sick after game party

Kennedy had already signed with the Knights you dolt.

as said, we served him up on a platter, as i recall the club basically let him go, didnt really attempt to compete with the knights deal... strange behaviour given he had won our ROTY only 2 years prior