Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rate Our New Players.

antonius

Our new players this year. What value have they been? Who is the best, who is the worst? What are the qualities they bring to the team? And where do you see them heading within the team?

Dustin Cooper.

Kirk Reynoldson.

Craig Smith

Milton Thiaday

Danny Vaughan

Dane Campbell

Kurt Hancock

Jesse Royal

I think that’s all of them, if I’ve missed someone then please add them on. I have included a couple of premier league guys as well, and one late signing (Danny Vaughan)

bluesbreaker

Dustin Cooper - I rate him very highly, big, strong and agile, exactly what our backline needs

Kirk Reynoldson - Not that impressed with his showing this year, but at Melbourne I thought he was pretty good. Not worth 240k, and will be lucky to get a bench spot with the emergence of Clint Newton

Craig Smith - Our saviour this year, what else needs to be said? He or Clint better win player's player.

Milton Thaiday - Sheer speed and elusiveness is something our backline lost with Tahu, I see him as a good option on the wing outside of Cooper and (god willing) Kidley, and as a stop gap measure for when Seage is injured.

Dane Campbell - Well... Much more impressed by him than Steve Witt, still don't think he's a 1st grader just yet, though definately a handy back up should God go down.

Danny Vaughan - Haven't seen him play

Kurt Hancock - Ditto

Jesse Royal - Ditto

aqua_duck

Dustin Cooper-Will be good value for money, has had a few unfortunate injuries but I like the look of him, big, strong, aggressive player, is abit like Matt King.

Kirk Reynoldson-Absolute waste of money, he's nothing special and is getting paid rep money, worst signing we've made since Greg Smith.

Craig Smith-Very good signing for us has held the pack together and his experience has helped the younger guys. If anything Reynoldson should be on match payments and Smithy should be on 200k a year.

Milton Thiaday-Exciting prospect who's abit rough around the edges at the moment but is an excellent attacking player, can only get better.

Danny Vaughan-Haven't seen him play.

Dane Campbell-I think the jury is still out, he will prove a better back up than Steve Witt but I think he's still yet to show his A game, next year will be an important year for his development.

Kurt Hancock-Solid player, nothing spectacular, will be a 1st grade pinch hitter for a few years.

Jesse Royal-He looks like he's got the talent but doesn't really have the size to play front row in the top grade, he'll probably be a handy premier league player but I can't see him doing much more than that.

Jono078

Dustin Cooper - Been good imo, had few injuries, but who hasnt, but been really reliable when played.

Kirk Reynoldson. - Tried hard, offseason trainer ruined him and many others.

Craig Smith - Best by far, leads the way on and off the field.

Milton Thiaday - Has done the job and more, and is showing rapid improvement, gonna be pushing for a NSW spot if Bowen can imo.

Danny Vaughan - Havnt seen.

Dane Campbell - Hasnt been that great, fills in the job, but doesnt do the right job for the team.

Kurt Hancock - Havnt seen.

Jesse Royal - Above.

aqua_duck

jono078 said:
Milton Thiaday - Has done the job and more, and is showing rapid improvement, gonna be pushing for a NSW spot if Bowen can imo.
Not sure if he's as polished as Matty Bowen but look if he can learn the game abit more than he's got the potential to be a devastating attacking player.

Jono078

Yeah, thats why I said rapid improvement and who knows what this offseason will do for him under Johns' bombs etc.

antonius

Dustin Cooper. I don't think we've seen the best of him yet, he was only a fringe first grader at the Storm and I think he's still finding his feet. Saying that though I reckon he has the potential to become a devastating Centre, he has a few errors in his game, but with growing confidence, and a bit more experience they will dissappear. He will be one of the players to carry us into the future.

Kirk Reynoldson. A lot of money for little return so far. I'm not convinced he is first grade quality even, the early games that he played were nothing special, he has no variety to his game, when playing prop, he doesn't have an offload, and is purely a take it up man, he doesn't hit the line hard either. As a backrower, he falls short in the agility area, no swerve, no step so to speak, so again he is restricted to just hauling the ball up, you need a backrower to be running angles of your quick blokes near the line, I didn't see any evidence of thatin the games he played. To be fair he hasn't had much game time here and may show more next season, but at the moment, I think he was a waste of money.

Craig Smith. What can you say about him? I'm the first to admit I thought us signing him was a desperate move by a desperate club, and that he would turn out to be passenger. How wrong, he has without doubt been the heart of the team since his first game, he's shown passion, commitment, and has been the leader of our young forwards, I agree with whoever it was said he should be players player, and clubman of the year.

