Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Race lines up NRL's quick men

boxa777

Kevin Gordon or Uate would be the fastest over 100m I think.

Uate is not as quick as it is being portrayed. He got run down last week..

On a track, over 100m, Jennings will eat this no issue.

Also, Jarryd Hayne and Matt Duffie are stayers and would do well.

Dazraider

Dugan wouldnt make it in that race he is way too slow(going back to original post).
fastest player i believe would be Bowen

Fibroman

who was quicker...whearet or oudenryn?

Whearet would have won over the 100. He ran in a few pro sprint races including the Botany Bay Gift. From memory he was running in the mid 10's as opposed to high 10's for Oudenryn.

I could have given both of them a run if I didn't discover the joys of beer, KFC and loose women at a relatively young age.

Fibroman

If any of you hacks ever watch the top sprinters in action, you will see that generally a race is decided at about the 60m mark anyway. Momentum keeps them going for the last 40 metres.

I would have my cash on Jennings.

andrew057

Uate is not as quick as it is being portrayed. He got run down last week..

On a track, over 100m, Jennings will eat this no issue.

Also, Jarryd Hayne and Matt Duffie are stayers and would do well.

Because he had the ball in his hands. Every player gets run down eventually mate.

Dazraider

Bowen not even close after his knee surgery. Couldnt catch Todd Carney the other week.

he has just got back into full sprints i hear so will take a while to coem good but once he comes good he is definately up there, so many times he has the ball and no one can catch him and he has made plenty of 100mtr runs.
can chase anyone down with a huge start as well.

Canard

Shane Tronc or going back a few Jason Smith in his final years at the Raiders/Cowboys, stunning pace.

I reckon I could jog backwards holding a boiling cup of cofee full to the brim, and evade both of these and without spilling any of it.

Didgi

I doubt the fastest would be any of the real superstars like Hayne or Slater.

aqua_duck

Uate was running sub 11 sec over 100m as a teenager (was 3rd in Australia for his age when he was 15). I'd say running straight over 100m he'd be right up there

he has just got back into full sprints i hear so will take a while to coem good but once he comes good he is definately up there, so many times he has the ball and no one can catch him and he has made plenty of 100mtr runs.

i remember an Origin game where Mini made a break down the left and was running at maximum capacity, Bowen basically jogged over to him and was easily on the other side of the field. But then again.. Mini isn't noted for his pure speed

andrew057

Unfortunately a lot of people come back a yard or two slower after serious knee injuries. Not to mention Bowen whos had serious injuries to both knees in the past two years.

aqua_duck

if you listen to newcastle fans they would have the fastest player in each position....
not really, the only knights players who'd be up there for their respective positions would be Uate and Mullen, and before he got done Wicks would've been right up there for a prop (just ask Sam Perrett and the rest of his rooster mates)

Kiki

omgz i so want to see this. Kevin Gordon is insanely fast, i reckon he could give it a good shake

i can never figure out if Brett Morris is really fast or it's just his insanely long legs that make him look like he's flying. thoughts?

Rodent

Race lines up NRL's quick men

ADRIAN PROSZENKO

May 16, 2010
http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/race-lines-up-nrls-quick-men-20100515-v5eu.html

The last Eel involved in a match race took the spoils - winger Lee Oudenryn famously beat Martin ''Chariots'' Offiah at Parramatta Stadium during Great Britain's tour of Australia in 1992.
It's been the only event of its kind since Norths and Manly speedster Mike Cleary defeated Ken Irvine in a photo finish in front of 10,000 fans at the Wentworth Park Greyhound Complex in 1964. Cleary posted a time of 9.7 seconds on a damp grass track to pick up the £1000 purse.

Not true. Slippery Steve Morris (father of twins Brett and Josh) was the fastest player in the comp in the early 80's and he had a match race at Wentworth Park vs Steve Mortimer. Slippery blew him away that night and it's good to see his twin sons have inherited the old man's speed. They must have got their size from their mum as Slippery was pint sized.

The Engineers Room

omgz i so want to see this. Kevin Gordon is insanely fast, i reckon he could give it a good shake

i can never figure out if Brett Morris is really fast or it's just his insanely long legs that make him look like he's flying. thoughts?

He is fast but n a track race it all goes out the window. I would say that over 100 he isn't the fastest.

Keysee

Matt Duffie at the Storm looks incredibly quick in his first few games. He also is a junior high-jumper, maybe the long legs make him look quicker than he is.

oldmancraigy

He is fast but n a track race it all goes out the window. I would say that over 100 he isn't the fastest.

Yeah - on a track with spikes and starting technique things are very different to running on grass with footy boots.

Morris is insanely quick on the footy field, but how that translates to a 100m sprint is another thing altogether.

The good news is that Morris should be available since it'll be run during the second last weekend of the year. Dragons should've choked out of the finals by then? (just stirring the pot)

Should be a fun event to watch though - whoever is in it.