Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

BrotherJim05

If Moses is honestly asking for 800k then he needs to find another club. It pains me because I have a feeling that if he left some other club would be able to turn him into a superstar.

If we do keep him for 800k then whoever signs off on that amount needs to be shown the door immediately.

BrotherJim05

Apparently Ben Matulino is on the new coach's radar, and talk of a player swap with the Bulldogs,captains!

As in we are planning on swapping Woods for James Graham????

Woods is one of my favourite players, and I hope he stays at Tigers for the rest of his career.....but James Graham is in my opinion the best prop in the world. Then Matt Scott, then Woods.

Tiger Woody

Getting a bit sick of Hillbilly on that NRL360...He's very poor in front of a camera.....
Think we need a captain more along the lines of Graham or Elija Taylor....
All he does after tries is stand there dumbfounded behind posts spitting out water from a water bottle...
He can go if Matalino and Graham are on our radar....

No other club in their right mind would pay $800k a season for our halves,my advice to the WT would be to tell them if they can get it elsewhere then take it because you guys aren't worth it.

Ron's_Mate

Manly Sea Eagles recruit Taniela Paseka the biggest thing to hit the NRL
Adrian Proszenko
Published: April 1, 2017 - 4:55PM

Taniela Paseka is the biggest thing to hit the NRL in years.

Paseka – all 200 centimetres of him – is the brother of a Silver Ferns netball star, has been compared to Jason Taumalolo and was named Wests Tigers' National Youth Competition player of the year in a side that included $1.3 million whiz kid Moses Suli.

In a major coup, Manly have just acquired Paseka after he was granted a release from his Tigers contract. The 19-year-old made his debut for the Sea Eagles in the NYC on Friday, just hours after his mid-season switch was rubber-stamped by NRL headquarters.

Rival recruiters were stunned the Tigers parted ways with Paseka, one declaring: "He reminds me of a young Jason Taumalolo – he's untackleable."

The two-metre, 119-kilogram prop is expected to push for a first-grade debut with the Sea Eagles in the coming months.

"It all happened pretty quickly, I'm looking forward to a fresh start and a new opportunity," Paseka said.

"I want to play first grade, that's my goal for this year. I want to debut and play consistent footy."

Paseka isn't the only talented athlete in the family. His sister, Malia Vaka was a regular for the New Zealand national netball side before taking maternity leave.

"She has inspired me and pushed me to do my best," he said. "She was a role model as well to me. She was really switched on and focused to turn professional."

Paseka is a towering presence. The under-20s Blues representative, who is also hoping to represent Tonga in the upcoming Pacific Test and World Cup, can recall just one occasion where he wasn't the biggest human on a football field.

"No, I haven't played against anyone bigger," he said. "I played with a boy who was bigger than me in SG Ball, he was a big boy.

"It helps being tall. The movement is something I need to work on because I've got a big body and you have all these little guys running around. It does help with the contact and the attack."

In a bid to improve his mobility and tackling technique, Paseka has been doing extra wrestling sessions at the same Smeaton Grange gym as Australian UFC star Robert Whittaker.

"I've done some stuff with Rob Whittaker and the coaches out there, it has been really helpful," he said.

Paseka is good friends with Suli, the pair often travelling to training together. Watching Suli make his NRL debut in round one has given Paseka confidence he will soon be able to do likewise.

"Growing up with Moses Suli, I believed he was going to make it," Paseka said.

"He's so talented; everything he's done is so amazing. When he debuted I wanted to debut as well. It opens up what is possible, you don't know when you can debut."

The All Saints Liverpool junior was juggling his footy with factory work last year, unsure whether he was capable of making the grade. His selection for the junior Blues gave him the confidence that he could.

"I didn't really believe in myself, I was just going through the motions," he said.

"I played the game really hard, they saw it and when I got picked I got shocked. I told my dad straight away and started to believe in myself. That was a big eye-opener for me, I didn't know what I was capable of before."

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...est-thing-to-hit-the-nrl-20170401-gvbkf4.html

Ron's_Mate

Fate to bring Ivan Cleary and David Nofoaluma together at Wests Tigers
Adrian Proszenko
Published: April 1, 2017 - 12:16PM

David Nofoaluma was given the chance to play under Ivan Cleary a few years ago and knocked it back.

But it appears inevitable the pair will come together at Wests Tigers as the club prepares to announce Cleary as the replacement for sacked coach Jason Taylor.

