Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

Souths Till I Die

Expect Lodge to sign shortly a 2 year deal.

I heard from a good source at Burrow reunion last weekend it’s a done deal.

Also expect Wayne and Dodd at training Monday

Lodge signing is great news. Even though we have a very athletic forward pack it will be good to have that 1 prop that grabs the ball and just hits it up straight up the middle. Most of our forwards are really athletic but they don't have that intimidation factor about them. I thought we actually got bullied out of a lot of games last year. I think lodge brings that with him to our forward pack and that's the signing we really needed to round off our pack.

I don't expect Schuster to feature in the early season which means Arrow might start on the edge with Aitken on the other. Unless Bennett wants to move Murray from the lock position to second row to preserve him as long as possible. However he configures the pack I'm a lot happier with Lodge in it. Keppie was a big disappointment for me last year and I hope Bennett can bring the best out of him as well.

speedster

Bateman a big fat NOOO.

I would take Smith in a heartbeat. His price should have dropped due to his form at roosters for a starting 9 i reckon we could get him at 600k but a condition would be to stop his podcast on Bye round and just concentrate on footy.

Lodge i would sign for a year to year basis.
That $600k will become $300k once we get to May and will keep going down each month until he is right to play. Thing is, we would still need to have $300k spare by that stage and probably won't. Unless a cheaper deal can be done for the remainder of this season and then the year after can make up for it - or something.

BradS

Looks
Paulo? Hahahahaha Where's he at now?
Farah? You mean the Tigers legend who was discarded like dunny paper by his own club, joined out club, went to preliminary finals, and then when let go ended up...where?
Nowhere?
Walker - what happened to him after winning a GF with us in 2014?

The rest were all pre- NRL and left because there was no enforcement of salary cap, and the NEWS LTD clubs exploited that, while we were kicked out of the comp.

Yeah, I want more examples, because you are embarrassing yourself. You haven't come up with one yet that "killed us"
like you just want to fight

no thanks

assess5

Lodge signing is great news. Even though we have a very athletic forward pack it will be good to have that 1 prop that grabs the ball and just hits it up straight up the middle. Most of our forwards are really athletic but they don't have that intimidation factor about them. I thought we actually got bullied out of a lot of games last year. I think lodge brings that with him to our forward pack and that's the signing we really needed to round off our pack.

I don't expect Schuster to feature in the early season which means Arrow might start on the edge with Aitken on the other. Unless Bennett wants to move Murray from the lock position to second row to preserve him as long as possible. However he configures the pack I'm a lot happier with Lodge in it. Keppie was a big disappointment for me last year and I hope Bennett can bring the best out of him as well.
Totally disagree.
Lodge is as slow as a wet week and scares absolutely no one
If Lodge has signed that is a big disappointment.
If he is so intimidating and such a great 'take it up the middle ' sort of guy, how come he gets moved on from every club that try's him?
The only thing good about him is he's gotta be real cheap.

Souths Till I Die

Totally disagree.
Lodge is as slow as a wet week and scares absolutely no one
If Lodge has signed that is a big disappointment.
If he is so intimidating and such a great 'take it up the middle ' sort of guy, how come he gets moved on from every club that try's him?
The only thing good about him is he's gotta be real cheap.

That's okay your entitled to disagree but obviously Bennett and the recruitment team disagrees with you. It's not the fact that he gets moved on it's more the fact that he doesn't sign long term contracts. It's no coincidence that most of the teams he's played in for the past couple of years have made the top 8. The manly pack was pretty much non-existent when lodge and brown weren't playing for them.

Lodge is intimidating, he weighs around 110kg at playing weight which is absolutely ridiculous and when he runs he doesn't try to offload when he hits the line. He runs it hard, doesn't get put on his back like our smaller forwards and gets sets moving up the middle. You can't just have smaller athletic props it doesn't work. Penrith had JFH and Leota destroy teams and we could potentially have Lodge and Tatola carting it up the middle next year.

ADAM_SMITH

reading on another forum.

There saying Brendan Smith is all but certain to sign with Souths.

Apparantly Roosters and Souths have come to an agreement. Just need Brandon to come to an agreement.

He has stated that he still wants to live in the Eastern Suburbs with his gf/wife wel encompased with the East now.

