Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

If this a true account of his TV trial by journalist, it doesn’t seem to bad, when asked if he could guarantee the CEO’s position for next year, he said he would never use the word ”guarantee”, and “But as to the leadership, I serve as does Justin, at the pleasure of the board. So the board decides who sits in the chairman seat and who the CEO is. There are no decision taken by Justin that’s not ratified by the board. He doesn’t appoint coaches, he doesn’t recruit players, his role is as the chief executive which involves all the operational matters. The buck stops with the board.

Re: Holbrook
“Justin’s role is to keep abreast of all and any developments within the game including the availability of assistant coaches or other persons who may be of interest to this club,” he said.

“His job is to explore these opportunities and then bring them back to the club for discussion and consideration and that’s what he was proposing to do.

“Justin doesn’t have the authority to appoint coaches, that’s a matter for the board, and at the end of the day, the head coach will always have the assistant coaches he wants.

Imo, that all sounds reasonable. He was only saying what we are all thinking, that the results are “embarrassing”
We are heading for a consecutive wooden spoon, they have to be looking at every option that is available to them, surely?

I don’t think anyone is too upset about the board prodding about for new personnel, certainly not me.

But not advising any of the current coaching staff of the proposal, can only be read as a very serious slight upon them.

It’s a sign of deep and genuine mistrust and I dare say, dissatisfaction with the current crew.

I don’t think anyone is too upset about the board prodding about for new personnel, certainly not me.

But not advising any of the current coaching staff of the proposal, can only be read as a very serious slight upon them.

It’s a sign of deep and genuine mistrust and I dare say, dissatisfaction with the current crew.
Yep, Sheenius should have known what happens when you play with fire, no sympathy from me, just a sad realisation we have wasted another season:(

Yes.

Note Lee was expressing his disappointment which was truthful …but also tactical.

Gone is the confident salesman Lee promising to take us to finals and everything will change because we have new coaches and players, all thanks to the wise board and Pascoe.

Instead, the new Lee apparently shares our disappointment and says he feels like us. Sullen and almost a pathetic figure.

That reaching out to us emotionally, factual but also designed to avoid the harsher of the criticism. He empathised with us filth. How can he be criticised for that?

And very often, the truth can be used to mask or distract from lies and/or deception in other parts of his interview.

None of the panel took him back to his promises and boldness of last year.

He didn’t give away very much.

He would well know that we will “work harder” doesn’t cut it.

If he really believes that, we’ve f**king had it because it means:

A. We haven’t worked as hard as we could have previously or

B. If we have, we’ve stuffed it badly. Left to our devices we are genuinely hopeless.

“Work harder” for heavens sake Lee, you can slap me hard because thats a throw away cliche mantra bullshit my friend!

A kid under 7 might believe it, but not us. We know garbage when we hear it. It was a very poor finish to the interview. Basically meaningless.

But…. I think it’s not true. Knives are out. Our failed state of a club needs that right now.

Yes, I think Fulton is right to question Benjis competency at this moment.

A lot of us are doing the same thing.

You can be a club legend as a player, but that doesn’t mean you can easily master other roles. Benji can contribute in many other ways other than trying to be coaching lord.

Holbrook adds a lot of experience and a different perspective.

It seem to me too that the chargers sacked him once they had secured Des behind the scenes. Unlike us, albeit they were very cruel.

If Adam OBrien is unwanted at Newcastle, I think he’s definitely worth sounding out instead of Benji.

The Tim and Benji experiment should be terminated as soon as possible.

I think we are inching closer to that outcome with Fulton, the bull in the China shop, actually delivering which helps.

And Benji with his self belief and no one to tell him he’s hopeless, this truth telling and white-anting is probably what we need.

Chris Lawrence leaving the inner sanctum of confidants is also very telling. He obviously has joined the coalition of the willing.

No doubt Chris sees the wisdom in shaking up the coaching ranks too. He’s not an expert, but he’s of some influence, plus he comes from Tim and Benji world.

I think the Bula story, he’s taking some artistic licence, later on he makes some great points.

Benji is not known for forgiveness. So long as Fulton has powers, that’s a hand brake on Benjis frolics and GTA will continue to resent him.

Hopefully a nasty showdown when we get the spoon.

I think that given Benji is a slow learner, he should spend a few more years in junior coaching and do a proper apprenticeship. 3 or 4 years at least and try to earn his right to coach.
Appointed on the matey mate is rubbish.

Congrats to Fulton for today. Big scalps.

Yes, I think Fulton is right to question Benjis competency at this moment.

A lot of us are doing the same thing.

You can be a club legend as a player, but that doesn’t mean you can easily master other roles. Benji can contribute in many other ways other than trying to be coaching lord.

Holbrook adds a lot of experience and a different perspective.

It seem to me too that the chargers sacked him once they had secured Des behind the scenes. Unlike us, albeit they were very cruel.

If Adam OBrien is unwanted at Newcastle, I think he’s definitely worth sounding out instead of Benji.

