Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd10: Eels v Roosters GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 15/5/22

As opposed to you, Bea’s forum white knight in shining armour.
Try talking about the game, player efforts and good things that happened.

I agree that the buck stops with the coach and Barrett knows this, but you can't just rest your whole blame game on that guy in the box.

There is little doubt that we didn't start the game well, but do you really think that the coaches message was any different to last week ? What did Belly, Fitzgibbon and Hasler do different this week in preparation or is does the performance rest on the players ?

I'm not privvy to training and niggles, but our pack must have been carrying some injuries. Low minutes by our starting props suggests this.

Anyway you do you.

N.Brown surely goes to the bench this week. I'm amazed Matterson isn't starting. He is our form forward while Brown is looking like his best days are gone.
Do people realise Matto played more minutes than all our other middles? And has been consistently getting similar minutes to Nrown?

So we start Matto with rcg and jnr ... Then they alll come off and we have Maka, Oregon and Nrown on .... I think we would get analed at that point

I thought you were a student of the game ? Why do you think that he spends most of the game on the field from 20m mark when our props rotate ? You want to weaken our bench more ?

I hope that Marata is back soon.

Mattersons an 80min lock forward in career form. He isn't an impact player.
Brown would set a different tone.

Watching Papali'i form gee he is going to be a huge blow. It's a shame we didn't let.N.Brown go instead.

Do people realise Matto played more minutes than all our other middles? And has been consistently getting similar minutes to Nrown?

So we start Matto with rcg and jnr ... Then they alll come off and we have Maka, Oregon and Nrown on .... I think we would get analed at that point

Matto wouldn't come off. He would play longer minutes. Full game perhaps. Or a rest at the 55th when Jnr and RCG come back on.

yy_cheng

After our big win against Penrith I thought we may of turned corner. But we are what we are and I should always go with my footy brain and original thoughts rather then my heart.
Hot garbage.

I'm surprised you're not feeling similar after the shit we dished

Matto wouldn't come off. He would play longer minutes. Full game perhaps. Or a rest at the 55th when Jnr and RCG come back on.
Or shift to the edge to replace lane or paps like the panfers game

I still think carty should've came on 10 mins b4 halftime yesterday

Mattersons an 80min lock forward in career form. He isn't an impact player.
Brown would set a different tone.
You're ignoring our bench and the bigger picture. Who is going to compensate for our two props when they rotate off ? Nrown ? I thought you said he was infective ?

We miss Marata and we miss a decent prop from the bench. Makka and Oregon barely hold their own.

Gazzamatta

On fullback Teddys defense was poor at times. Turbo is out of sorts. Gutherson been very poor this season. Latrells been injured. Ponga dissapointing.
So many good players not going well currently
I reckon Guthos D has been outstanding. One bad miss on a difficult ball yesterday is all the blame I could raise against him.

Gazzamatta

I agree that the buck stops with the coach and Barrett knows this, but you can't just rest your whole blame game on that guy in the box.

There is little doubt that we didn't start the game well, but do you really think that the coaches message was any different to last week ? What did Belly, Fitzgibbon and Hasler do different this week in preparation or is does the performance rest on the players ?

I'm not privvy to training and niggles, but our pack must have been carrying some injuries. Low minutes by our starting props suggests this.

Anyway you do you.
Very strange the minutes and performances of Reg and Pawloooo yesterday. Given Chooks were well in front I expected the usual BA response to have these 2 guys on for maximum minutes. It seemed like a preconceived plan given he treated both starters the same. Unfortunately neither had any impact in the minutes they did play. It was like they were on a go slow. Could be trying to get more mins into Oregon and Maka with Origin just around the corner. I wonder if Reg and Jnr were happy with this plan. I guess Fridays game will answer all this.

Anyway you do you.
Read the thread genius, quite a few of us were critical of the players and their efforts, it’s not just all on the coach but he’s a big f**king part of it.

Sure mate. Hey, lucky we are not playing Bea / Jake Arthur bingo drinking games this morning eh ?

We play the Tigers with origin players missing. Other two games we have bye or its a stand alone rnd.

We have two game after origin backing up. Against Dogs on the Monday which is 5 days and Warriors at home 2 days later.
Pretty soft origin period for us and should win all 3.

IFR33K

As I said earlier. The score probably doesn't reflect what happened. The Roosters where dominant. At 25-24 I thought we would roll over them but they just went up another gear and we didn't seem able to go with them. We looked gassed.

We are not creating overlaps. And that is why our wingers are barely scoring tries. Sides are getting inside our red zone and have us scrambling every time and finding holes.
Our defense is becoming very poor. Our attack looks a bit clueless and as GUS said, there is just no plan.

We have the nucleus of a good side and certainly capable. Execution wasn't there yesterday. Unsure why we seem to only be able to put in 1 or 2 good games in a row. Perhaps back end of the year we will??

N.Brown surely goes to the bench this week. I'm amazed Matterson isn't starting. He is our form forward while Brown is looking like his best days are gone. And give Bryce some minutes. He can break down a defense and needs game time.

We def need matto playing more minutes. He’s in form and been excellent in the middle.

He’d still be playing 25mins on an edge if it was up to Super coach. The Riff semi showed how good Matto in the middle can be for us. Takes a while for Bea to figure things out. Like the bench for instance, any day now he’ll have that figured out…….

This forums turning to shit. If you voice your thoughts on a game in any sort of negative way or how you think something else might work you get grilled. It is actually becoming a little sickening . I've just about had enough of game day posting.
It’s why I mainly post in the NRL game day forum, Baz is another that just does that. It’s much more fun and people watching the game without blue and gold goggles on.