Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Prohibition

Unless the public is brainwashed into believing that what they have done is shameful.

I have no problems with what the players did as a group, team,corporation whatever.

As individuals, I see how they made poor decisions.

If the media is allowed to get its way, people will continue to think like you until one day, the public will only ever to get to see players through fences & talk via email.

KFC said:
You are an individual.

You don't represent a team or a code.

Millions of dollars are not in jeporday because of your behavior.

The only person you shame is yourself.

When professsional sportsmen do it, it has far reaching effects.

Thats exactly right idiot, WHEN PROFESSIONAL SPORTSMEN DO IT, not the alcohol, the sportsmen, like I said, alcohol may have spurred them on in the incident, but alcohol isnt to blame for the incident, so there is absolutely no f**king point in trying to take away peoples right to do as they please (within the law), you just said it yourself in a way.

KFC

Mate, as I mentioned in my opening post banning alcohol is draconian.

But alcohol has been the contributing factor in every NRL scandal.

If you don't believe that binge drinking is at the root of these incidents then I'm never gonna be able to convince you.

Many athletes make sacrifices to follow their dreams, surely giving away alcohol isn't that big a deal.

No its not a big deal.

The benefits would be ten fold for many other reasons.

However, we live in a society where we gather socially to talk & to root. The glue in that environemnt is alcohol.

I am still at a loss as to what these guys have done wrong.

I have heard one womans voice on all radio reports.
The happy yapper, important for a day.

ibeme

They just did a little bit on the Bulldogs on Ten news, regarding changes they've made since the dramas of last year.

Apparantly, they enforce their no alcohol curfew by breath testing the players the morning after.

Fair enough, alcohol played its part, but do you really believe it was to blame for this incident, or the bulldogs incident, its the idiots that take part in these acts that are to blame.

sunny

So if I were to come around tonight after a few drinks reefy, damage your bike, let off fire extinguishers and give you a bit of a grope while you were sleeping, you would have no problem with that?

Mate...if it is not one club it is another...when the hell are we going to start a new season without some player on the juice making an idiot of himself and causing trouble.

You can set team rules and have a player code of ethics etc but if a guy is too thick to understand the concept of "reponsibility" then these things will always happen.

:evil:

sunny said:
So if I were to come around tonight after a few drinks reefy, damage your bike, let off fire extinguishers and give you a bit of a grope while you were sleeping, you would have no problem with that?
Well if I was on the drink with you & invited you into my house & was running a mok with you, I wouldnt have much to say about it would I ?

TC

Pantherjim. said:
Bulldog-Power said:
are you trying to tell me that afl players dont drink at all, all season?

that cant be possible...

I can't confirm this, but this is what I've been told by friends who are A.F.L. fans.

Pantherjim.

Well, I'm sorry but your friends are wrong.

I had a couple of beers last Thursday with 2 mates who are members of the "leadership group" of an AFL side whose headquarters are located in Melbourne's inner eastern suburbs. (That leaves you 3 to guess from). It was on club premises, so I'd have to assume the club knows.... :roll:

Pantherjim.

VictorTheViking said:
Thats exactly right idiot, WHEN PROFESSIONAL SPORTSMEN DO IT, not the alcohol, the sportsmen, like I said, alcohol may have spurred them on in the incident, but alcohol isnt to blame for the incident, so there is absolutely no f***ing point in trying to take away peoples right to do as they please (within the law), you just said it yourself in a way.

Firstly I object to you or anyone referring to someone as an "idiot" for having an opinion, but that's another issue entirely.

You talk of rights as if these guys were just like you and me, out on the town on a Saturday night getting intoxicated for the sheer pleasure of it. In the end, no one giving a f*ck who we are or what we represent. But the single fact is that no one can seem to drive through your THICK SKULL is that these guys are PROFESSIONAL SPORTS PEOPLE not only representing their team and city 24 hours a day, 7 days a week (during the season) but also representing the great code of Rugby League. They are, officially AT WORK 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the season. And they have to adhere to a CODE OF CONDUCT. Do you binge drink while you're at work?? Does your employer allow you to be intoxicated while performing your professional duties??

I hardly think going without grog for 7 months of the year is going to be a catastrophic blow to their civil liberties, in any case, it's hardly going to hurt them.

Pantherjim.

Pantherjim.

