Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R2 v Dolphins.

kit66

Oh well, back to the drawing board next week. Maybe we could start with our two best props on the park, you know, basic shit.

The worst thing will be all the "I told you so"'s. There's already some Sharkie fan trolling us on this thread with laughing emojis, mind you he had to scrounge back thru 21 pages to page 2 to get me, that's a bit desperate.

One thing we can rely on is for the Dragons to mostly keep us all grounded with free lessons on keeping in touch with reality. I now take my disappointments in my stride, water off a Dragons fans back.

Edit, I didn't read everyone's posts about the game, too depressing but I probably agree with you all, we suck etc and I offer my condolences. See yas next week.

Mitty266

We didn't turn up, simple as that. Too busy believing their own bullshit after last week.

Getting this part out of the way: No we wouldn't have won, but refereeing was a joke. Dolphins got away with a heap in the ruck, crowding the play the ball, sticking their legs in the ruck to slow it down, walking backwards through the ruck and at times literally sitting on our players to get to marker, then they're offside every play. It makes it really hard to get any momentum. Plus the bunker.. just wow. blow it up.

Kyle Flanagan and Ben Hunt, hang your heads in shame. Both must have had a bet about who could throw the worst hospital pass. No depth, no organisation, heaps of crash plays to players in traffic. Terrible.

Michael Molo... wow I don't know how this guy gets picked. Surely some can see what I'm getting at with him, he just is not good enough. Lawrie likewise, heavily overrated by large portions of the fan base. Tries hard, that's it. Completely ineffective player.

Ravalawa.. horrendous.

Such a demoralising display. I thought that game was really important for our season, we just can't afford to drop games that are winnable for us, and then to lose it in that fashion... I know it's only round 2 but we needed that two points. To drop those points and now also go into negative for and against.. that's basically lights out for our year. Might sound dramatic, but there's only select teams in this comp our squad is capable of beating, and we need to beat them all.. we just lost to one of them. Really disappointing to see signs of such mental weakness and resolve again.
The amount of hospital passes that were offloaded. F* me sideways.

carltonsouth79

We didn't turn up, simple as that. Too busy believing their own bullshit after last week.

Getting this part out of the way: No we wouldn't have won, but refereeing was a joke. Dolphins got away with a heap in the ruck, crowding the play the ball, sticking their legs in the ruck to slow it down, walking backwards through the ruck and at times literally sitting on our players to get to marker, then they're offside every play. It makes it really hard to get any momentum. Plus the bunker.. just wow. blow it up.

Kyle Flanagan and Ben Hunt, hang your heads in shame. Both must have had a bet about who could throw the worst hospital pass. No depth, no organisation, heaps of crash plays to players in traffic. Terrible.

Michael Molo... wow I don't know how this guy gets picked. Surely some can see what I'm getting at with him, he just is not good enough. Lawrie likewise, heavily overrated by large portions of the fan base. Tries hard, that's it. Completely ineffective player.

Ravalawa.. horrendous.

Such a demoralising display. I thought that game was really important for our season, we just can't afford to drop games that are winnable for us, and then to lose it in that fashion... I know it's only round 2 but we needed that two points. To drop those points and now also go into negative for and against.. that's basically lights out for our year. Might sound dramatic, but there's only select teams in this comp our squad is capable of beating, and we need to beat them all.. we just lost to one of them. Really disappointing to see signs of such mental weakness and resolve again.
Hard to disagree with much there although I think Hunt and Flanno jr had very little space to play as our forwards were smashed, no quick play the balls or effective off loads. I think Flanno‘s plan is a power game but we were shown up by speed and very poor defence around the ruck. The Cows will watch the video with interest. We will need a really fast start and some luck…

Wizardman

I was really disappointed to see that performance from your boys today. The intensity from the two trials and the first game were just not there for some reason. I think it was a mistake to play Luc today as he needs to earn it from his teammates who have obviously trained hard over the offseason.

If I was a Dragons fan, I would not hop off the bus yet. They have shown they can lift and play good, intense footy.....but there will be bumps along the way. Stick solid Dragons fans. You've shown FAR more promise than my Tigers (not that it is a high water mark to achieve).

I thought that they would put on a braver showing than that horror show . Still it is very early days so don’t go for your cut-throat razor just yet .

Just a thought- only a thought mind you , but I wonder what Mary is doing this season ? Perhaps we could get him to give Flanno a few pointers ? 🤔

thebigredv

If there's one kind-of positive from today's result it is that it is the kind of loss that there is no excuse for and no form of excuse can be made by players, coach or club. Nowhere to hide and no way to just sweep it under the carpet. Our weakness as a team out in the harsh light of day and no a response is needed.

This Year?

8jj500.jpg

dragonreddy

I went to the game and was sitting behind our posts 1st half ,so got a good look at the total lack of commitment.

Very hard to watch ,sorry but no one put in a decent effort other than Lomax .

Cant remember one line break, Sloan was terrible ,Rava should spend some time in reserve grade Hunt was deplorable and the list goes on.

Last week we looked like everyone knew their job on the field, which gave me hope for this year(for the first time in many years) ,after watching this shit tonight at the ground I don't know if I have ever been more despondent towards this team/club.

I don't know what the f**k went on this week ,but it was definitely destructive.

You guys looked like you really missed a certain heavily tattooed ex half/hooker tonight. I think its best for all involved if he is returned to Wollongong first thing tomorrow morning.
You’re a funny guy, Vic. We’ve suffered enough without sending him back to us. Looks like you and us will be fighting it out for the spoon once again. Normal viewing has resumed.

TheRev

The irony that Bud would be awesome #14 for us! But give him a chance to make it @7 first!

TheRev

I guess in some ways this gives Flanno some real data to look at.. I think we glossed over a few things last week when we were so dominant..

p.s. The whole 'humidity' excuse, honestly this is the coolest and most pleasant Brisbane has been in 5 months.. winter is in the air.. but yes there was some light rain which meant the ball would be slippery.. not that I saw us really drop any ball or slip over.. we were exhausted because they literally ran over us for 80 minutes.

Dragon David

I was really disappointed to see that performance from your boys today. The intensity from the two trials and the first game were just not there for some reason. I think it was a mistake to play Luc today as he needs to earn it from his teammates who have obviously trained hard over the offseason.

If I was a Dragons fan, I would not hop off the bus yet. They have shown they can lift and play good, intense footy.....but there will be bumps along the way. Stick solid Dragons fans. You've shown FAR more promise than my Tigers (not that it is a high water mark to achieve).
Both merged clubs have been dismal failures these past few years. The loss by the Dragons today has left me devastated to say the least. The way that we played today was in keeping with the poor efforts and results that we are familiar with.

To be beaten by 38 to nil shows that this season will be a very up and down one and that we could lose by plenty in many of the games against the highly fancied teams and be easy beats for 2024 with a bleak outlook for the years beyond. I just cannot see much joy emerging following this terrible loss.

dragonreddy

Let's hope in the coming weeks we can turn it around I couldnt stand listening to Hunt sooking again about wanting out....just sayin
Looks to me like they played their Grand Final last week and then just reverted back to the same old bad habits from the past few years.
It was actually astonishing to watch how bad they were compared to last week.