Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

BrotherJim05

Moses dilema is that he has three options:
a. take the $600k (or whatever it is) for 2017 and then have to re-negotiate 2018 and beyond. If his form doesn't improve he could be left in limbo
b. take a reduced contract but be locked up until 2019 (or whatever). If his form improves then he could be in a pickle but if not then at least he won't be under as much pressure.
c. leave for another club. If he gets anywhere close to $600k a year then good on him, I wish him all the best but glad it is not $600k of our money.

Ron's_Mate

Robbie Farah says Nathan Peats entitled to dig his heels in at Parramatta Eels Adrian Proszenko
Published: May 11, 2016 - 5:00PM

A superstar hooker, on a lucrative contract, being forced out of a club he loves to fix a mess not of his making.
Robbie Farah knows better than anyone else what Nathan Peats is going through. Which is why the Wests Tigers rake believes Peats has every right to dig his heels in and see out his time in blue and gold.
"At the end of the day he's got a contract, he doesn't have to anywhere if he doesn't want to," Farah said. "I was in a similar situation last year. He's got a contract, and he has to do what's best for himself. But I feel really sorry for him to be placed in this position, because there will be a lot of pressure on him to leave so they can start playing for points.
"That's not his fault. They went and signed four or five recruits in the off-season - they were big recruits - when they were over the cap before that even happened. I follow Gus [Phil Gould] on Twitter, and he made a good point when he said, 'the players who should go are the players they signed last', not the ones who have been there years. I think that's a valid point."
Peats has been put in the invidious position of being asked to leave for the good of the club as Parramatta attempts to squeeze under the salary cap before Friday night's clash against South Sydney. The Eels dummy half has no desire to leave but has been targeted because he is on a deal rich enough to ensure his transfer, most likely to the Gold Coast, will provide the cap breathing space required.
Farah had been given a similar ultimatum by Wests Tigers because he was on the best part of $2 million over the final two years of his deal. The NSW vice-captain refused to budge and said Peats shouldn't be be subjected to a guilt trip to pay the price for the actions of others.
"No player should be placed in that position, that's why I feel sorry for him," he said. "Unfortunately that's what has happened. I can't imagine what he is going through. You've heard him speak about his passion for the club and how much he loves it there. It's a bloody tough one, and I just hope everything works out for him and his young family.
"Whether he has to move another state, it's a massive move, you have to pick up your family and go, and to leave a place you're happy at when you don't want to leave, I feel bloody sorry for him. [His teammates] can't feel dirty at him. You'd feel dirty with the people who have put them in that situation. That's not Peatsy's fault. I would have thought he's the last player they've be trying to get rid of."
The Eels recruited Kieran Foran, Beau Scott, Michael Jennings, Michael Gordon and Clint Gutherson despite the club overspending on its salary cap for five of the past six years. Asked if rival players were questioning how the Eels could legally accommodate so many stars, Farah said: "I did, only because didn't they got fined last year for being over the cap.
"As a player it's only natural, and you get a bit envious, too. You think, 'I wish we'd signed those sorts of players'. You wonder how they do it. But I guess now we know."
The similarities between the Peats and Farah situations don't end there. They also share the same manager, who is trying to reach an outcome before the Souths clash. "He's done the right thing by the club for the amount of time he's been there, he's been one of their best players every time, and he's been placed in this situation through no fault of his own," Farah said of Peats.
Farah has a mortgage on the Blues No.9 jersey but Peats is the man most likely to take his place if the Tigers rake is unavailable. Asked what advice he would give Peats, Farah said: "Do what you think is right. I was in a similar situation, whole time I knew I had done nothing wrong and well within my right to stay here. If he feels the same way, back yourself and do what you think is right."

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ls-in-at-parramatta-eels-20160511-gosnca.html

The thing with the salary cap is that everything is good until the cheaters get caught out...now what's that saying,if it look like a duck,waddles like a duck,quacks like a duck than most likely it's a duck say applies for the salary cap cheaters .

Salary Cap is a great scheme if implemented properly. Sadly though the cap which worked great through the mid 90's has been tweaked and changed so much that it's like using a torn tissue as a condom.