Milton Thiaday. This bloke could become the coup signing of the decade. He gets better every week, is like lightening with the ball in his hands, and will become a try scoring machine next year I reckon running off JOhns, he shows glimpses of it now. I see him as prob the best long term signing the club has made in a long long time. Lets hope he keeps it all together because I think he has the game at his feet and could become a Newcastle favourite.

Danny Vaughan. Saw him play one Premier League game, he came off the bench, showed plenty of starch in his hit ups, and can tackle and hurt, has a good off-load. Could be a good prospect with a good off season and some training.

Dane Campbell. Still only young, and the thing I like about him is he has a great presence on the field, he looks like a natural leader. (though that wasn't evident the other week when he gave the ref a gobfull and got time off for it) He has a fair kicking/passing game, and leads the premier league side around pretty well, he also seems to work well with his 5/8th, and lets Spiteri call the shots when he's on the park, which means he is a very good team player, I like him, and think he will develop into a handy stand by for Johns, I don't see him becoming Johns eventual replacement though, there's a couple of youngsters in flegg that will have a bearing on that I think.

Kurt Hancock. Needs some more development, and a solid off-season to be considered a first grade player. He has been impressive in premier league though, and is an aggressive player.

Jesse Royal. This guy looks great one week and ordinary the next. In his first few games here I thought he would be knocking on the door of first grade in no time especially given the injury toll we had. He just doesn't seem consistant enough to push his case though, he too needs a big off-season.

roopy

Dustin Cooper. - When we got him he came with a reputation for not following the coaches instructions - the passage of play that sticks in my mind is the game v Melbourne where Johns stood at 5/8 and wanted to put on a move with Cooper - Johns showed him a simple wrap around by gesturing around his back, and Cooper shrugged his shoulders - so Johns signaled for Matt Gidley to come over instead. My feeling is that he does things by instinct rather than design on the field - which doesn't make him a great team player - and Johns won't like playing with him.

Kirk Reynoldson. - a workhorse with good size and ability. His biggest fault is dropping the ball far too often.

Craig Smith - old props do it smarter. He is good, but the end is near for his firstgrade career.

Milton Thiaday - he needed to build up to the fitness he had in Union and he needed to learn the game at NRL level - I thought it would take him the rest of the season + the off season to even approach firstgrade standard, but he is miles ahead of schedule IMO.

Danny Vaughan - Big and strong and hard as nails. He looks like a bigger version of Simmo. He is a bit slow and is well below fitness levels for PL even at this stage (only good for 20 or 30 minutes). A proper off season could turn him into anything.

Dane Campbell - a very capable halfback who will improve over the next few seasons, but he has some juniors looking to steal his jersey next season.

Kurt Hancock - He has improved over the season, but is still a fringe firstgrader at best. He has a chance to keep improving.

Jesse Royal - a very one dimensional prop. He runs hard and straight, makes his 10 metres, but rarely even thinks about off loading.

Todd Maddison - He has bulked up and improved over the season. He scores a lot of tries (as he did in the New comp last season) and has a very high workload. If he puts in a killer off season and gets a bit stronger he will be a chance of playing firstgrade next season. He was selected for NSW residents, which means he is seen as one of the best players in PL who isn't a "firstgrader" - if that makes sense.

thuganomics

Dustin Cooper - This bloke has potential to burn. He could become a damaging centre just needs to get some match fitness and be given a regular first grade spot. We havn't seen the best of him yet and I am looking for a good year in 2006 from Dustin.

Kirk Reynoldson - Worst buy of the year this year. When he played for us he wasn't great, probably playing in one half decent game. Will probably be starting on the bench next year so maybe a big offseason is due from Kirk.

Craig Smith - With him and Simpson probably our best player this year. He has shown these young fowards the way and I am so glad he re-signed for another year.

Milton Thaiday - Runs the ball with determination and has alot of speed on him. Can play basically anywhere in the backline and has proven to be a good buy.

Dane Campbell - Played good for hsi 1st few games. Will obviously get better as time goes on.

Danny Vaughan - Strong player, will be pushing for a spot next year

Kurt Hancock - Havn't seen much of him.

Jesse Royal - Havn't seen to much of him.

Yowie

Sorry guys. I dont. As in dont Rate Your New Players.

Thaiday & Cooper have shown some inconsistnet promise and will be ok but the rest of them? Pfffffft!

If people think we are going to go from 15th to 1st in 2006 with just them, broken down Davico and Carney out for a years holiday before getting serious then you had better prefer for a huge reality check in 2006.

We need better cattle.

Dustin Cooper... a funny guy thats about it

Kirk Reynoldson.... An expensive pink elephant & bench warmer to drop balls

Craig Smith... Yeah he's been good but will he last another year?