The Tim and Benji experiment should be terminated as soon as possible.

I think we are inching closer to that outcome with Fulton, the bull in the China shop, actually delivering which helps.

And Benji with his self belief and no one to tell him he’s hopeless, this truth telling and white-anting is probably what we need.

Chris Lawrence leaving the inner sanctum of confidants is also very telling. He obviously has joined the coalition of the willing.

No doubt Chris sees the wisdom in shaking up the coaching ranks too. He’s not an expert, but he’s of some influence, plus he comes from Tim and Benji world.

I think the Bula story, he’s taking some artistic licence, later on he makes some great points.

Benji is not known for forgiveness. So long as Fulton has powers, that’s a hand brake on Benjis frolics and GTA will continue to resent him.

Hopefully a nasty showdown when we get the spoon.

I think that given Benji is a slow learner, he should spend a few more years in junior coaching and do a proper apprenticeship. 3 or 4 years at least and try to earn his right to coach.
Appointed on the matey mate is rubbish.

Congrats to Fulton for today. Big scalps.
I’m not here to defend our failure, but your comment re: Chris Lawerence.

“Chris Lawrence leaving the inner sanctum of confidants is also very telling.”

He’s certainly entitled to his opinions (more than most of us) but sending a smartarse text to the chairman when we are getting flogged, deserved a shitty response back, (of course he wouldn’t be happy) I have to do this to my misses every f**king week.

But to walk away from the club is surprisingly juvenile imo.

Ned Kelly

Hooper rehashing old shit, must be a slow news day, this was last weeks fish and chip wrapping.
The whole segment was rubbish. Take a positive then twist the facts to make it a negative.
Instead of saying we have signed the brothers on a 4 year deal at 100k each more than a minimum payment and sensationalise it by saying it is a 2 million dollar deal is designed to create a response of anger when it could be a great deal.
If we end up with a quality half on 250k a year will they sing the tigers praises?
I think not.

Ned Kelly

Hooper rehashing old shit, must be a slow news day, this was last weeks fish and chip wrapping.
9 of the NSW State of Origin team and 14 of the QLD team played under 19 State of Origin. Every one of the NRL 360 panel thought the Fainu brothers signing was too risky. "desperate clubs will do desperate things."

Briath, Hoops and Gordy have zero credibility with such a statement.

Fordy20

9 of the NSW State of Origin team and 14 of the QLD team played under 19 State of Origin. Every one of the NRL 360 panel thought the Fainu brothers signing was too risky. "desperate clubs will do desperate things."

Briath, Hoops and Gordy have zero credibility with such a statement.
Spot on. What a bunch of flogs.

Ned Kelly

‘When they come good, it will be cheap for the club’: Can the Fainu brothers save Wests Tigers?​

Wests Tigers recruiter Scott Fulton, himself a member of a league clan of some repute, reckons the investment the club has made into the Fainu family will soon begin paying dividends.

“Easily,” Fulton replied when asked if Latu Fainu, an 18-year-old five-eighth, would be ready to make the step-up to the NRL in round one of next year.

“He would stand up to first grade, no problems whatsoever. There’s a bit of [New Zealand legend] Olsen Filipaina about him because he’s such a strong bugger.
“He’s got the skill that Josh Schuster possessed at that age in terms of passing and the like, but he’s got defence like Andrew Johns. He’s got that head-on defence, he can lift them, like Johnsy used to.”

Fulton fired his first shot as Tigers recruiter in nabbing Latu and older brother Samuela, a 19-year-old forward who has already made five first-grade appearances, from his former club Manly. Wayne Bennett wooed their pair, but they turned down the legendary mentor to ink lucrative four-year deals with the Tigers.
“When they come good, it will be very cheap for the club, contrary to what some so-called experts say,” Fulton said.

So who is the most talented member of the Fainu family? The answer depends on who you ask.
“I always tipped Samuela as the best one as a kid,” said Tigers assistant Wayne Lambkin, who has coached all four brothers during their time at Westfield Sports High School. “The parents used to laugh at me and say ‘What do you mean, Samuela?’ I was saying they all got it wrong, that he would be the best of the lot.
“He’s very football-aware for a young forward. He’s got a good offload, a good pass, a halfback in a big body in many ways with his football intelligence. He’s got very tall and lean since he left school, I’ve always been a big fan of Sammy’s.
“Some of the things he did in that under-19s game I cringed at, how he was carrying on and it’s something that needs to be managed in his game. With the right people around him, they will break that out of his game and get him concentrating on footy.”
The Tigers have gambled on youth in their quest to climb off the bottom of the ladder. A rookie coach, in the form of club legend Benji Marshall, will be at the helm just as a crop of promising juniors are expected to progress into first grade.

The Fainus have further bolstered a youthful roster and the trio hold an ambition of playing in the NRL together, potentially as soon as next year.

“In due course you will see the three of them playing first grade,” Fulton said. “That would be a fairytale story, the family and the club would be over the moon with that. It would see the fulfilment of the investment in the boys.”

