Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs Rumors, Signings and News

From another Souths forum

“Cam’s nearly back to training at full tilt, did everything the team did today. Looks to be sheltering the wrist still slightly on contact but am guessing he’s giving it every chance to be perfect. Looks to be aiming at round 1 for sure.

Cody had no strapping today, wouldn’t be surprised if he’s aiming at round 1 as well, was working super hard on the bike.”

Mightn’t have said before but impressed with Jamie Humphries every single session I see him in, he’s a real talker and leader in that sense, like Jack it just seems to come naturally, constantly boosting guys, constantly keeping others aware on what’s required next in the drill etc

Some, have noticed over the last few weeks he’s been playing more of a 14 role, joins in everywhere he’s needed. Mamouzelos seems to have won the 9 jumper and deservedly so, training hard and cheeky. Some of Pete’s competitive battles with Tallis today had me laughing, they’re at each other throats heaps but all in the right spirit. The amount of times I heard Sutto yell at Pete to shut up”

Love this. I can just picture Sutto yelling "Shut up!"

speedster

Budarus was a half coming though the grades
Yep and quite a few others. Isaac started out in the halves before we played him at hooker when he came over from Canterbury lower grades. Cook played a number of positions including fullback and in the halves before settling at hooker. Craig Wing repped in both positions. I think Cam Smith was a half to start out with also in his lower grade days.

Current day - Jeremy Marshall-King certainly was, Ben Hunt we all know about who excels at both still, Connor Watson can play both well, Croker at Manly started as a pivot with Canberra, Paix and Walters at Brisbane are converted halves, Hands at Parra, Crossland at Newie, and there's probably quite a few I've missed.

But yeah.

Eric the great

Yep and quite a few others. Isaac started out in the halves before we played him at hooker when he came over from Canterbury lower grades. Cook played a number of positions including fullback and in the halves before settling at hooker. Craig Wing repped in both positions. I think Cam Smith was a half to start out with also in his lower grade days.

Current day - Jeremy Marshall-King certainly was, Ben Hunt we all know about who excels at both still, Connor Watson can play both well, Croker at Manly started as a pivot with Canberra, Paix and Walters at Brisbane are converted halves, Hands at Parra, Crossland at Newie, and there's probably quite a few I've missed.

But yeah.
Yep your right so we can save money on smith and just convert one of our half’s to hooker I’m all for it

speedster

Yep your right so we can save money on smith and just convert one of our half’s to hooker I’m all for it
Mate, if either of our 2 hooker prospects kill in the 1st half of the season, then absolutely! I'd love for one or both of them to shoot the lights out and not need Smith.

As long as we are winning footy matches is all I care about. As long as players are not axe murderers or rapists, then I don't need to be in like with them to want them signed.

Cam Muarry to be fit for season opener!!!!!!
Campbell Graham has said he will be fit and ready to go also.

Cody Walker racing the clock been out with a calf injury since January, should come good in about 6 weeks time to season opener.

So does that mean we will have close to our best 17 bar Tatola & Aitken???

1. Mitchell
2. Munroe
3. Graham
4. Wighton
5. Tass
6. Walker
7. Dodd
8. Moale
9. Dudzelous
10. Keppie
11. KK
12. Fletcher
13. Muarry

14. Duncan
15. Jai Arrow (based on what solly said about Middles bench prop)
16. Haivil
17. Hubner (based on all reports training the house down)

Its fully adam many people know that dudley mamouzelous is a nsw cup hooker except for simple solly + simple fellow ello ..

He has an outstanding technique’: The Rabbitoh who most impressed Graham Arnold​

Christian Nicolussi
SMH
Updated February 4, 2025 — 5.47pm

Former Socceroos coach Graham Arnold made a surprise cameo at South Sydney training on Tuesday, spending time working with the Rabbitohs’ goalkickers including Latrell Mitchell.

Arnold is good friends with Souths coach Wayne Bennett, and was only too happy to accept an invite from the supercoach to give his feedback.

The 61-year-old Australian soccer legend worked with half a dozen NRL clubs 20 years ago, including Wests Tigers trio Benji Marshall, Brett Hodgson and Pat Richards, Penrith’s Ryan Girdler, St George Illawarra’s Ben Hornby – now a Souths assistant – and Manly’s Ben Walker. Arnold was also flown to Brisbane by Bennett to work with Darren Lockyer.

Though footballs and rugby league balls are different shapes, Arnold said the kicking principles remained the same.

“I met with Wayne last week, and he asked me to come down and look at their goalkickers, and I was only too happy to help,” Arnold told this masthead. “It was just nice to be back out on the field. It’s what I miss about football coaching. That’s something I really want to get back into.

“But I enjoyed the morning at Souths. I’ll probably head down there again next week. If I can help them, that’s great. The balls are different, but the most important thing is your mindset, and being able to nail a kick – be it a penalty in football, or a goal in rugby league – in front of thousands of fans.”

Wayne Bennett and Graham Arnold at South Sydney training on Tuesday.

Wayne Bennett and Graham Arnold at South Sydney training on Tuesday.Credit: Michael Pantaleone/South Sydney Rabbitohs

In one drill at Heffron Park, Arnold made several players line up a kick from the corner post and aim at the upright.

While Arnold said Richards had the biggest kick he had seen, he was also impressed by the power generated by Mitchell’s left foot.

“He has an outstanding technique,” Arnold said. “But I believe he has the quality and ability to get his goalkicking percentages to 80 per cent or above.”

Mitchell has kicked 159 from 216 goal attempts during his five seasons at Souths for a strike rate of 73.6 per cent. Jamie Humphreys, Matt Humphries and Isaiah Tass also spent about an hour working with Arnold.