I think we do desperatly need a hooker now with Cook gone.

BotanyBorn&Bred

Apparantly Roosters and Souths have come to an agreement. Just need Brandon to come to an agreement.

He has stated that he still wants to live in the Eastern Suburbs with his gf/wife wel encompased with the East now.

IF this is true, somebody has to go.
Hopefully this won't be at the expense of Alex Johnston.....

assess5

That's okay your entitled to disagree but obviously Bennett and the recruitment team disagrees with you. It's not the fact that he gets moved on it's more the fact that he doesn't sign long term contracts. It's no coincidence that most of the teams he's played in for the past couple of years have made the top 8. The manly pack was pretty much non-existent when lodge and brown weren't playing for them.

Lodge is intimidating, he weighs around 110kg at playing weight which is absolutely ridiculous and when he runs he doesn't try to offload when he hits the line. He runs it hard, doesn't get put on his back like our smaller forwards and gets sets moving up the middle. You can't just have smaller athletic props it doesn't work. Penrith had JFH and Leota destroy teams and we could potentially have Lodge and Tatola carting it up the middle next year.
Thanks so much for allowing me my opinion.

I don't think he runs hard, I think he trundles forward, in keeping with Souths 'go slow' all across the paddock.
Maybe, at the pace he moves and 'he doesn't get put on his back' he should 'try to offload'. I disagree with 'gets sets moving up the middle' mostly I see him staggering to his feet as he is not the speediest guy going around.

I guess we will just have to wait and see - unfortunately.

speedster

Thanks so much for allowing me my opinion.

I don't think he runs hard, I think he trundles forward, in keeping with Souths 'go slow' all across the paddock.
Maybe, at the pace he moves and 'he doesn't get put on his back' he should 'try to offload'. I disagree with 'gets sets moving up the middle' mostly I see him staggering to his feet as he is not the speediest guy going around.

I guess we will just have to wait and see - unfortunately.
Lets also remember that Lodge has had a lot of injuries in recent seasons that has taken a lot of recovery, especially coming back from a knee reco after doing an ACL. He was down on speed and power last season as a result of the recovery particularly for big fellas like him but next season, we should expect his strength and speed to have fully returned if he can remain injury free for a longer stint this time.

I agree he's not an absolute gun but he's better than what he showed when he was on the ACL recovery trail. And he's better than Liam Knight who is the other option that has been floated as an interest of Wayne who does make Lodge look like a world beater.

speedster

Bateman is a waste of money and worth 300 a season we need to find young up and comers,but as ive said many times we dont have scouts watching lower grades
If you were responding to my post where I mentioned 300k in reply to AS, I was referring to Smith, not Bateman, just to clarify. If you were not referencing my post, then jolly good. Carry on and have a nice day.

p.s. agree Bateman is now a waste of money.

speedster

Are they saying it would happen now/soon while he's still out injured long term or will Souths wait until he is fit and there is much less of the NRL calendar year remaining which means we pay a much smaller percentage of his salary?

If you don't know, that's okay. Just wondering if they specified?

speedster

One issue with Smith on the field, for mine, is his smallish motor where he doesn't seem to play enough minutes for mine. Pretty much half a game. But that is likely due to going hard while he's on although he seemed to coast a fair bit at the Roosters unlike at the Storm where he was 100 mph the whole time he was on. Okay, he's not an 80 minute hooker meaning you need to carry a dh sub on your bench which we will anyway from now on with Mamo but I think Smith needs to become at least a 60-65 minute player when he has recovered to get the most out of him if he is to reach his best again.

handyman2190

If you were responding to my post where I mentioned 300k in reply to AS, I was referring to Smith, not Bateman, just to clarify. If you were not referencing my post, then jolly good. Carry on and have a nice day.

p.s. agree Bateman is now a waste of money.
I agree with u smiths value after 2 years at the chooks has dropped dramaticaly barely worth 500k a season

handyman2190

Are they saying it would happen now/soon while he's still out injured long term or will Souths wait until he is fit and there is much less of the NRL calendar year remaining which means we pay a much smaller percentage of his salary?

If you don't know, that's okay. Just wondering if they specified?
Apparently his girlfriend works local and he dosent want to move far, if we got him at the right price it makes sence for him to sign