Ned Kelly

Joey Johns said during the under 19s State of Origin that he has done some work with Latu Fainu and he is ready for first grade now. He made a point of talking about how his body is ready for it even though that is unusual for a lad his age.

Ned Kelly

Promising news from the Sydney Morning Herald

Farah eyes GM role​

There has been talk within the game about Wests Tigers assistant Robbie Farah potentially moving out of the coaching staff and into a role in administration.
Farah has previously indicated to the club that he sees his future as a general manager. His ambition hasn’t changed but the club is yet to decide on the structure of its football department.
There is a vacancy at Concord, with Tim Sheens stepping away from his GM duties to focus on coaching, and it remains unclear what role, if any, Sheens will have with the Tigers once his two-year tenure comes to an end.

This masthead contacted Farah on Sunday to see if he intended to move away from coaching as early as 2024.
The club legend admitted the administration side of the business appealed to him, but he planned to remain Benji Marshall’s offsider again next year.

If an administration role was to become available, expect Farah to be front and centre of discussions. A move upstairs could open the door for the Tigers to bring in another assistant coach.

Several player agents have told the club that their clients are concerned with the standard of coaching and the attention to detail, especially defensively, on offer at the Tigers at the moment. The Tigers intend to address those issues.

Promising news from the Sydney Morning Herald

Farah eyes GM role​

There has been talk within the game about Wests Tigers assistant Robbie Farah potentially moving out of the coaching staff and into a role in administration.
Farah has previously indicated to the club that he sees his future as a general manager. His ambition hasn’t changed but the club is yet to decide on the structure of its football department.
There is a vacancy at Concord, with Tim Sheens stepping away from his GM duties to focus on coaching, and it remains unclear what role, if any, Sheens will have with the Tigers once his two-year tenure comes to an end.

This masthead contacted Farah on Sunday to see if he intended to move away from coaching as early as 2024.
The club legend admitted the administration side of the business appealed to him, but he planned to remain Benji Marshall’s offsider again next year.

If an administration role was to become available, expect Farah to be front and centre of discussions. A move upstairs could open the door for the Tigers to bring in another assistant coach.

Several player agents have told the club that their clients are concerned with the standard of coaching and the attention to detail, especially defensively, on offer at the Tigers at the moment. The Tigers intend to address those issues.
Interesting, we’ve got nothing to lose if it were to happen, I think.

I don’t think Robbie is cut out to be a gm myself.

Personality can be too abrasive, where’s his years in admin and management? Any educational background?

Once again our star ex players think the kingdom is theirs and the milking of funds is on, instead of finding other ways to contribute.

If his performance as assistant assistant coach this season is anything to go on, anything above car park attendant looks ambitious.

If he wants to show he is anything, he can try to bring back Rowdy to the fold.

Every day the current coaching regime in charge is becoming more isolated. As days go by without any prospect of a win, further estrangement will ensue -as people don’t want to be associated with them.

It’s the kiss of death to be in our coaching ranks. I’m surprised Dave is hanging on by a thread. He should leave before spooning.

And players from other clubs worrying about our defence, what a precious, entitled and ignorant lot.

But we are just as worried as they are about our coaching. If they don’t think so, they are honestly too stupid to play for us.

Probably a lot of calls from the bulldogs players I’d say. They are usually as thick as two planks.

Many of their fans are missing a chromosome or two as well.

I don’t think Robbie is cut out to be a gm myself.

Personality can be too abrasive, where’s his years in admin and management? Any educational background?

Once again our star ex players think the kingdom is theirs and the milking of funds is on, instead of finding other ways to contribute.

If his performance as assistant assistant coach this season is anything to go on, anything above car park attendant looks ambitious.

If he wants to show he is anything, he can try to bring back Rowdy to the fold.

Every day the coaching regime in charge is becoming more isolated.
And what does a manager with years of admin and management know about footy?

We have a team of management to help him, our CEO is good at admin, if it were to happen, at least he would have the nous to understand the role, the Parra footy GM is ex WT’s player he’s going alright.

And what does a manager with years of admin and management know about footy?

We have a team of management to help him, our CEO is good at admin, if it were to happen, at least he would have the nous to understand the role, the Parra footy GM is ex WT’s player he’s going alright.
Robbie is another who be ‘long of snout’ I’m afraid.

If we are really serious about a footy gm, we recruit one from a top 4 club.

Timbo came from the esteemed college of the sacred snouted old boys and look at the disaster which is still unfolding!

All these self styled rolled gold legendary, heroes, they are screwing the club hard at the moment.

I say we need fresh meat for the grinder. New and not contaminated by the society of flatulent hands in pocket mates.

Exhibit A Fulton. Outsider allrighter.

If we want the best club, we have to reach out and drag in the top talent in officialdom.

If we do that, we will emerge properly. It might take us longer to repair the damage, but we will get there. Our dead and festering hand will push through the grass and wriggle. I guarantee it.

That’s as important as players (Jack Gibson).

And happily, let’s say the club is now toying with the idea at least.