Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd10: 6.25pm EELS v Titans GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 7/5/23

The Predictor

I
Yeah who’d have thunk they’d get a rails run with a sin bin and Moses would have an off day.

TBH I thought we were ripping them to bits, but catch up footy isn’t easy. Too many errors. Shaun Lane must have left his head in Sydney.
t is for other sides

yy_cheng

In summary
- BA was outcoached and made some terrible decisions in relation to the team and bench rotation
- Barlow and Lane have been average so far this year. Lane I’m sure is still lacking confidence but neither have been anywhere near last years form
- Matto Carty and Brown all outstanding.
- Gutho so important to this team
- Sivo can score a try but otherwise is a lazy and clueless player
- Moses goal kicking has cost us 4 (?) games now
I thought Hopgood was very good too.

I like the Matto/Carty/Hopgood combo.

Bailey was ok but needs to use Sivo more. It's why I always liked Ben Smith. He knew he couldnt do it on his own so made use of Big Eric on his wing.

Russell should take Dunster's spot but give him heaps of bombs at training

DaveMc

Dunster is really struggling, lack of pace is hurting us. Not sure if it was obvious on TV. (I was at the game), but from some plays Moses was defending on the wing with Dunster one in, I assume there may have been some concern about him lacking speed if they strip us on the wing.

Bit of a weird game really, not sure there’s a lot to take from it other than Matterson is a beast, Brown is a superstar when he’s on, and we need Gutho on the field at all times. Hodgson remains underwhelming, that bone-headed penalty he conceded came at a terrible time, we had momentum and just gifted them field position.

eels_fan

4th game this year we’ve scored the same amount of tries and lost.

Usually I’m not critical when it comes to sideline kicks, but he should be kicking at least 1 from 3.

we didn’t deserve to win, but the it would have been nice if the ref remembered he was allowed to blow penalties for us too….

not season over by any means, we are lucky the table is so close that we’re still only 2 wins from the top 4. The challenge will be beating Canberra without Moses

yy_cheng

Dunster is really struggling, lack of pace is hurting us. Not sure if it was obvious on TV. (I was at the game), but from some plays Moses was defending on the wing with Dunster one in, I assume there may have been some concern about him lacking speed if they strip us on the wing.

Bit of a weird game really, not sure there’s a lot to take from it other than Matterson is a beast, Brown is a superstar when he’s on, and we need Gutho on the field at all times. Hodgson remains underwhelming, that bone-headed penalty he conceded came at a terrible time, we had momentum and just gifted them field position.
Yup, i saw that and it was a good move actually re. Dunster/moses.

Brown was good coz we were chasing points. When we play the robotic boring crap, Dyl falls asleep

King-Gutho94

4th game this year we’ve scored the same amount of tries and lost.

Usually I’m not critical when it comes to sideline kicks, but he should be kicking at least 1 from 3.

we didn’t deserve to win, but the it would have been nice if the ref remembered he was allowed to blow penalties for us too….

not season over by any means, we are lucky the table is so close that we’re still only 2 wins from the top 4. The challenge will be beating Canberra without Moses
Your right about the penalties.

How was there not one 6 again all game for both teams.

Talk about taking the piss no chance either side was so perfect once the opposition got over the 40m line.

We were the better side, as we should have been

Didn't go our way, sucks, move on.

I disagree. I think we are a better side but they deserved to win as where the better side tonight. They took all their chances and exposed our weaknesses. We opened up to easily and chased our tails all night with desperation footy.
Possitive was Dylan's form. Negatives lack of giving a shit

Incorrect

In summary
- BA was outcoached and made some terrible decisions in relation to the team and bench rotation
- Barlow and Lane have been average so far this year. Lane I’m sure is still lacking confidence but neither have been anywhere near last years form
- Matto Carty and Brown all outstanding.
- Gutho so important to this team
- Sivo can score a try but otherwise is a lazy and clueless player
- Moses goal kicking has cost us 4 (?) games now
Nothing wrong with any of that. Agree on all counts.