Wasn't the salary cap initially put in place to protect clubs from themselves,in theory it does serve a purpose, as clubs have shown that they will spend past their financial means and worry about the consequences later.

here's part of a piece I wrote today:

If we look back since the NRL began in 1998, we can see that there have been over 100 separate instances of the salary cap having been breached, big and small. So far the NRL has collected almost $8 million in fines since 1998.

The Bulldogs punishment was for breaches made from 2000-2002. In 2000, the NRL had handed the club a $50,000 fine for exceeding the cap. This raises the question: how did the auditors not see a problem then?

When Melbourne was busted in 2010 for breaches made since 2006 it shocked everyone. But Melbourne had received fines for breaching the cap in 2006 ($63,266), 2007 ($13,917) and 2009 ($15,000). Auditors had three opportunities there, yet still failed to find anything odd. It took a whistle-blower to reveal the scheme.

Now Parramatta has been done for breaches dating back to 2013. Not surprisingly, they had been found to have majorly breached the 2014 salary cap in an audit the following year, which saw the club fined $465,000, while there was strong talk they’d start the 2016 season with negative four competition points.

Parramatta was forced to make changes to the way the club was governed to appease the NRL. It’s laughable that the governance of the Parramatta club which the NRL was happy with is now being held responsible for the major breaches the club has made since 2013.

Every club has received fines for all forms of cap breaches since 1998, such as second-tier cap breaches, unregistered players and exceeding the top tier cap, among others.

There have been just five seasons since 1998 where a team hasn’t been intentionally cheating the cap in an intricate and excessive manner. Canterbury’s scheme was for 2000-2002, Melbourne’s for 2006-10 and Parramatta’s from 2013-16, each more intricate than the last

It’s time to fix the salary cap, as it’s clearly riddled with loopholes. The auditing system and process needs a revamp, too. Teams will be less likely to cheat if they know the auditors can come at any time, more than once a year. Players get drug tested at no notice at all times of the day – there’s no reason why clubs shouldn’t be audited the same way.

http://commentaryboxsports.com/australian/nrl/salary-cap-needs-major-revamp.html

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/sta...s/news-story/688631e192e76ac9f4f5a31f93af5768

A surprising No7! You need to read the article to understand the selections. It will never get past toilet paper status I suspect though.

The 2016 NSW team by the stats:

1. Josh Dugan

2. Josh Mansour

3. James Roberts

4. Joseph Leilua

5. Tom Trbojevic

6. Adam Reynolds

7. Luke Brooks

8. Aaron Woods

9. Michael Ennis

10. Andrew Fifita

11. Bryce Cartwright

12. Greg Bird

13. Paul Gallen

Interchange

14. David Klemmer

15. Trent Merrin

16. James Tamou

17. Beau Scott

Ron's_Mate

Why Penrith Panthers coach Anthony Griffin let Elijah Taylor leave for Wests Tigers Michael Chammas
Published: May 14, 2016 - 9:00PM
EXCLUSIVE
Elijah Taylor was dumped to the NSW Cup after being told by new Penrith Panthers coach Anthony Griffin that he wasn't aggressive enough for first grade.
Before his expected debut for the Wests Tigers against Canterbury at ANZ Stadium on Sunday, Taylor has told Fairfax Media about the "frustrating" few months at the foot of the mountains.
Taylor was shunned from team training sessions for the final six weeks of his time at the club despite rejecting an offer to join the Sydney Roosters in round two in the hope of resurrecting his career at the Panthers.
At the start of the year Taylor was tipped to be announced as Penrith captain, but instead he has spent most of the season in NSW Cup before being granted a release to join the Wests Tigers this week.
Between Ivan Cleary's shock exit in the off-season and Anthony Griffin's arrival in November, Taylor's strengths had suddenly become weaknesses in the eyes of the new coach hell-bent on blooding the young talent out west.
Cleary was a huge fan of the ever-reliable former Kiwi international, but Griffin didn't see the off-contract back-rower as part of his plans and sent him back to NSW Cup to add some mongrel to his game.
"We had a plan to try and make me a better player, and part of that plan was to play reserve grade," Taylor told Fairfax Media.
"They wanted me to be more aggressive in defence. That's what I was working on. I'm not the one to go out to go out and put on a big shot or whack someone in a tackle. My strength is to consistently be there, wrestle and lead the line speed.
"I was working on it trying to be a bit more aggressive in defence and get more carries and hit-ups. I was working on that, but the whole time I was thinking about it.
"My playing style didn't suit at the end of the day. We also had some great young back-rowers coming through, and they deserve to be playing first grade. It was out of my control. I trained as hard as I could in the pre-season and did everything that was asked of me.
"But I realised I wasn't going to play first grade even though I thought I had done everything that was asked of me. I was a bit frustrated, but I'm not a person to get angry. I just wanted to play first grade again, so that's why I'm at the Tigers."
He might have been out of favour at Penrith, but the Sydney Roosters showed interest in the 26-year-old to try to lure him to Bondi immediately, but Taylor remained fixed on earning his spot back in the team.
While he managed a few games off the bench, it took Penrith's golden-point victory over Canberra at Bathurst for him to realise he no longer had a future at the club.
"To be honest, I could have left in round two," Taylor said.
"Not to [Tigers], but I could have taken up an option to go somewhere else. But I really believed in what we were doing at Penrith and where the team was heading. There's so much potential at the Panthers this year. We worked so hard together in the pre-season, so to leave early when the season had just kicked off, that would have felt like I was letting down the team in a way.
"Then I realised after that win against Canberra, the boys are going really well and that I wouldn't play first grade if I stayed there. The hardest part was when senior players were coming up to me asking, 'Why aren't you playing?' That got me frustrated. To hear the boys asking what's going on, that hurt. A lot of boys were confused."
It's no secret Taylor joined the Panthers to play under Cleary, who handed Taylor his NRL debut at the Warriors.
Which is why he was stunned when he found out the news two weeks after the coach was speared.
"I found out two weeks later because I was on holiday and there was no Wi-Fi and reception in the Cook Islands," Taylor said.
"I got back and saw all these texts and missed calls. The first day I found out I was confused and shocked, to be honest. But when we came for training it was business as usual."
This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...r-leave-for-wests-tigers-20160514-gov60n.html

I'd love to have a player who could put on a big hit but we really need someone who just wins the wrestle, doesn't get dominated and makes a lot of tackles.

I reckon Siro is our best defender when it comes to winning the wrestle. I think he is the only one who actually does that.

Clifferd

E.T is one of those Hindmarsh workhorse type players. Can make 40+ tackles a game, albeit not all effective/dominant tackles but will do the dirty work. I don't think we've had one of those players since Fulton/Gibbs

Hope he rips in today and shows the NRL what he's got to offer

Gee Tiger05, now I'm going to concentrate on watching Siro this afternoon to see him in the wrestle.

And I will watch the standout :lol: 9 coverage to hear, Johns rave above Brooks and Moses, Fittler talk about Siro and Lovett and how great they were last weekend. Rabbits say 'young Curtis' continuously.

Gee Tiger05, now I'm going to concentrate on watching Siro this afternoon to see him in the wrestle.

I reckon it's the best part of his game. At the same time sometimes he makes the wrong decision and leaves a gap. His attack has been ordinary and he really needs to do something there.

I want him to be a gun because it's desperately what we need. Unfortunately he isn't getting to the level that we require.

Tigerted

The fraudster siro hasn't got any redeeming quality to his game.He is a total waste of space.

Old time tiger ur so right re the deluded opinions of the commentators.The only f**kwits ignorant opinion missing would b Fulton & his outrageously inflated view of sironen based on his infatuation of his old man who at least could play.If only Curtis was half as good as his old man ! With a bit of luck Bayley will in future make up for the enormous disappointment his older brother has been.

Tigerted

Unfortunately tiger05 Tiger tragics like myself have to stop dreaming that most of these supposed "young guns" like our 6 & 7 siro & cherry who were going to set the league world on fire & make us a major force for years to come will never make it in the big league !!

We must finally learn to never pay Monopoly money based on potential which has zero substance ever again ! I'm fed up with this idiotically generous club being in the doldrums !

f**k I'm laughing at some of the comments on here. I'm one of those morons who keeps hoping these guys kick on.

sensesmaybenumbed

Wests Tigers ownership structure confirmed

Wests Tigers Media Release

Fri 27th May, 03:15PM
A A

Wests and Balmain have agreed an $8.5 million deal that will ensure the financial future of Wests Tigers.

