Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd1: 405pm Parra v Storm GAME DAY THREAD in Melbourne 9/3/25

Legal Eel

That was a long read. Lots of venting which is understandable. Lots of merkins looking for people to blame. Some interesting takes.

There was a lot of inexperience out there and that combined with the heat and perhaps a mindset which conceded defeat before a ball was kicked, didn’t help.

For me the 6, 7, 9 were flops in the first half. There was no energy in the spine. Volkman is a walker.
This is pretty much on the money.

In hindsight, we probably should have taken the Flanagan route and played our top 17 in both trials to allow combinations to gel and to get some run into Paulo.

There are blokes who have probably done their first grade careers irreparable damage and that probably includes Tago, Kelma, Volkman (agree on the walking) and maybe even Drown.

I was optimistic for this year, but in light of that performance it is clear this will be a painful year, with or without Moses.

Realistically, we need to turn over Paulo and Offa in the next 12 months. Ironically, the absence of Matto, Lane and Carty has shown that they probably need to go ASAP as well - because this no longer a reno as I first thought, this is a full blown demolition and rebuild from the ground up.

In that respect its good that we have a new coach, because the old one could have never made the decisions that have been made and the decisions that are now needed! For that reason, I am strangely still optimistic, but not for this years results, but rather for the future that will come out of this change.

It's going to be a long year.

Russell held his own as usual, unfortunately the Storm attacked mostly down our right once they knew who would be playing there. Didn’t expect anything different , add the poor go forward and the officials allowing the Storm to wreak havoc in the ruck with no punishment, Harry Grant almost committed assault getting off players and no penalty or even 6 again, terrible officiating.
Which is another reason why Lomax should be there. He isn’t a centre anymore.

King-Gutho94

Agreed. However, accepting what he is, we are paying significant overs if the consensus is correct that he is on $900K per year, with ratchet clauses. Feels like our version of luke Brooks at the Tigers
Dylan is a 600-700k a year half.

The fact we have had 3 different head coaches coaches now entrust Jai Field, Asi, Volkman & Jake Arthur as the halfback when Moses is out injured says a lot about Dylan.

He isnt a halfback and needs a senior player in Moses to control things to allow him to shine.

You could get someone 300-400k cheaper to do a similar role to Dylan in the 5/8 role.

Or we could just go & get Galvin.

You could get someone 300-400k cheaper to do a similar role to Dylan.
You might be right. Who is out there who is a running 5/8 a great defender, kicker etc for that price ?

How much did STG pay for Atkinson and how close to Dylan is he ?

I think you are going off way too early with this. We have JAC, Simmo and Penisini2.0 to be selected in the coming weeks.
Because of our lack of size up front we need a big body to take some hit ups. Which Lomax can do effectively from the wing. Those 3 can’t do that like he can.

King-Gutho94

This is pretty much on the money.

In hindsight, we probably should have taken the Flanagan route and played our top 17 in both trials to allow combinations to gel and to get some run into Paulo.

There are blokes who have probably done their first grade careers irreparable damage and that probably includes Tago, Kelma, Volkman (agree on the walking) and maybe even Drown.

I was optimistic for this year, but in light of that performance it is clear this will be a painful year, with or without Moses.

Realistically, we need to turn over Paulo and Offa in the next 12 months. Ironically, the absence of Matto, Lane and Carty has shown that they probably need to go ASAP as well - because this no longer a reno as I first thought, this is a full blown demolition and rebuild from the ground up.

In that respect its good that we have a new coach, because the old one could have never made the decisions that have been made and the decisions that are now needed! For that reason, I am strangely still optimistic, but not for this years results, but rather for the future that will come out of this change.

It's going to be a long year.
The fact Ryles hooked a few blokes early on was a nice positive sign he wasn't letting things drift during a game.

Did it make a difference no but it showed a bit of pro-activeness in the coaching box that has been lacking for a while then the standard 20-25 mins for first change.

Unfortantely the HIA to Williams meant he had to push Kelma back out there 5 mins later after getting hooked.

I think in a way say a lot about Ryles stands for with standards if Kelma is playing this week. As much as some other players didnt offer much.

Kelma's efforts in the first 15 mins were disgraceful and shouldn't be accepted.

I dont care how Cartwright is on the nose. You just can't cop what Kelma dished up yesterday at the start of the game and accept that as a FG Coach.

King-Gutho94

You might be right. Who is out there who is a running 5/8 a great defender, kicker etc for that price ?

How much did STG pay for Atkinson and how close to Dylan is he ?
Is Dylan a great kicker though.

His defence is elite despite some of the shocking attempts yesterday.

His running game is a bit overrated for mine how much space does he create for the players around him with it.

He had 3 kicks yesterday. He rarely kicks us out of trouble in our back half.

How haven't we developed a long kicking game with him in the past 5 years as an insurance policy to supplement Moses in both scenarios when Moses is playing and when he isnt.

Goes back to the lack of development in certain aspects of some players games.

Every half should have at least a decent long kicking game.

Dylan is on what 800-900k a year for us. Tell me how we are getting any value for money for that contract atm since he signed it after the 2022 GF.

Is Dylan a great kicker though.

His defence is elite despite some of the shocking attempts yesterday.

His running game is a bit overrated for mine how much space does he create for the players around him with it.

He had 3 kicks yesterday. He rarely kicks us out of trouble in our back half.

How haven't we developed a long kicking game with him in the past 5 years as an insurance policy to supplement Moses in both scenarios when Moses is playing and when he isnt.

Goes back to the lack of development in certain aspects of some players games.