TC said:
I had a couple of beers last Thursday with 2 mates who are members of the "leadership group" of an AFL side whose headquarters are located in Melbourne's inner eastern suburbs. (That leaves you 3 to guess from). It was on club premises, so I'd have to assume the club knows.... :roll:

I stand corrected.

However if a couple of trusted friends who were A.F.L. fanatics (one who has a famous former West Coast Eagle player as a cousin) told you that A.F.L. players have to obey a total abstinance of alcohol during the season as part of their code of conduct... what would you believe?

Unless you cross-check your friend's references? :roll:

Pantherjim.

KFC

Thank you Pantherjim for your understanding.

In today's SMH the young bloke who was sacked is quoted as saying,

"Dane Tilse admits he was drunk. If he'd been sober, the young rugby league star says, he wouldn't be in this trouble."

Now that by no means excuses his behavior put does prove that alcohol was a contributing factor.

And the fact that this kid attended a NRL rookie camp 2 weeks ago that addressed the treatment of woman, the use of alcohol and how to avoid potentially scandalous situations only goes to show how deeply rooted the binge drinking culture is in Rugby League.

Oh and in an article in the Telegraph, Andrew joins has called for an alcohol ban on all Knights away trips.

miketyson

blacktip-reefy said:
miketyson said:
If someone told me you could $250,000 a year to play football if you gave up booze I wouldn't even think twice.

They make ridiculous ammounts of money to play football , There not Policemen , Firemen , Doctors , Nurses Etc .. They don't put there life on the line when they go to work.

They should all pull there heads in.

So they are all on elite not money huh?
Geezus then thats the problem & probably why the Sharks have few problems.
See the majority of our players are on less than 80k before tax.
& yeah you are right, they dont put their lives on the line, as few have been killed.
they just put their health on the line.

80k a year to play football ..

My heart bleeds..

aids

players need to take salt peter for the duration of their contract, unless married.
then the players wives will have to escort them to a from the game.

Pierced Soul

KFC said:
Thank you Pantherjim for your understanding.

In today's SMH the young bloke who was sacked is quoted as saying,

"Dane Tilse admits he was drunk. If he'd been sober, the young rugby league star says, he wouldn't be in this trouble."

Now that by no means excuses his behavior put does prove that alcohol was a contributing factor.

yes it was a contributing factor but the guys not gonna say "i'm a moronic pervert who breaks into girls rooms and assaults them". of course he's gonna blame alcohol. Being irresponsible for ones' own actions is the way of the future....

alcohol lowers inhibitions, it doesnt make you do something you're not capable of doing sober.....

eelandia

It wasn't too long ago the Knights were having a swipe at Parra due to the fact that the players are sometimes breath tested at training - a few of them stated they couldn't play under such strict rules. This was mentioned post GF 2001.
Funny how comments can come back to bite you...
Brian Smith reasoned that this wasn't a ban on drinking but a ban on getting sh%tfaced and then turning up for training - totally reasonable I reckon.

Maybe the Knights will follow BS's lead after all..?

Briza

Millward called on to end the Knight-mare

23/2/2005

By Adam Lucius - The Manly Daily

HE'S shadowed the flamboyant son of Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi, chaperoned captains of industry and high-profile celebrities and dealt with some of the state's most notorious prisoners.

Now Sea Eagles minder and former jail officer Dave Millward is set to answer an SOS from the embattled Newcastle Knights following the latest scandal to rock rugby league.

The Knights want Millward to accompany them on road trips to avoid any repeat of the drunken rampage that followed a trial match in Bathurst on Saturday night.

Rookie Dane Tilse was sacked and 12 players fined after they stormed through a student dormitory at Charles Sturt University.

Millward's company, Safehand Security, was con tacted by Newcastle prop and players' representative Clint Newton yesterday and asked to provide protection for Knights players at away games.

Manly have encountered no off-field problems since employing Millward 12 months ago.

``All my guys have been around jail environments for 14-20 years and know how to nip these sorts of debacles in the bud,'' Millward said.

``If it was Manly all these guys would have been back in their rooms at 3am and that would have been the end of it.

``Manly will remain my number one priority but we're definitely keen to help Newcastle out. This incident shouldn't have taken place and wouldn't have taken place if we'd been involved.''

Looking after a football team will be a change of pace for Millward following 15 days in Sydney with Al-Saadi Gaddafi, ``trillionaire'' son of the Libyan leader.