The deal which determines Wests Tigers ownership and future contributions ensures Wests Tigers' long term viability.

The ownership structure sees Wests move to 75% ownership with Balmain retaining 25% and the Board expanded to nine directors. Balmain has two Board positions, Wests has five Board positions with the remaining two positions being filled by Independent Directors.

Wests and Balmain wish to express their thanks to Lucio Di Bartolomeo who has now stood down from the Wests Tigers Board.

Lucio’s contributions over the past 20 months have been exceptional.

Wests acknowledges Balmain's contribution to the joint venture since 2000 including their integrity in preserving their long history. Both Wests and Balmain are founding 1908 Clubs which, together, will continue to build a proud future for Wests Tigers.

Balmain acknowledges Wests Ashfield Leagues' role in securing the operational and financial viability of Wests Tigers over the past four years and for its generous offer to Balmain to secure its place as part of Wests Tigers in the NRL into the future.

The new arrangement brings the NRL’s involvement over the last two years in assisting Wests and Balmain to restructure Wests Tigers to a conclusion.

Both Clubs thank the NRL for its role in reaching this agreement.

The nine members of the new Wests Tigers Board are:

Marina Go (Chair), James Myatt, Simon Cook, Michael Liubinskas, Rick Wayde, Tony Andreacchio, Mike Bailey, Rosemary Sinclair and Danny Stapleton.

Source

Ron's_Mate

State of Origin 2016: Robbie Farah - I can forgive what Jason Taylor said to me - but I will never forget

Andrew Webster
Published: May 27, 2016 - 5:00PM
Last year, Jason Taylor told Robbie Farah he should find another club and if he didn't, he would be playing reserve grade.
See that over there, 200-game club legend? That's the door. Shut it behind you.
Farah didn't find another club. He hasn't played reserve grade. He's about to play State of Origin. All good? Sort of.
"It's fine," Farah says of his relationship with Taylor. "But will I forget the stuff he said to me? No. I'm not going to sit here and say I've forgotten everything that happened."
This week might be about Origin for Farah, just like it is for everyone else. But it's also about a Wests Tigers captain who was told by his coach he wasn't wanted. It's about an incumbent NSW hooker who faced the isolation and ignominy of playing reserve grade.
"From day one I knew I hadn't done anything wrong," he continues. "I wasn't getting sacked. If I chose to stay, come November 2 when pre-season started, I would train my butt off like I do every year, and we'd see who the best hooker was at the end of the summer. If I was going to play reserve grade, it wasn't my fault."
Would it have come to that? "You're asking the wrong bloke," Farah smiles.
While Taylor was telling anyone who would listen in August last year that he would pay rival clubs whatever they wanted to take Farah off his hands, Blues coach Laurie Daley was picking up the phone.
"Mate, you do what you think is right," he told his hooker. "If you want to stay, and he wants to pick you in reserve grade, you'll still be in my Origin side. That won't change my opinion."
Farah is one of the most confident players I've seen. Some mistake it for arrogance. Those closer to him understand he's a competitive little bugger who's never taken a backward step. But the events of last year shook him.
"People say stuff about me – I know not everyone likes me," the 32-year-old says. "People hate me, whatever it may be. Sometimes, when you do hear bad things about you, you second guess and doubt yourself and think there might be something in it. But to have Laurie support me, and have that opinion, it reassures me that I'm going all right. It was a reassurance I needed at a difficult time."
For all the syrupy tales we will hear in the coming days before the series opener at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday, State of Origin has deeper meaning for Farah.
Most rugby league players have deformed biceps from thousands of curls, but Farah's are disproportionate to the rest of his body. On the inside of his left bicep is a tattoo celebrating the Tigers' premiership in 2005. Inside the right is more ink celebrating the Blues' series win in 2014.
"The two best nights of my life," he says. "Origin has become such a big part of my life for many reasons. It's taken on massive significance, on a personal level, because of things that have happened with family, and I see this as one big family too. When I am here, it's like I'm home. This might get me in trouble but it outweighs playing for Australia – that's how important it is to me."

