Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 9: Parramatta v Storm LIVE GAME DAY Thread 11th May 2019

Happy MEel

Who replaces Tepai? Taka? Terpo?

Additionally considering they haven’t been re-signed yet, there’s a good chance the eels brains trust realise they may not be the future.

Anyhow I wouId drop Terpo and maybe Taka. Stone (works harder in defence)for terpo and not many options for Taka unless we sign DZW
Well you have offered two suggestions which I agree with as a possible short term solution.

If we get DWZ that’s the centre position resolved, hopefully Brown is back soon to resolve one middle issue and then we need to recruit externally to provide more quality in the middle than Stone.

Happy MEel

W.Smith must partner Moses.
Salmon isnt a halves asshole. We have one kicker in general play.
I reckon the little blonde kid playing for Wenty we upgraded has better defence than Smith and will probably know his limitations. Perhaps he’s an option.

#sosdylanbrown

Joshuatheeel

hopefully Brown is back soon to resolve one middle issue and then we need to recruit externally to provide more quality in the middle than Stone.

I reckon our pack can be good enough but we just lack that one experienced/leader type forward (James Graham type) not sure who it is , but we probably do need to recruit one more forward.

Happy MEel

Yes shit horrible performance!! But the storm have only lost 2 games all year however they shouldn’t have scored 64 against us. They are coming first.

But the eels were favourites for the spoon and many predicted it (including yourself or said we would lose our first 10 or so), yet after 9 round we are equal 5th on 10 points.

Most of the sides equal with us and below us apparently had better rosters then us. So has BA performed above expectations?

What coach that is actually available would do a better job?
We don’t know the coaches available but I struggle to see many professional coaches changing a winning formula on a whim. The collective eels coaching staff have done a great job so far this season but tonight was a balls up of epic proportions.

Let’s see how they respond over the next few weeks.

Consistency is highly undervalued...let’s hope they’ve learnt this.

Happy MEel

The 17 we put on the park last week went ok.

We ran into a Premiership contender in a mood tonight.

We're not Premiership contenders and we've been shown up tonight by a team that is a class above us

We just need to move on and get back to beating teams in our own class, rather than worry about challenging the Premiership contenders.

We weren't Premiership contenders before the match started tonight and tonights performance and result hasnt changed that.
Hang on, we had a reshuffled 17 this week. We just can’t ignore that. The game was gone early against a quality side like Melbourne. Let’s hope the brainstrust realise what the overwhelming majority on here knew from the outset and we go back to what worked last week.

Happy MEel

Umm, sort of...

Probably not really the place for it (don't want to clog up the footy thread with non-footy stuff), but we have made up, but there are still underlying issues.

She is a very good woman, though, so I am lucky.

Don't know how much longer she can tolerate me, though!
We’ll always tolerate you mate

Happy MEel

Paulo is under contract.
I like Alvaro but he doesn't offer anything special. With 76 games under his belt, he should be offering more than just solid defence.
Same with Manu and I want to see Marata do more than just run and tackle.
Who is our Radley, Crichton, SBurgess, Soliola, Bateman, Tapau, Jake T, etc..?
I don’t reckon Marata offers much less than cordner if he builds an offload similar to Mau. I agree we are one elite middle short though

Chipmunk

Hang on, we had a reshuffled 17 this week. We just can’t ignore that. The game was gone early against a quality side like Melbourne. Let’s hope the brainstrust realise what the overwhelming majority on here knew from the outset and we go back to what worked last week.

Yeah, who knows what the story was with the tactics tonight. Many decisions seemed unorthodox.

Happy MEel

Thanks mate. I just watched it on NRL.com.
I agree, he wasn't happy and I hope he stuck it up the players.
I hope he accepts plenty of responsibility for tonight’s debacle as well. I actually would have liked to have seen him come out and say that we opted to have some bigger bodies on the park first up but in hindsight it wasn’t the right option.

Pretty piss poor presser for mine.

emjaycee

I hope he accepts plenty of responsibility for tonight’s debacle as well. I actually would have liked to have seen him come out and say that we opted to have some bigger bodies on the park first up but in hindsight it wasn’t the right option.

Pretty piss poor presser for mine.
He said he knew it would be physical and wanted us to front load the effort, hence why Reed didnt start.