Milton Thiaday... If he doesn't suffer AA withdrawls in the off season may be ok 2006

Danny Vaughan.. If he was gunna make it - he would have before now

Dane Campbell... No Johns apprentice which is what we need

Kurt Hancock .. Pffft

Jesse Royal.. Pffft

TooheysNew

the passage of play that sticks in my mind is the game v Melbourne where Johns stood at 5/8 and wanted to put on a move with Cooper - Johns showed him a simple wrap around by gesturing around his back, and Cooper shrugged his shoulders - so Johns signaled for Matt Gidley to come over instead.

I think I saw that as well, and wondered what was going on.
He has the ability, but he needs to learn to read his play off Joey - that's what makes our other outside backs look good, and it will do the same for him.

Misanthrope

Dustin Cooper: Could prove to be an absolute gun for us. Has shown great offensive capabilities, and isn't a bad defender either. Has a future in our backline.

Kirk Reynoldson: Has so far proven to be an enormous waste of money. Even when he was on deck, he didn't contribute much. Workmanlike, but hardly worth $230,000.

Craig Smith: If we made the eight, people would be talking him up as the buy of the season. He has been inspirational in even our worst games, always giving 100% and never leaving anything to hope. Tremendous player, and should be looked at for NZ representation if he hasn't retired from rep footy.

Milton Thaiday: Has an enormous future, and is starting to look more and more like a Wesser/Campbell style player each week. The beauty? He hits like a front rower. Once his positional play is worked out, I can see him being our fulltiem #1.

Danny Vaughan: Haven't seen him play

Dane Campbell: Hasn't been bad. Is definitely behind the likes of Mullen and Tighe for a halves start, though. Far better than Witt ever was.

Kurt Hancock: Solid enough player. Not sure if he'll ever push for firsts selection.

Jesse Royal: Big kid, could have a future.

thuganomics

chriswalkerbush said:
Milton Thaiday: Has an enormous future, and is starting to look more and more like a Wesser/Campbell style player each week. The beauty? He hits like a front rower. Once his positional play is worked out, I can see him being our fulltiem #1.

I'd still perfer Seage at the back. Maybe Milton in the centres.

Doctor

Dustin Cooper -- Reasonable year, albeit affected by injuries. Didn't have much luck, but showed enough to indicate he's possible first-choice player if in form and fit.

Kirk Reynoldson -- bit tough to bag the bloke out from such little game time. In his limited games, the whole side was down on confidence. He will be part of the top 17 next year, primarily for financial reasons (you don't pay $200,000+ for a player to be in Premier League), but will desperately need to shake off those injuries. He will bounce back... and should prove the doubters.

Craig Smith -- along with Thaiday, easily the best signing. He was the least promising of all the newbies, but proved that he is no has-been. There was still plenty of fitness in the old legs, and he's an experienced campaigner. The Knights owe a lot to Smith for remaining steady, focused and in-form throughout even the tough times. He epitomises being a Knight -- pride in his jumper, his adopted-town and enthusiasm even in a lost cause. Top marks to the bloke, he's earned my respect.

Milton Thiaday -- An excellent buy. In the space of half a season he's gone from rugby union outcast to first-choice first grader. Fleet-footed skills in attack and intensity in defence. He's improving every game too -- not remaining stagnant in his form. The bloke has a very high power-to-weight ratio.... incredible performances for such a small bloke.

Danny Vaughan -- haven't seen him yet, but he seems to come with big wraps. Plenty of time next season for him to push his way into Hages' thinking as a replacement for injuries in first grade.

Dane Campbell -- has proven to be a capable first grader when given the opportunities. He played in trying circumstances, but can hold his head up high. Not a bad replacement... but otherwise not likely to force his way into first grade ahead of Mullen, Tighe and Kurt Gidley (as a playmaker).

Kurt Hancock -- We've only seen glimpses of what he can do. I haven't seen enough of him to warrant criticism or praise. But he didn't prove to be better than the likes of Tolar, Worth and White and hence isn't really looking like cracking a permanent spot in a hurry.

Jesse Royal -- Didn't see enough of him, but didn't seem to come on in leaps and bounds. As I said, not enough of him seen in order to give an opinion.

northey

i would rate them, but i have just had a big yell at the computer and this forum... i had it all set out of the ratings... BUT nooooo it won't let me ... agggrrhhhh

chinorocks

My ratings are on the quality of the buy, not a rating of the players year.

Dustin Cooper - Up and down year because of injuries, but looks a star of the future. Possibly needs a permanent spot to play as he keeps getting moved around from week to week because of injuries. I personally see him as a centre. 7/10.