It goes back to game two in Sydney in 2012 when Farah made 63 tackles and missed one. He was the last player on the field after fulltime as he scoured the stands looking for his ill mum, Sonia.
She had been bravely hanging on as she fought off pancreatic cancer. Stadium officials had made special arrangements to accommodate her at the game but she never made it, and watched the game in hospital instead.
Farah begins to talk about her and his arms pop with goosebumps.
"When they told me afterwards I had made 63 tackles and Mum was 63 years old, it clicked that was going to be the last game she would ever watch me play," he says. "And I was right. She died three days later. The last game she ever saw me play was in this jumper. Since that day, wearing his jumper is above and beyond anything else in my career."
That's why game two of each Origin series holds so much significance, because it usually falls around the anniversary of his mum's death on June 17.
On the night of June 18, 2014, Farah was standing near halfway at ANZ Stadium as the clock wound down. Fullback Jarryd Hayne ran the ball over the dead-ball line as the Blues finally wrestled themselves out of the Queensland deathroll they had been trapped in for eight years. "I was a mess," Farah recalls. "I just broke down and cried."
More goosebumps.

"The night before, I knew we were going to win. I called a mate of mine and got his wife on the phone and said to her, 'When we win tomorrow night, he's partying with me for the next three days'."
That series win dissolved some of the criticism often levelled at Farah: that he overplays his hand, stifling the attack of whichever team he is playing for. NSW captain Paul Gallen suffers similar barbs. Do you overplay your hand?
"At times, yeah, definitely," Farah admits. "I've been guilty of trying too hard at times and that's because I want to win. I take it upon myself at times to drag us back into the game. Sometimes that can get you in trouble, but I'd rather be the person who tries too hard than the one who doesn't."
The emotion of that breakthrough series win was slowly gobbled up later that season by the sickness at the Tigers, who were struggling under coach Mick Potter. Off the field, it was crippled with debt and in-fighting between the Balmain and Western Suburbs factions that make up the joint venture.
With Potter under siege, Farah suddenly became the face of the scandal. He was accused of undermining his coach when he was actually gagged by then-chief executive, Grant Mayer, from supporting the coach publicly. In essence, he was thrown under the bus by his own club.
Farah learnt from that. When the excrement hit the fan last August when Taylor wanted him gone, he knew how to play it. "I learnt a lot the year before, where I shied away from talking," Farah says. "This one, I just faced it head on and dealt with it. I knew I had done nothing wrong."
Whether by design or not, he won the public battle with Taylor, who seemingly didn't consider the backlash from Tigers fans.
"I can't even start to tell you about the support I had: from my teammates, ex-teammates, staff, players from other clubs, just walking down the street and hearing it from fans from other clubs. People saying, 'We don't support the Tigers but what's being done to you is crap'. It felt like I wasn't just fighting a battle for myself, but fighting a battle for everyone else because everyone kind of felt like it was morally wrong what was happening."
In truth, he knew the shit storm was coming. He knew it from the moment he signed his last contract when he took a pay cut and back-ended the deal so he could fit into the Tigers' groaning salary cap.
"When I signed my contract to stay, I remember saying to my manager [Sam Ayoub] at the time, 'This will get me in trouble'. I was going to be 31, 32 on a back-ended deal. But that was the only way I could stay. Because of the cap, the only way to avoid leaving was to back-end the deal. It was always going to be a ticking time bomb."
In the end, it was just a smoke bomb. Farah stayed, handed the captaincy over to prop Aaron Woods, and suddenly footy was put firmly into perspective.

"Standing down from the captaincy is the best decision I've ever made. It just became such a burden at a club that's been struggling for a few years, and all the other dramas that have come along with it. I was at the face of everything that went wrong and people were coming to me for answers. I didn't know the answers.
"Footy became about so much more than footy. It wasn't about playing – it was about all the bullshit that came with it. It wore me down. I wasn't happy. I was taking my dramas from footy home and it was affecting my relationships with my family and friends. That's what all that does – it wears you down. You can't escape it, wherever you go. It got to a point last year where I thought, 'You know what? I don't need this anymore. I just want to play footy. Someone else can take the captaincy'. I've enjoyed relinquishing that position."

