Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

speedster

I agree with u smiths value after 2 years at the chooks has dropped dramaticaly barely worth 500k a season
It has dropped a fair bit plus he has a long term injury. My real point about the 300 is, that would be for half a season if he was valued at say, 600k. If it was 500k and we got him mid-year, then we would only have to account for 250k out of the 2025 salary cap. ;)

speedster

Apparently his girlfriend works local and he dosent want to move far, if we got him at the right price it makes sence for him to sign
I reckon Politis would only entertain releasing him to us if it was straight away so they can stop paying his wages while he is out until May or June and we have to pay more now. Any club looking at him would want to wait until mid-next year and have the Roosters continue paying him until then, at which point, Uncle Nick may decide to block his release if it were to sign with us. Wouldn't surprise me one bit.

Nick Politics.

BUT, deals can be done and if we are savvy enough, we could persuade the Roosters to pay a fair amount of his freight to leave earlier and get him off their books sooner and out of their hair (I suspect he isn't universally loved in the dressing room over there - he's a " love him or hate him" type but is the type Wayne loves as he has that Alfie cheekiness about him) while we should be able to get him on a significant discount because of his injury as far as what the NRL would accept as an appropriate salary - especially after they just accepted Ben Hunt's majorly reduced salary to join the Broncos.

Intriguing.

handyman2190

I reckon Politis would only entertain releasing him to us if it was straight away so they can stop paying his wages while he is out until May or June and we have to pay more now. Any club looking at him would want to wait until mid-next year and have the Roosters continue paying him until then, at which point, Uncle Nick may decide to block his release if it were to sign with us. Wouldn't surprise me one bit.

Nick Politics.

BUT, deals can be done and if we are savvy enough, we could persuade the Roosters to pay a fair amount of his freight to leave earlier and get him off their books sooner and out of their hair (I suspect he isn't universally loved in the dressing room over there - he's a " love him or hate him" type but is the type Wayne loves as he has that Alfie cheekiness about him) while we should be able to get him on a significant discount because of his injury as far as what the NRL would accept as an appropriate salary - especially after they just accepted Ben Hunt's majorly reduced salary to join the Broncos.

Intriguing.
Honestly, mamo is a substandard hooker,we need better

Souths Till I Die

What I don't understand is why we would come to an agreement with the roosters. It seems very odd to me that they'd be so willing to let him come to Souths. I personally don't see Smith as a hooker and I think his best position is lock or a utility off the bench. I guess we could play Mamo/Humphreys for 40 and Smith for 40 but just seems strange already having Havili

handyman2190

What I don't understand is why we would come to an agreement with the roosters. It seems very odd to me that they'd be so willing to let him come to Souths. I personally don't see Smith as a hooker and I think his best position is lock or a utility off the bench. I guess we could play Mamo/Humphreys for 40 and Smith for 40 but just seems strange already having Havili
I dont think humphrys has come to play 9, he wants 7

handyman2190

Nick Politics.

Intriguing.
Mate politis would gladly move him on

speedster

Honestly, mamo is a substandard hooker,we need better
He's served his apprenticeship under Cook. He has never been given the chance to be our regular starting hooker. I say, lets give him a go.

Jeremy Marshall King was going nowhere until Wayne got his hands on him and now he's one of the best hookers in the game. Plenty called him crap until he came of age.

Magic dust can do wonders.

speedster

Even enemies make strange bedfellows when there are mutual interests at stake. The Roosters are currently paying big for a lame duck. Sure, if anyone other than us comes in with an offer, they will be preferred but, stranger things have happened. They want him off their books asap just as any other club doesn't want him on their books until he is fit and much less of the season remains.

ADAM_SMITH

IF this is true, somebody has to go.
Hopefully this won't be at the expense of Alex Johnston.....
i hope alex johnston goes after he breaks the record he no good now. his time is up, cant make emotional decisions have to make business decisions. just as merritt was dropped and johnston took his place. it appears the same will be happening with him.

