Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R4 // Knights 30-0 Sharks @ Hunter // Sun 3pm

Round 4 result: Knights vs Sharks

Nuffy

I thought the team did very well considering the circumstances, I would have understood totally if they had of imploded.

Forwards were excellent, going through, not round the sharks pack. Nice to see some selective offloads.

I thought Gids was better but needs to further simplify his game, not trying too much seems to wok better.

Clydesdale does seem a Bedsy clone, let's hope he ends up half as good.

All the backs were good, I thought Dobson did okay and Roberts was excellent. Our left side attack is so much better for Boyd's presence.

We lost the plot in the second half, we could have scored another 6-8 tries if the passes stuck. I thought the Sharks were ordinary at best but you can only play what's in front of you.

All the team contributed and did Alex proud on must have been a tough day for all.

Burns

One last thing, was that a bit of a surprisingly disappointing crowd?

Our crowds have been pretty meh for a while now. Really would have thought we would have got over 20k today.

I hope all of Boyd's critics can see how much he adds to our team

Boyd was our best on field I thought, he appeared everywhere and his contributions in our backline movements were immense.

Dave_

Yeah, I must admit I thought we'd get a better crowd. Nice weather, big occasion and desperately needing a win so what happened? They all say Sunday games are better for families but I reckon any game on a school/work arvo/night sucks and is a pain in the backside, especially for those who travel like myself.

Friday night and Saturday arvo/night games are the go for crowds I believe. Still, it's no excuse not to turn up to such a big occasion. I was there and had an awesome time in the beautifully shaded western stand.

Whats Doing

Korbin showed he deserves to be in the top grade and was tremendous off the bench.

Not sure why it has taken so long but hopefully it becomes more long term

Swarzey

Our crowds improved dramatically after we turned our season around last year. Once Mullen comes back and we start proving why we deserved our top 4 finish last year, I think our crowds will improve. I do also know plenty of people at Uni who tend to get caught up in the soccer and once that's done attend more Knights games. I'm not one to get caught up with crowds. The atmosphere at Hunter Stadium is generally awesome regardless of the timeslot and anything less than 16k is particularly different in attitude. But today, the atmosphere was just incredible. Couldn't care less about the figure.

Zoidberg

Good performance by the boys today. Plus great news on Alex's condition. Good day.

During the 9 coverage they said Mullo has said he could be back next week, if not definitely the week after. Can't wait.

aqua_duck

Good performance by the boys today. Plus great news on Alex's condition. Good day.

During the 9 coverage they said Mullo has said he could be back next week, if not definitely the week after. Can't wait.

Was a great day all round, NSW cup had a good win and NYC hit the half century for the 2nd week in a row.

aqua_duck

Abit off topic but I think Bennett made the right call with De Gois, bloke has turned into abit of a plodder IMO

Dave_

Abit off topic but I think Bennett made the right call with De Gois, bloke has turned into abit of a plodder IMO

Yeah it's strange, I always thought he did ok for us when he wasn't injured. Your right though, he doesn't offer alot these days. I thought Carney may be declining a little too but it doesn't help him when they have so many forwards out.

We of all fans should understand what the sharks fans are going through with all the injuries. Lewis, Tupou, Gallen, Robson, Ryan (maybe more) all out and Carney and Fifita just returning. Wow, that's a heap of quality on the sidelines. Still, better them then us.

I tried watching the livestream today, but had no sound at all during the first two minutes. It definitely wasn't anything on my end as the sound for the rabbits-raiders game worked.

Did you guys encounter that? I just figured it was channel 9 being a whore and making them disable the audio stream or something.
Mine was the same, I had to switch to a far less tasteful viewing experience. Sound didn't come on all game from what I could tell, although I stopped checking after half time.

Quite a few thoughts on the game.

- The Sharks defence was terrible.
- We targeted weaknesses in their defence very effectively.
- BJ is a monster, but still has errors in his game.
- Snowden was great today.
- We need that from Willie every week. Was fantastic. If he could be that every week, we'd be flying.
- Gids was much, much better. Shouldn't kick the football, but a much better performance from him all-round.
- Clydesdale also continues to impress.
- Tyrone is playing excellent football and continues to grow as a player. Hopefully we can keep him and Mullen together for years yet.
- Boyd is, as most of us knew already, the second most important player in our team right next to Mullo. Tremendous to have him back.
- Korbin Sims should be in first grade more often.

Our forward pack has a lot going for it when it fires up and plays to it's potential. I thought our whole pack was just fantastic and really worked together as a unit today. Seeing Willie fired up and ripping in is awesome... it needs to be more frequent if we want to be fair dinkum about the competition this year.

1qaz

Happy to see Rochow find form again. Ran excellent lines just like last season.
I knew he was due for a big game today. Him along with Gagai are two of Mckinnon's closest friends at the club.
Gagai also had a soild game today. Even though he was overshadowed by BJ, he staill ran the most meters out of both sides with 152m and made 18 tackles as well most out of any outside back on the park.

aqua_duck

Happy to see Rochow find form again. Ran excellent lines just like last season.
I knew he was due for a big game today. Him along with Gagai are two of Mckinnon's closest friends at the club.
Gagai also had a soild game today. Even though he was overshadowed by BJ, he staill ran the most meters out of both sides with 152m and made 18 tackles as well most out of any outside back on the park.

That left edge really benefitted from having Darius back today, having a player of his calibre running that box play just makes the defence abit more nervous and allows more space for Rochow, and BJ. When we get Mullen back I expect the right edge to be just as deadly as well with Mullos left to right long ball.

Frederick

Mine was the same, I had to switch to a far less tasteful viewing experience. Sound didn't come on all game from what I could tell, although I stopped checking after half time.

Sound came on at around the 53rd minute mark for me

Glad it wasn't just me.

Apparently the NRL have made it cost 60 euros to watch livestream ad-free as of this round. I reckon part of that would also include disabling the audio for the Sunday delayed game until it starts on tv (53 minutes in would have been at about 4pm)

Not sure of the conversion rate, but if paying the 60 euros means being able to watch League live with no ads then IMO it's worth it.

Boyd is a brilliant footballer. I rate him top 10 in the game for sheer ability and brains on field. A much more clever player than he gets credit for. The pass for Joey's first try was beautiful to watch. Shaped for a cutout to Macca but dropped it in Joey's hands with a soft offload. He gets a bad rap does Darius, but I honestly think he has grown up ten fold since coming to this club. The senior leadership role sits well with him. I feel once Mullo returns we can go a serious win streak.