Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Qld soo side

Bretto

mcguire for lillyman, ash graham for yoh yeh, cherry-evans for locky [cronk to start], gillett for parker, and dave taylor misses out. my 4 changes from game 3 last year

And while we're making shit changes, why not bring in Matt Bowen for Billy Slater and we'll grab Dale Shearer out of retirement to cover John Thurston's spot.

Turn it up mate.

Petero should get his jumper, even if it's only for the first game. He'll stand up big time come Origin. Brent Tate for Yow Yeh. DCE can play for Manly for another year - his defence is not SOO level yet. Gillett for the utility role. Dave Taylor on the bench and it's a toss up between Parker or Harrison for lock. Either will do a job, but Parker is probably more offensively dangerous with more tools in his belt than Harrison.

andrew057

Yeah McGuire is very close. Will be the next prop picked if any of Civo, Scott, Hannant or Shillo are injured.

Fieldsguy

Is fieldsguy Ash Graham in disguise?
Can anyone picture Qld losing the series on the back of Darius Boyd and then thinking afterwards 'gees we would have won if only we'd picked Ash Graham'
Fair dinkum

I sincerely hope this post does not come back to haunt you, or Queensland for that matter.

Fieldsguy

The comment I made in the other thread was purely based on Corey Parkers outstanding form last year and so far this year.

I don't think Ash Graham's form is in the same league....do you?

If another winger was out there that DEMANDED selection, then you might have a case.
Well lets see how crybaby goes in origin, IF he is picked. Btw have you see him play for Ncstle this year or are you just trolling for argument sake?

Fieldsguy

I don't think Ash Graham's form is in the same league....do you?

If another winger was out there that DEMANDED selection, then you might have a case.
10 tries from 10 games and the competition leading try scorer and his actual position is winger, I would say THAT demands selection, wouldn't you?

Hmmm?

Safe under the high ball, punishing in defence etc etc

lockyno1

10 tries from 10 games and the competition leading try scorer and his actual position is winger, I would say THAT demands selection, wouldn't you?

Graham has probably let in just as many as he has scored, he is still woeful in defence. Boyd is just as good as a finisher (and my dead dog can score a try on the Cowboys wing after Thurston passes it). Boyd is also back in form tonight and he will be there. Tate or O'Neil on the wing.

lockyno1

McGuire will be in the squad on standby for Scott Id say.

Hannant first, and it is going to be difficult to see which 3 out of Civo, Scott (lock), Shillington, Hanant, Lillyman, Kasiano, McGuire they take for the series. It is really a position we have a stack of depth, Scott gets injured we don't lose a lot.

Fieldsguy

Graham has probably let in just as many as he has scored, he is still woeful in defence. Boyd is just as good as a finisher (and my dead dog can score a try on the Cowboys wing after Thurston passes it). Boyd is also back in form tonight and he will be there. Tate or O'Neil on the wing.
Boyd is in form? How did you work that one out?

He made one, yes 1 break and now the crybaby is in form? Your fu%ken kidding aren't you?

Watch the highlights on fox sports and have a look at the very last try scored, rather than attack the ball and dive on it he pussied it out and allowed it to be kicked, and got kicked in the ass in the process.

He has no courage or ticker, it would be a disgraceful embarressment if he were to ever wear the Maroon jersey again, he has never deserved it or earned it.

Big Pete

Interesting series for Qld.

We've been flaunting their incumbency for plenty of series now, I wonder if it could bite us on the ass this year? Boyd's playing worse than Kidley ever did, Thaiday has a busted rib, Civo is showing his age, both Scott & Shillo are limited by their injuries, Harrison has been a scrub for years & Taylor has been hanging around BM too much. Throw in the possibility of DCE playing the invaluable position of sideline supporter & I reckon we could be giving NSW some handy free kicks.

Lockyer is an underrated loss too. It seems that people automatically assume Cronk will comfortably take over from Locky despite being ordinary in the 2010 4Ns Final, 2012 ANZAC Test & Prelim against the Warriors (I'm sensing a pattern). This isn't 2008 anymore, we don't have Price, Folau or a fitter version of Tate to call on. More importantly, we're not facing a side banking on a 19 year old halfback, Anasta or the Storm bums who were flattered by the foursome.

Qld should still have the edge. Smith & JT are right up there as two of the best Origin players of all time, Inglis & Slater are close by & we still have a ton of class players but I don't believe it's going to be as simple as previous seasons. Not unless NSW somehow f**k up again.

andrew057

Id say your dreaming.

Whys that?

Hannant, Shillington, Petero and Scott are more than likely to be the 4 props selected.

Scott has shown in the past two weeks hes not over the foot injury that kept him out for a month earlier this season. Hes been hobbling around the field.

McGuire is next in line and I can see Mal bringing him in the camp for the experience at the very least, even if theres only a small chance Scott will miss out.

andrew057

Hannant first, and it is going to be difficult to see which 3 out of Civo, Scott (lock), Shillington, Hanant, Lillyman, Kasiano, McGuire they take for the series. It is really a position we have a stack of depth, Scott gets injured we don't lose a lot.

They will take 4.

Fieldsguy

Interesting series for Qld.

We've been flaunting their incumbency for plenty of series now, I wonder if it could bite us on the ass this year? Boyd's playing worse than Kidley ever did
100 percent correct, I am all for loyalty but keeping Boyd there is nothing more than a joke, especially considering his last 12 months of football.

Ash Graham deserves to be there and last night Tate showed he still has what it takes.

It seems that people automatically assume Cronk will comfortably take over from Locky despite being ordinary in the 2010 4Ns Final, 2012 ANZAC Test & Prelim against the Warriors (I'm sensing a pattern)
I agree, I would not pick Cronk to start, I would blood DCE in Origin while we are 6 in front with less pressure and have Cronk on the bench. This also takes Cronks age into account, Blood DCE now and we can have a stable halfback for the next 10 years or more.

Cronk elected to stay at Melbourne for less money because I think he would be found out in a lesser team, and while the cronkathon in the media and sheep Queensland supporters continues he slips into the side, but he is yet to be tested.

I have never seen him do anything outstanding, yes he is solid and I hope he goes well, but imo it is a mistake to pick him and DCE should be there with Cronk off of the bench.

Mr Fourex

Boyd is in form? How did you work that one out?

He made one, yes 1 break and now the crybaby is in form? Your fu%ken kidding aren't you?

Watch the highlights on fox sports and have a look at the very last try scored, rather than attack the ball and dive on it he pussied it out and allowed it to be kicked, and got kicked in the ass in the process.

He has no courage or ticker, it would be a disgraceful embarressment if he were to ever wear the Maroon jersey again, he has never deserved it or earned it.

Perhaps you need to start watching the whole game instead of just the "highlight" packages. You really don't get to see the complete performance by only watching "highlight" packages. Might also help you to stop making a fool of yourself.

Boyd was good last night.

Fieldsguy

Perhaps you need to start watching the whole game instead of just the "highlight" packages. You really don't get to see the complete performance by only watching "highlight" packages. Might also help you to stop making a fool of yourself.

Boyd was good last night.
Boyd was "good"? :lol:

You mean he actually did something that is expected of him each and every week, once in the first half right....

Did you see the last try where he clumsly threw his arms out and failed to dive on the ball from the kick? Did you see the forward passes, have you watched him this year at all?

I think you have been drinking far to many fourexs if you think Boyd is deserved of SOO selection, hell even Knights supporters or the majority thereof admit he has been crap.

Wake up you tosser.