Interim coach Andrew Webster will remain in charge for Sunday's clash with St George Illawarra, although Cleary could be in the coach's box next weekend against North Queensland.

While most of the focus has been on the negotiations with the club's "big four" stars, Aaron Woods, Mitchell Moses, Luke Brooks and James Tedesco, there are other Tigers players mulling their futures.

One of them is the off-contract Nofoaluma. The winger was pursued by Penrith several seasons ago when Cleary was their coach. Cleary didn't get his man, but they built up a rapport that was strengthened when the pair again crossed paths in 2015 for the season-ending Prime Minister's XIII game when Nofoaluma scored two tries in the Australian side's victory over Papua New Guinea.

"The first time I met him was about four years ago when I came off contract then," Nofoaluma said. "I was going in to see the Penrith facilities, what it was like. With that you meet the coach.

"He was at Penrith and I met him there because I was in talks with them. He seemed like a good guy.

"The next time I met him was the Australian Prime Minister's squad at the end of 2015. He coached me there and while it was only a short period of time, the time I had with him was good.

"A few years have gone past and he could very well be my coach."

Nofoaluma said it was his preference to stay put but he had to consider offers from other clubs. The 23-year-old said the appointment of the coach wouldn't have a great bearing on his decision.

"It comes down to what the board want to do," said Nofoaluma, who is being pursued by several clubs, including Parramatta.

"They obviously sacked JT for a reason and that's not on me or the players, that's up to the board. I'm sure they will pick who they think is the right man for the job."

Another Tigers three-quarter, Michael Chee Kam, didn't wait to see what impact Cleary would have before committing to the club. Chee Kam re-signed until the end of 2019 after starting the season in first grade.

"I've really enjoyed my time at this club so it's great to be able to stay here," Chee Kam said. "It's great to have that security sorted now so I can just concentrate fully on my footy."

In moving quickly to resolve the coaching issue, Tigers powerbrokers hope they can expedite negotiations with the big four.

Tigers chief executive Justin Pascoe has declared he would impose a deadline to prevent the saga from dragging on, a move that will allow the club to go into the open market should the quartet decide their futures lie elsewhere. The quartet have indicated they won't be rushed into a decision.

When Cleary gets the job, he will have a big say on recruitment and retention. The Tigers have snared Gold Coast forward Chris McQueen on a three-year deal but a number of other spots on their roster remain open from 2018.

The joint-venture outfit will be without Brooks against the Dragons due to the hamstring injury he suffered against Melbourne, with Jack Littlejohn drafted in as his replacement. Centre Jamal Idris has been recalled for the ANZ Stadium encounter after making his return from injury from the NSW Cup last weekend.

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...together-at-wests-tigers-20170401-gv8efg.html

Ron's_Mate

The decision that sealed Jason Taylor's fate
Danny Weidler
Published: April 1, 2017 - 7:09PM

Wests Tigers "big four" of Aaron Woods, James Tedesco, Mitchell Moses and Luke Brooks deny they were behind the sudden departure of coach Jason Taylor. The club cleared them of any push against Taylor, but what has been bubbling away is talk about the impact the so-called "football whisperer" had on the demise of Taylor.

In case you don't know, Joe Wehbe is a self-proclaimed life guru, the man who clears the minds of Tedesco, Moses, Brooks and Woods. Tedesco credited Wehbe with his rise from injury-plagued potential superstar to State of Origin. Wehbe is also something of a guiding light for Isaac Moses, the manager of the Tigers' four.

A few weeks back, things were looking great for the Tigers: they beat Souths in the first round and behind the scenes a six-figure contract was being negotiated for Wehbe to come on board and make his "whispering" role club-wide. It was a deal to keep the players happy and to keep the club's unofficial boss, Moses, in line. But then things started to go sour. Anthony Carbone was added to team Wehbe. Carbone is a massage expert who is favoured by Jarryd Hayne.

The Tigers dug their heels in at the addition of Carbone, and the deal with Wehbe was scuttled as a result. From that moment on it has gone south for the Tigers. The players were upset that "their man" was on the outer and their displays dived.

I asked Mitchell Moses about the work he was doing on the mental side of his game and, without mentioning Wehbe, he said: "I missed out on that [the mental coaching] for the first couple of weeks and I think you could tell from the footy I was playing. I was in my head too much and overthinking and overplaying my hand. The last couple [of games], I've got that back a bit."

