Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd10: Eels v Roosters GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 15/5/22

Noise

We are a good team and can win this year if we play to our ceiling (as shown by storm / panthers win). But do so much dump shit.

Reckon a fit Hodgson is going to be one of our better signings if he is fit! It’s what this side is missing! A smart “elite” player in the spine!
Hodgson hasn’t been elite for a few years.

Snoochies

Does a seven point loss to one of the better teams (they are as good on paper as we are ffs) mean we can't win the comp this year? The Panthers lost last week to an inferior team. It's just one game ffs. What matters is the finals, and we just need three or four weeks of effort and a bit of luck.
'If' we can't. I didn't say we can't. But if we can't this year, can you see greater days ahead in the immediate future?

Bandwagon

Gutho to Drown as merkins here would have it.

Gutho: Sorry old chap, far be it from me to criticise, but next time you make a line break, you might want to look inside for support.

Drown: Well, next time I will, thanks for your input

Gutho: Carry on then. Chin up.

Chipmunk

So you disagree we have a lot of dumb players? Our team is powerful mate. That is the type of player we mostly have and why we play the way we do.
But we didn't play a powerful game, and hardly have all season.

The one tactic that has provided all of our success for the last three seasons, front loading our effort and chasing the collision is now no longer even mentioned by the coach or players. Have we seriously moved away from the only thing that gave us our success for 3 seasons?

Rugby League is a simple game, generally the team who runs hardest and tackles hardest wins. The Panthers hardly get beaten because of it.

yy_cheng

But we didn't play a powerful game, and hardly have all season.

The one tactic that has provided all of our success for the last three seasons, front loading our effort and chasing the collision is now no longer even mentioned by the coach or players. Have we seriously moved away from the only thing that gave us our success for 3 seasons?

Rugby League is a simple game, generally the team who runs hardest and tackles hardest wins. The Panthers hardly get beaten because of it.
I don't know if ba is pacing them or nor to prevent them being burnt out

Eelogical

Try that seals it is at least 3-4 meters forward, and the penalty against Drown that gifted them a seven point lead nailed the coffin.

We were the better side.

Less errors

Less missed tackles

More meters

More tackle breaks

Better completion rate

Faster PTB

More forced dropouts.
Imo we were the better side for roughly 20-25 minutes in the second half. For the rest of the game we were what Parra does best with the troops we have at our disposal. Until we add another dimension to our game we will continue to see results like we did tonight.

We played for about 15 mins, and got within 1 point and then put in a real lazy set and that was about it. People who reckon we were the better side are playing with themselves.

Joshuatheeel

Hodgson hasn’t been elite for a few years.
Was elite and now playing in a poor spine…90% or more of footy decisions are already pre made, it’s the 1% decisions that change a game. Hodgson experience and ability while playing in a better spine / side (thus is not required to make as many decisions/take control), is going to be a plus for us next year.

Anyhow time will tell, we all have different opinions , and obviously has injury concerns which he needs to get past. But I am convinced a fit Hodgson is going to give us something we don’t have, better decision making in our spine..

How do you know that?
From watching them play. They make poor decisions too often to play a style that requires them to make more decisions and expect success. Just like if we had lighter forwards and played a style that required more forwards running through the middle. It wouldn't suit our players. What we do now works for us.

Joshuatheeel

It's not about what you deserve, in the heat of the game that's what happens, you f**k up, you get yelled at, you get on with it.

I'm pretty damn sure no one on field gives a shit, it's not personal, it's what it is.
Totally agree! It happens! Can’t see there being any issue between the players etc etc etc.., it’s just not what makes a good captain….

King-Gutho94

Was elite and now playing in a poor spine…90% or more of footy decisions are already pre made, it’s the 1% decisions that change a game. Hodgson experience and ability while playing in a better spine / side (thus is not required to make as many decisions/take control), is going to be a plus for us next year.

Anyhow time will tell, we all have different opinions , and obviously has injury concerns which he needs to get past. But I am convinced a fit Hodgson is going to give us something we don’t have, better decision making in our spine..
Unfortunately unless we are playing in the wheelchair comp i dont think hodgo is going to make a difference with those cooked knees.

Joshuatheeel

Unfortunately unless we are playing in the wheelchair comp i dont think hodgo is going to make a difference with those cooked knees.
Yep definitely a risk but he was ok last year, we only need 1 good year from him…a club like ours has to take them…