The former Socceroos coach says he is ready for a return to football coaching.

The former Socceroos coach says he is ready for a return to football coaching.Credit: Michael Pantaleone/South Sydney Rabbitohs

Damien Cook and Dean Hawkins shared the goalkicking for Souths in the final game of last season, but are no longer at the club, while Fletcher Myers also helped with the important job.

Arnold resigned as Socceroos coach last September, but is keen to return to his real love “after a good break. I’m ready to get back into it”.

speedster

I really liked what I saw from Latrell kicking in general play last year too putting up some booming kicks and gaining great height and length on them. Wighton too to a lesser extent. Should have happened much sooner. It was a breath of fresh air after the ordinary long kicking game of Ilias and Hawkins.

With Dodd there, I hope to see an improved kicking game, which wouldn't be hard, but even if he goes well with the boot, I still hope to see Latrell's booming boot utilised also. Some of his bombs were Burton-like and could not be taken by the poor opposing fullback.

Tbh I’m not surprised at this looks like Brent Read was wrong.

Rabbitohs captain Cameron Murray has been cleared to play by his surgeon but is still suffering pain in his wrist and doesn’t want to rush back too early and risk any set backs. Cam told Christian Nicolussi from the Sydney Morning Herald -

“I still don’t know if I’ll play. I really want to. As much as I want to be out there, the smart thing would be to not rush it, and not re-injure or re-damage anything in there because my rehab has already been a slow process, and I don’t want to go through it again. I’ll work hard and try to do everything I can, but it’s a case of wait and see.”

#BunniesTV

My round 1 pack

Moale
Mamouzelos
Keppie
Keaon
Duncan
Arrow

Humphreys
Havili
Hubner
Fletcher/Le Blanc

This would be the pack if Murray, Tatola, Aitken, Schuster and Shaq are unavailable.

Hmmm Host might be fit by then but I want him left right out.

Cameron Murray has revealed he is still more than a week away from being able to complete full contact sessions at training following off-season wrist surgery.

As teammate Cody Walker said he was optimistic about his own chances of returning from a calf injury in time for Souths’ opening match against the Dolphins, Murray revealed it was touch and go whether he would play in round one.

Murray played a Test against New Zealand with a broken wrist last October, and only stopped training with a protective guard over his left wrist late last week.

There have been conflicting reports about Murray’s availability for round one, but the Rabbitohs skipper admitted he had plenty still to do over the next month to take the field – even though he said Wayne Bennett would leave the final decision up to him.

“I saw the surgeon [Stuart Myers] late last week, and he gave me the green light to play in round one if I was OK, so I’m working towards that,” Murray told this masthead on Tuesday.

“To be fair, it’s been a pretty conservative approach up until now. I really haven’t done much, and I’ve still got a lot to tick off before round one. We’ve only got a bit over four weeks.

“I still don’t know if I’ll play. I really want to. As much as I want to be out there, the smart thing would be to not rush it, and not re-injure or re-damage anything in there because my rehab has already been a slow process, and I don’t want to go through it again. I’ll work hard and try to do everything I can, but it’s a case of wait and see.”

Murray injured his wrist during the captain’s run before Australia’s Test against New Zealand in the Pacific Championships. He went to grab Kangaroos’ teammate Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow but “felt a sharp pain in my wrist”.

Murray did not think much of the injury at the time, assuming it was ligament damage that he could treat with a painkiller before kick-off. He got through the game, but scans the next day confirmed he had ruptured the scapholunate ligament.

Cody Walker is upbeat about playing in round one.

Questions were asked at the time about how Murray was allowed to take the field for Australia, but the forward said he had been determined to play.

“I wanted to play and if anybody had told me I couldn’t, I would have pushed hard to play anyway,” Murray said. “It was nobody’s fault except mine. I love playing with those guys, I love representing the Australian jersey, so I wanted to be there.”

Murray said his surgeon had suggested he wait a fortnight, which will be the end of next week, to start full contact training.

But it’s pretty sore to be honest, and if you were to ask me now, I think starting contact when he told me to start is probably unlikely. It will be touch and go,” Murray said.

Souths open their campaign on the road against Bennett’s former club the Dolphins, then have an eight-day turnaround before facing St George Illawarra in Wollongong.

Campbell Graham is another player racing the clock after picking up a hand injury at training, but the news is more upbeat about five-eighth Walker.

“Without any hiccups over the next few weeks, I should be OK for round one,” Walker said. “I’m positive, I’m pretty certain I’ll play. I’ve just got to tick some boxes before then

Walker said it was unlikely he will be available for any of the pre-season trials, but took umbrage at suggestions he was not prioritising the Indigenous All Stars. The All Stars game will be played on Saturday week.

“As everyone knows, I always put my hand up to participate in those games, it’s important to me and my family,” Walker said.

“To see some reports come out that I withdrew, that is not true. I’m unavailable due to injury. Hopefully, I can be part of the week and help out where I can.”

Bennett spent two years at NRL expansion club the Dolphins, but took Souths to the preliminary final in 2019 and 2020, and all the way to the grand final in 2021.

Murray said the only thing that had changed with the supercoach was “he’s more hungry to win”.

The last time he was here, we weren’t far off [winning the premiership],” Murray said. “He’s a man of character, he stands for what he believes in, he’s a great role model, and cares about you.

“He has an extremely simple but effective approach with everything he does. I don’t think there are any traits that I’ve seen in any other coach that he doesn’t have that helps players and teams get better.”

Murray said his surgeon had suggested he wait a fortnight, which will be the end of next week, to start full contact training.

But it’s pretty sore to be honest, and if you were to ask me now, I think starting contact when he told me to start is probably unlikely. It will be touch and go,” Murray said.