Kirk Reynoldson - Was a bench player at best at Melbourne and in our desperation for troops we signed him at a starting player price. He adds nothing that we don't already get from our fringe backrowers. Will not be in the starting side next year and wouldn't make the bench if he wasn't getting paid so much. The worst buy of the year by any club. 1/10.

Craig Smith - Alongside Simpson and Newton our best and most consistent forward all year. Costs us next to nothing and provides us with experience, workrate, starch and quality. Possibly the NRL'S buy of the year. 10/10.

Milton Thaiday - Like Roopy, I thought he would spend the year in PL gaining experience, but due to injuries he was thrust into first grade and has come along brilliantly. In attack he looks fantastic and his defence is coming along. DFon't agree that he's a centre though, I see him as a winger or fullback. Needs to work on positioning but lets remember he's only played about 10 games of Rugby League. 9/10

Dane Campbell - Looks a capable player to fill in while johns is on Origin duty, but if Johns got hurt I don't think he'd be capable of running the show for the whole year. easily better than Witt, and has a better kicking game than Kidley. 5/10.

Havent seen the others play enough to form an opinion.

roopy

roopy said:
Dustin Cooper. - When we got him he came with a reputation for not following the coaches instructions - the passage of play that sticks in my mind is the game v Melbourne where Johns stood at 5/8 and wanted to put on a move with Cooper - Johns showed him a simple wrap around by gesturing around his back, and Cooper shrugged his shoulders - so Johns signaled for Matt Gidley to come over instead. My feeling is that he does things by instinct rather than design on the field - which doesn't make him a great team player - and Johns won't like playing with him.

Kirk Reynoldson. - a workhorse with good size and ability. His biggest fault is dropping the ball far too often.

Craig Smith - old props do it smarter. He is good, but the end is near for his firstgrade career.

Milton Thiaday - he needed to build up to the fitness he had in Union and he needed to learn the game at NRL level - I thought it would take him the rest of the season + the off season to even approach firstgrade standard, but he is miles ahead of schedule IMO.

Danny Vaughan - Big and strong and hard as nails. He looks like a bigger version of Simmo. He is a bit slow and is well below fitness levels for PL even at this stage (only good for 20 or 30 minutes). A proper off season could turn him into anything.

Dane Campbell - a very capable halfback who will improve over the next few seasons, but he has some juniors looking to steal his jersey next season.

Kurt Hancock - He has improved over the season, but is still a fringe firstgrader at best. He has a chance to keep improving.

Jesse Royal - a very one dimensional prop. He runs hard and straight, makes his 10 metres, but rarely even thinks about off loading.

Todd Maddison - He has bulked up and improved over the season. He scores a lot of tries (as he did in the New comp last season) and has a very high workload. If he puts in a killer off season and gets a bit stronger he will be a chance of playing firstgrade next season. He was selected for NSW residents, which means he is seen as one of the best players in PL who isn't a "firstgrader" - if that makes sense.

A few more;

Mitchell Steele - I think he came up from the CC RIP to do his last year of Flegg with us. He has had a great year playing lock. He works really well with Walsh and is improving as the season goes on. I don't know if we can find him a spot in PL next year - but he is good enough to go on to PL for sure.

Brendan Hunt - Not sure where he came from (might be a RIP guy as well). He was our starting 5/8 in Flegg till Walsh was promoted and Dureau took the 5/8 spot. He has played in the centres since, and off the bench. He is as big as some props, fast enough to play centre, and skillfull enough to play 5/8. He also finishes in Flegg this year.

Matt Jarrett - another forward in his last year of Flegg. He is now a starting player in Flegg after taking a fair while to force his way into the side. He is a handy player, but I don't think he is better than Hlad and Ling who are both up for another year in Flegg.

Hanan Laban - He was our big signing for Flegg in the off season. He was supposed to be the best young prop in NZ. He has had a very mixed year with injuries keeping him out for half the season and only getting a bench spot so far - but he is young enough to back up next season. He reminds me of Sam Stewart - runs the ball up like a mad man - and drops it.

Tim Natusch - Our scout went over to see Laban play, and brought back his mate as well. Timmy was a very raw talent at the start of the season, but each game he gets smarter and smarter. He must be a great trainer to get starts in PL from very early in the season, so the off season could see another huge leap in his form. He has another year of Flegg to go as well.

bluesbreaker

roopy said:
Brendan Hunt - Not sure where he came from (might be a RIP guy as well). He was our starting 5/8 in Flegg till Walsh was promoted and Dureau took the 5/8 spot. He has played in the centres since, and off the bench. He is as big as some props, fast enough to play centre, and skillfull enough to play 5/8. He also finishes in Flegg this year.

This guy sounds interesting... You reckon this bloke just matured early or will he continue to grow?