But that was too late for Taylor. His chances of hanging on to his job went with the decision to stand firm over Wehbe.

And here is where the Wehbe story gets even more interesting: don't expect Tigers coach-in-waiting Ivan Cleary to welcome Wehbe on a fat salary. If the players have a desire to see Wehbe for any mind management, they will have to do it off their own bat.

When Isaac Moses was asked about the potential return of Wehbe, he said: "It's up to the board and the CEO. If he [chief executive Justin Pascoe] thinks he [Wehbe] is good he can bring him back. It's up to him. He's made the decisions the last couple of weeks, so it's completely up to him."

Cleary is a strong individual who won't be dictated to by the playing group. Or a manager. Or a mind expert. Or anyone in the media.

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ealed-jason-taylors-fate-20170401-gvbmkb.html

I am so close to just saying "fu#k these idiots off."

If Cleary comes in I hope he grabs this team by the balls and squeezes. All this head games crap is making us look like total tools....geezus this team is hard to support.

The players are really hard to support. They are pampered spoilt brats.

Tiger Ted

The players are really hard to support. They are pampered spoilt brats.
These f**kwits r devoid of greymatter.The dickhead puppeteer Isaac would b privately laughing his head off @ the ease with which he can manipulate these eggheads !

It's quite ironical that the fraudster Wehbe is supposedly clearing the minds of the mindless !!

We must take a leaf out of Nick politis's book & not have any players in our roster who r managed by the toxic prick Isaac !!!

Tiger Ted

Have the chooks really banned this guy as a player manager?

I LOVE the concept.
Yep apparently they have & im not surprised with the shrewd Politis & the helm.He doesn't tolerate DICKHEAD swindlers like Isaac.Its y the roosters r so successful.

Compare the level of footy smarts @ the roosters to the dimwit illiterates @ WT !

The only thing about not talking to that manager is that supposedly the Roosters offered Moses big money last year.

It's quite ironical that the fraudster Wehbe is supposedly clearing the minds of the mindless !!

I love this line.

These players are so dumb. All this guy is doing is frauding them out of money and making them look like knobs. I bet he puts them into dumb financial plans that lose them a fortune as well. I'd put money on it.

Tiger Woody

Fraudsters all over the shop at Tigers.
Geez we have had some peahearts in management here over last 5 so years.
Humpty Dumpty,Meyer,Moss(the guy with the big reputation) from Penrith.
Now we have spineless Pascualoe.......who is responsible for these idiots.?
Get rid of GO as well.

....THIS....AFTER Cleary is named coach(if ever)
Pascualoe.......heres a tip son.....Give these "4" so called stars a wage we are willing to pay them.....what they are worth in other words.
If they say NO.....Tell them offer is off the table,go elsewhere...Dont stuff us supporters around.

We could do with a captain with some brains as well....Not a Deliverence Hillbilly who lives in a 2040 cabin with his "missus and dog".

wittyfan

Some ordinary shade thrown about by Weedler.

No wonder performances have deteriorated so quicky with Taylor depriving players access to their mental coaching from someone the players regard highly and trust.

Hopefully Cleary won't be so stupid!

Tiger Ted

No wonder performances have deteriorated so quicky with Taylor depriving players access to their mental coaching from someone the players regard highly and trust.

Poor brain dead snowflakes who is going to show them how to do there bootlaces or how to hold a fork @ dinner time etc !!

Witlessfan hopefully next season u will b posting ur drivel on another clubs forum the club where ur love child the over-rated wanka moses will b playing at !!

Tiger Woody

Mitchell Moses - The Sexiest Man in the NRL?????
That must be when he doesnt have his pimples happening..And that poor attempt at a beard?

Moses, Brooks, Tedesco - Origin 2017
1 out of three is not too bad....And his name starts with a "T" Wittman.

Tiger Woody

Poor brain dead snowflakes who is going to show them how to do there bootlaces or how to hold a fork @ dinner time etc !!

Witlessfan hopefully next season u will b posting ur drivel on another clubs forum the club where ur love child the over-rated wanka moses will b playing at !!

Hillbilly uses his hands mate...Whats a fork?
Just wants to "play good footy" and have "a feed" with his "missus" and his dog "watchin telly."
Did the guru teach him all that?