84 Baby

I've been saying for best part of 6 months, I'd love Tannah Boyd in our 17. He's no superstar anywhere but can play 9 better than our starting 9, is a better halves backup than anyone we've got in reserves and could easily play #13 role. And kicks goals if you need him to. Probably would cost ~300K. Bargain
Why? He’s the starting half at Gold Coast and possibly the best goal kicker in comp. Zero chance his next contract is anywhere near $300k

Worst performance of the year, pitiful in fact. Coaching selections, decisions and interchanges cost is this one. Attention to detail at this club is simply appalling.

Soto

I think it's season over considering we have canbraaaa and soufs away.
We really are a clueless team with little footy smarts. When we need offloads at the end of the game we didn't do any. Sivo tackles sami in the air. Did you even see anyone even attempt a one on one steal? Foran is playing busted and the only real time he was tested dylbro burnt him. Moses really was a passenger tonight.
Played our best when we offloaded. The predictable bash up the middle (front load) is not fooling anyone.
Hodgson is slower than a wet week.
How Davey jumps 15 players into the starting 13 is mind fkn boggling. No issue with him starting on the bench but what has Doorey done wrong?
Moses should be aiming for the right hand post with his curve. His kicks are coming inside the left post from the left touchline it's just rubbish.
We have fk all pace. I'm almost certain if we take an intercept we don't have the speed to go length of the field like Pereira. Yes Simonsson put in a valiant chase but didn't think he was ever going to get him.
There was no need for guth to throw that pass. Go through the hands and we probably score.
Lastly thought ref was very average. They were camping on us and I don't think we got one six again call. Yet he was happy to call us not square and offside. He is nswcup standard that flog.
We need a new centre, winger, hooker and a prop and a new coach...I'm done with this bloke. Enough is enough. Ceiling has been reached. Time to go. We will not make the 8 this year if the next 2 games go as expected with losses to canbraaa and absolutely zero chance to beat soufs. Johnston will score 4 tries that night.
Not emotional just factual

I dont think its,season over yet but its getting close will be interesting to see what happens if we dont make top 8 if the board act on it
you could write it off as just not our night gutho in the bin and moses off just when we needed him most
the trouble is you only get so many losses a year and we are using them all up early i have a sinking feeling they will come back to haunt us when we are fighting to make the eight

our for and against is still better than most of the sides around us but it won't matter if they keep winning and we keep losing

Chipmunk

I think it's season over considering we have canbraaaa and soufs away.
We really are a clueless team with little footy smarts. When we need offloads at the end of the game we didn't do any. Sivo tackles sami in the air. Did you even see anyone even attempt a one on one steal?
Played our best when we offloaded. The predictable bash up the middle (front load) is not fooling anyone.
Hodgson is slower than a wet week.
How Davey jumps 15 players into the starting 13 is mind fkn boggling. No issue with him starting on the bench but what has Doorey done wrong?
Moses should be aiming for the right hand post with his curve. His kicks are coming inside the left post from the left wing it's just rubbish.
We have fk all pace. I'm almost certain if we take an intercept we don't have the speed to go length of the field like Pereira. Yes Simonsson put in a valiant chase but didn't think he was ever going to get him.
There was no need for guth to throw that pass. Go through the hands and we probably score.
Lastly thought ref was very average. They were camping on us and I don't think we got one six again call. Yet he was happy to call us not square and offside. He is nswcup standard that flog.
We need a new centre, winger, hooker and a prop and a new coach...I'm done with this bloke. Enough us enough. Ceiling has been reached. Time to go. We will not make the 8 this year if the next 2 games go as expected with losses to canbraaa and absolutely zero chance to beat soufs. Johnston will score 4 tries that night.
Not emotional just factual
Hard to argue with any of that to be honest.