Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD 23: Parramatta Eels v Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium 7.45pm 15/8/14

emjaycee

So if the team on the higher ladder position wins every game from here out (no upsets) we make the 8.
What's the stress about folks?

I would say yes, lots of top 8 sides still play each other

I am even counting us losing to Moanly next week.
It will be close and the biggest threat to us is the Cowpats who play Penrith (a), Souths (a), Sharks (H) and Manly (H).
They should only win one of these and end up on 28 points.
We beat Knights and Raiders and we are on 30.

#wegotdistop8

Chipmunk

So if the team on the higher ladder position wins every game from here out (no upsets) we make the 8.
What's the stress about folks?

Just because you're higher on the ladder doesn't mean your favourites to win...

Having said that I can see both Newcastle and Penrith both winning this weekend too.

It's the NRL, no games are a given.

Joshuatheeel

It will be close and the biggest threat to us is the Cowpats who play Penrith (a), Souths (a), Sharks (H) and Manly (H).

#wegotdistop8

I hope and I reckon we will beat manly next week. This puts us in a good position again

You guys will be pleased with this. I had a punt on footy tonight for the first time in years and I won. I backed the Dogs at $1.90

I am going to put my winnings on Manly to beat us next week. Honestly though, I hope I lose my money. I wish I had've lost tonight. Or put more money on. :(

Chipmunk

#wegotdistop8

Mate, on the Dogs performance tonight I don't think there a sure thing to win any more games. If they don't get a lead and then defend it, then they have got absolutely nothing going for them. They might win 1, or even 2, but they also might not win one at all.

Really we let in 3 soft trys, two of them were straight hit ups and the other was Morgan being made look like a fool. We did not deserve to win IMO. I will say again that the first half penalties were a Rort.

Chipmunk

I'm with mjc.

Still think we will make the 8 and geez I hope we play the dogs again.

I think there is alot of football to be played this weekend yet.

If Warriors, Cowboys and Storm all win I think we will struggle to make it.

Actually I don't think we will make it in the end.

Joshuatheeel

Also how good is gower, he was brilliant. He will gaining control in the second half until around the time he went off

Mate, it happens to every team throughout the year. We have been on the end of some dud calls sure, but so does everyone else.
its the same teams that get f**ked over every week. Not just us either, Sharks cop it deluxe as well. Canberra, the titans as well.

When a team like Melbourne doesn't get the rub of the green all hell breaks loose.

Great to see BA finally give the refs a blast.

jk13

I'm also a bit over the lift and push back tackle. The refs scream held numerous times but still let the play the ball go back another 5m. We were akso trapped in goal on a drag. Also heard the ref scum coaching the dogs on the 10. It's a shame and a testament to our team that it was still a high quality game despite their f**k ups

yy_cheng

Ok, I don't wanna crucify the ballboy for making a mistake. But seriously, we pay Sandow the big bucks to come up with a match-winning play, and that's exactly what he did. So I'm pissed off.

And, is it just me who had the nasty thought that gee, it'd be easy to train your ballboys to do the correct thing for your team on a 40/20, but something else for the opposition that means they get pulled back by the refs?

Did we supply the ballboys or did they? Or does the NRL supply and train them?

The rules around taking a tap from the 40/20 seem shite anyway - or at least, we always seem to be on the wrong side of them. Can't remember which game it was earlier in the year (Sharks?), but we got pulled back two or three times attempting to take the quick tap. Our players don't seem to know the rules... so maybe expecting a ten year old to know them is a bit harsh.

The ball boy was wearing parra colours

He's going to cop it heaps from his mates at school

He'll probably fall into depression

yy_cheng

Just watched the presser on Fox, an angry BA , the word death stare comes to mind

Very critical of the officials, and went back and mentioned the Manly game and a few others , not happy Jan

i am definitely sure BA and Hayne are both wrong. Vai was 1 metre inside the sideline.

He looked at the ball boy to hurry him up. THe ball boy ran to the ball, picked it up whilst not on the sideline. He then passed it to Vai who was 1m inside the try line.

It was a no try.

i am definitely sure BA and Hayne are both wrong. Vai was 1 metre inside the sideline.

He looked at the ball boy to hurry him up. THe ball boy ran to the ball, picked it up whilst not on the sideline. He then passed it to Vai who was 1m inside the try line.

It was a no try.

Yep.

We didn't deserve to win but another game we got ripped off by the referees. Ben Cummins just never likes us - how he is still in the top grade is beyond me. Good to see Arthur rip into them - they deserved it and it only highlights thier performance.

I would just love to see one game where we get the rub of the green going our way.......it never happens.

I know the kick was difficult but Sandow's second Bad miss was crucial. We can't rely on Sandow to kick goals - we need to find a quality goalkicker in the offseason.

We are heading in the right direction but three games are going to define our season - that one, the first Manly loss and the Warriors smashing. We won't make the 8, but no one expected us to. Finals next year a must.