Every half should have at least a decent long kicking game.

Dylan is on what 800-900k a year for us. Tell me how we are getting any value for money for that contract atm since he signed it after the 2022 GF.
I know the well worn criticisms of Dylan. They are repeated every day on here. But in the fair dinkum world, who is out there who could fill his shoes ? I know that people keep saying Galvin, but to me that's not realistic. He is off contract Nov 2025 and will probably cost the same as Dylan costs us now. Plus he'll want a career contract. That's a lot of cash plus you are competing against sombrero contracts.

You didn't answer the Qn about Atikinson, cos I think he would be the guy best suited. How much do you reckon STG paid and how far away is he from Dylan on the "out of 10 scale" ?

King-Gutho94

I know the well worn criticisms of Dylan. They are repeated every day on here. But in the fair dinkum world, who is out there who could fill his shoes ? I know that people keep saying Galvin, but to me that's not realistic. He is off contract Nov 2025 and will probably cost the same as Dylan costs us now. Plus he'll want a career contract. That's a lot of cash plus you are competing against sombrero contracts.

You didn't answer the Qn about Atikinson, cos I think he would be the guy best suited. How much do you reckon STG paid and how far away is he from Dylan on the "out of 10 scale" ?
Dragons paid 500k a year

Atkinson’s deal, reportedly worth $500,000 per season, proved too valuable for Cronulla to match given their cap constraints.

Galvin
Wishart
Metcalfe

I’d play Twidle or Josh Lynn there whilst we wait for them in 2027.

Wally21

serious question Gronk, are you happy with Dylan being our second highest paid player? I understand that having a team packed with talent takes years of set up, but my problem is what he delivers vs what he earns.
Last year you could at least see the effort in defence. That wasn’t there yesterday. And yes I know it was one game. But the problem is that his pay packet should mean he is on 100% of the time. Or at least for the first game of the season!
I honestly believe he should take the Newcastle money, before they pull the offer.

Lemon Squash

I agree.

I don't think he's worth anywhere near what Newcastle are offering him BUT there still aren't many halves available that have proven to be anywhere near what Dylan is capable of and if we lose him I don't know where we go to. After one trial game everyone was talking up Volkman as the solution, 3 weeks later we have put him on the scrapheap.

Dylbags had a bludger yesterday along with 16 other blokes.

The problem with Dylan is after 2022 where he had his break out year teams have realised how dangerous his running game can be so he is heavily marked, he is told to run a lot but its made him predictable. He's not a controlling half and in games where we are on the back foot like yesterday and all of last season he's going to struggle.

I actually thought he kicked okay last season for the most part... he's not Moses obviously but there are few in the comp who are.

If yesterdays game was a tight contest and we had plenty of attacking ball and failed to ice things then that is when I put more criticism on the halves. We weren't even in a fight yesterday at all, 17 blokes forgot how to tackle.

Sphagnum

Pretty dire way to start your coaching career. On paper there was a massive gulf between the teams but the effort from parra was pathetic. There were a few blokes who had a real dig but our halves were fkn terrible.

No doubt Martina told them to go out enjoy themselves, with no injuries, and here people are buoyed by us “winning “ the second half, this is Parra standards at the moment, we were nothing but absolutely embarrassing
I think Bellamy has higher standards than that. He even said in the presser he wasn't happy with the drop in intensity. He would've been happy with our first half drop in intensity though.

serious question Gronk, are you happy with Dylan being our second highest paid player? I understand that having a team packed with talent takes years of set up, but my problem is what he delivers vs what he earns.
Last year you could at least see the effort in defence. That wasn’t there yesterday. And yes I know it was one game. But the problem is that his pay packet should mean he is on 100% of the time. Or at least for the first game of the season!
I honestly believe he should take the Newcastle money, before they pull the offer.
Nononononono. I am not defending Dylan. I am trying to determine who is out there, how good they are and how much they would cost.
Galvin
Wishart
Metcalfe

I’d play Twidle or Josh Lynn there whilst we wait for them in 2027.

I don't think Galvin is a serious inclusion in the list. Simply because there is a club(s) that will offer him way more than we can this year.

Wishart is a great pick.

Metcalf is already copping it at Warriors for being weak as piss. I will need to watch him closer.

Sphagnum

I agree.

I don't think he's worth anywhere near what Newcastle are offering him BUT there still aren't many halves available that have proven to be anywhere near what Dylan is capable of and if we lose him I don't know where we go to. After one trial game everyone was talking up Volkman as the solution, 3 weeks later we have put him on the scrapheap.

Dylbags had a bludger yesterday along with 16 other blokes.

The problem with Dylan is after 2022 where he had his break out year teams have realised how dangerous his running game can be so he is heavily marked, he is told to run a lot but its made him predictable. He's not a controlling half and in games where we are on the back foot like yesterday and all of last season he's going to struggle.

I actually thought he kicked okay last season for the most part... he's not Moses obviously but there are few in the comp who are.

If yesterdays game was a tight contest and we had plenty of attacking ball and failed to ice things then that is when I put more criticism on the halves. We weren't even in a fight yesterday at all, 17 blokes forgot how to tackle.
Volkman can’t tackle. No wonder nobody else wanted him. Brown is fkn lazy. A couple of times the big boys made breaks up the middle or on his side and he was nowhere to be seen. All good halves are good support players, he barely ever rocks up on the end of that which is criminal considering his speed and strength.

it’s going to be another season of everyone making up the numbers until Melbourne and Penrith meet in the gf again.

it’s getting boring