Then he laughs. "If someone asks me questions now I say, 'Go and ask Woodsy!' I'm a competitor and I love winning, but I don't wear the losses as hard as I used to. The boys will say I'm more relaxed at training. As a captain, I was an intense captain. People like that, some don't, that's just me."
Farah remains undecided about his future beyond next season. He is single and has no children, and the Super League in England is calling. Until then, he says he and Taylor can work together.
"I'm professional enough to move on and understand he's the coach and I'm still playing there and I respect that," Farah says. "People have been saying we haven't been talking but that's not the case. Our relationship now is probably better than what it was last year, to be honest. But I don't forget."

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-but-i-will-never-forget-20160527-gp3bed.html

Farah isn't exactly a likable character but Taylor handled that whole situation terribly. I just don't think it needed to be managed like that.

Ron's_Mate

Deal secures Balmain's future in Wests Tigers joint venture

Brad Walter
Published: May 27, 2016 - 4:51PM

Balmain's ongoing involvement in Wests Tigers has been secured after the finalisation of an $8.5 million deal giving control of the joint venture to Wests Magpies.
With Balmain unable to repay a $5.4 million loan to the NRL due on March 31, there had been fears about the future of the 1908 foundation club at the elite level of the game but the Tigers will now continue as 25 per cent partners in their merger with Wests.
Under the terms of the NRL licence agreement for Wests Tigers, the Magpies had the option of buying Balmain's 50 per cent stake in the joint venture but as revealed by Fairfax Media two months ago the clubs had a pact to help each other out if one got into financial difficulty.
As a result, Wests have increased their stake to 75 per cent and allowed Balmain to retain a 25 per cent share.
In return, the Magpies will appoint five directors to a nine-person board – meaning they now officially have control of Wests Tigers.
Balmain will appoint two directors and there will also be two independent directors on the new expanded board.
A statement issued by Wests Tigers to announce the deal had been concluded made reference to the pact between the two foundation clubs when they merged in 2000 to ensure their survival in the NRL.
"Wests acknowledges Balmain's contribution to the joint venture since 2000 including their integrity in preserving their long history," the statement said. "Both Wests and Balmain are founding 1908 clubs which, together, will continue to build a proud future for Wests Tigers.
"Balmain acknowledges Wests Ashfield Leagues' role in securing the operational and financial viability of Wests Tigers over the past four years and for its generous offer to Balmain to secure its place as part of Wests Tigers in the NRL into the future."
On the surface, little will change as it is a condition of the club's NRL licence that the team be known as Wests Tigers and maintain the logo and colours of the joint venture.
The Magpies had no intention of changing anyway as doing so would have alienated not only Balmain diehards but fans who have supported Wests Tigers since the merger, some of whom have no affiliation to Wests or Balmain.
No decision has yet been made on the number of games Wests Tigers will continue to play at Leichhardt Oval and Campbelltown Stadium – the spiritual home grounds of Balmain and the Wests Magpies – and that will be one of the first major issues for the new board to consider.
However, Wests Tigers are now free of the influence of the NRL, who had overseen a restructure of the board in the past two years which included the appointment of three independent directors – Marina Go, Rosemary Sinclair and Lucio Di Bartolomeo.
Go will remain as chair of the new board but Di Bartolomeo has stood down, leaving Sinclair as the other independent director.
The Wests appointees have been announced as Wests Ashfield chief executive Simon Cook, chairman Mike Bailey and three other directors of the wealthy leagues club, Michael Liubinskas, Rick Wayde and Tony Andreacchio.
​Balmain's representatives on the board will be Danny Stapleton and James Myatt.
"Wests and Balmain wish to express their thanks to Lucio Di Bartolomeo who has now stood down from the Wests Tigers Board," the statement said. "Lucio's contributions over the past 20 months have been exceptional.
"The new arrangement brings the NRL's involvement over the last two years in assisting Wests and Balmain to restructure Wests Tigers to a conclusion. Both clubs thank the NRL for its role in reaching this agreement."

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...sts-tigers-joint-venture-20160527-gp5mem.html