HIstory repeats itself

BotanyBorn&Bred

i hope alex johnston goes after he breaks the record he no good now. his time is up, cant make emotional decisions have to make business decisions. just as merritt was dropped and johnston took his place. it appears the same will be happening with him.

HIstory repeats itself
Look I get what you are saying, I'd just like to see him break the record in Souths colours before he is let go.

handyman2190

HIstory repeats itself
Problem is i cant see a replacement, mellars is in the 30 but even his time in lower grades was vastly interupted with injury, in the new gear promos there is a dark fella with braides ,who looks good anyone know who he is?

speedster

Problem is i cant see a replacement, mellars is in the 30 but even his time in lower grades was vastly interupted with injury, in the new gear promos there is a dark fella with braides ,who looks good anyone know who he is?
This coming season is Mellars' big chance to prove himself. He has been injury prone previously but that doesn't mean he will continue to. If he can stay injury free for an extended period, especially in the preseason and show what he can do in the trials, he could find himself winning that spot to fill in for Johnston to start the season in 1st grade.

Similar for Fletcher. A decent run of matches early on and he could be sniffing around the fringes of selection for 1sts if injuries hit other backrowers. He could be anything if he can stay on the field and I'm sure Wayne will like the look of him as a new pet project of the future.

I’m frigging pumped mate anyone else feel like they’ve been boosted just the presence Wayne brings and all…… the aura he brings with him! Welcome back Wayne! I’ve heard quite a number of people say we won’t make the 8 good I say we will thrive off it and prove them all wrong! Together unbreakable shoulder to shoulder!

Look on our Twitter page so many photos the boys look in great spirits!

speedster

gallery item13

Truly a sight for sore eyes.

Steenson123

All this endless banter by all you Malakas. "Him out, him in at at a Discount because he is coming off surgery...." Blah blah, Malakas.
We now have a Legend taking over the football squad. Personally, I will allow him to make the choices and support his policies, even if some are a tad the wrong side [e.g, Roberts who I never wanted].
I believe Burt has returned here for one thing: to complete what we should have had in 2021, his third Championship at a different club, making Burt the undisputed Premier NRL Coach, probably for eternity. Mitchell's absence was critical in that close defeat and I note Burt has focused on making Mitchell dominant. The man noted how Mitchell turned that SOO series upside down, he simply is that good when focused.
In addition, much will depend on Campbell Graham, can he play again? Ditto Q for Tatola. Schuster too. As for the #9, Burt may go for Havili, and at least attempt to squeeze more out of Kelpie, Duncan, Fletcher and Moale. Burt has also imported several Qld Cup players, some of them may be factors.
With Salary Cap constraints we, like others, cannot simply import this guy or that. Most successful clubs in any code of football, develop from WITHIN and this is the area Burt should emphasize. He may have to employ his own personal scout who knows what what is required in terms of what type of player fits Coach's style or system.

Steenson123

I’m frigging pumped mate anyone else feel like they’ve been boosted just the presence Wayne brings and all…… the aura he brings with him! Welcome back Wayne! I’ve heard quite a number of people say we won’t make the 8 good I say we will thrive off it and prove them all wrong! Together unbreakable shoulder to shoulder!

Look on our Twitter page so many photos the boys look in great spirits!
Agreed 101%.
Despite Burt's advanced years we should recall that he had a second year expansion club in the Top 4 UNTIL he was forced to coach two sides simultaneously after Demetriou's dismissal. Yes we will experience some poor games BUT Burt knows that the base line is what counts. That means consistently winning and accumulating points. I believe Weighton will explode under Burt we saw glimpses mid-season of that but Weighton can become a Monster under Burt.

speedster

All this endless banter by all you Malakas. "Him out, him in at at a Discount because he is coming off surgery...." Blah blah, Malakas.
Mate, this is a rumours, signings and news thread. Talking about players coming and going is what this thread is supposed to be about. If you don't like it, you can try a different thread but leave us in peace and spare us the backhanding please.