Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd11: Eels v Manly GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 20/5/22

He'll be 33 next year. Hope we have plan B.

Rein is a solid back up. Hands and Yates I think can play there also and have some potential.
On Yates what is his preferred position?

I doubt our clubs that dumb we don't have a succession plan.

Also to win a title you need a strong 14 players and some depth. I think in years gone pass we had to much depth and notna strong enough 14.
Penrith has a great system cause the depth is a lot of talented juniors. Our NSW cup side is looking similar now. Maybe not as much quality.
If we did have better depth then our best side wouldn't be as strong. And probably no chance of a title. The risk is injuries. Good depth means you'll cover well and make finals but won't challenge the top sides.
I know when Manly won titles they had a great 13 and then the talent dropped off heaps. The reserves and back ups where terrible.

Yeah it's a shame Tom turbo in full flight is awesome to watch.

But I was watching Tom off the ball the other night his knee wasn't right.

Behind the play he was limping when he didn't have to exert energy or was needed in the play and even his body language just didn't look right before the injury.

Been average this season. Great player but glad he isn't on our roster. 1 mill a year and lucky to get 12 games out of him. Would be a shame but I doubt he will be playing by age 27. His body isn't made for NRL. It's nothing to do with luck with him. David Woods was similar.

IFR33K

I am one of the few people that actually sees a footballer in Jake Arthur - he's got a good footy brain, he defends well, and his kicking game is generally good.

He also has decent pace - not outstanding, but good enough to be a problem for opposition defences.

His main area of improvement is the speed at which he makes decisions, and this will come with more competitive experience.

honestly, not sure what you’ve seen in his game. Yes he’s scored a couple tries and one from a kick, but his kicking game has been ordinary and most people haven’t seen anything.

when the fan back lash happened a couple weeks ago, I spoke to a few supporters of other teams. I wanted an unbiased opinion of ja and the situation. Pretty much all of them told me he’s no where near FG standard and fans had the right to be upset about moving drown to centre, to accommodate him.

IFR33K

I think he's too slow in every thing he does

He should follow mattos route.

Hit the gym and Bulk up. Learn to run hard with his bulk

Then he can play in the middle like a lock and be able to become a middle forward.

Our team lacks pace, a slow half doesn't help

And I really don't like his slow movements in other aspects of his game.

Look at the young ones in the comp who are doing well. They are confident and even somewhat arrogant cos they are use to a winning culture or they back their own abilities mentally.

I just don't see that in JA.

He's like he just wants to please daddy and scared of being himself.

I can’t see him bulking up and actually getting much faster. Too robotic and slow.

King-Gutho94

Been average this season. Great player but glad he isn't on our roster. 1 mill a year and lucky to get 12 games out of him. Would be a shame but I doubt he will be playing by age 27. His body isn't made for NRL. It's nothing to do with luck with him. David Woods was similar.
Gutho and Turbo were the 2 young fullbacks coming through the juniors at Manly that were lined up as the replacement for Brett Stewart when he retired.

Manly kept Turbo and released Gutho.

Who has provided more value for money so far between the two In there careers.

IFR33K

Rein is a solid back up. Hands and Yates I think can play there also and have some potential.
On Yates what is his preferred position?

I doubt our clubs that dumb we don't have a succession plan.

Also to win a title you need a strong 14 players and some depth. I think in years gone pass we had to much depth and notna strong enough 14.
Penrith has a great system cause the depth is a lot of talented juniors. Our NSW cup side is looking similar now. Maybe not as much quality.
If we did have better depth then our best side wouldn't be as strong. And probably no chance of a title. The risk is injuries. Good depth means you'll cover well and make finals but won't challenge the top sides.
I know when Manly won titles they had a great 13 and then the talent dropped off heaps. The reserves and back ups where terrible.

I get the feeling Ba doesn’t like to attack thru the hooker. Rheed should be encouraged to take them on more often, not sure why he doesn’t.

Pazza

I get the feeling Ba doesn’t like to attack thru the hooker. Rheed should be encouraged to take them on more often, not sure why he doesn’t.

BA ain't very smart. You wanna play behind guys like rcg, paulo, papalii there's going be plenty of opportunities to split teams through the middle.

honestly, not sure what you’ve seen in his game. Yes he’s scored a couple tries and one from a kick, but his kicking game has been ordinary and most people haven’t seen anything.

when the fan back lash happened a couple weeks ago, I spoke to a few supporters of other teams. I wanted an unbiased opinion of ja and the situation. Pretty much all of them told me he’s no where near FG standard and fans had the right to be upset about moving drown to centre, to accommodate him.

Don't get me wrong - he isn't at First Grade level yet.

But I think he has the base for a solid player - he just needs to work on quickness between the ears, which will invariably come with experience.

But he can get that experience in NSW Cup.

Soren Lorenson

BA ain't very smart. You wanna play behind guys like rcg, paulo, papalii there's going be plenty of opportunities to split teams through the middle.
FWIW, I would like to see Dylan have a run out of dummy half occasionally. I reckon his pace and strength would be lethal off the back of a quick play the ball.

He’s always just wanted a tackling bag that leads the line speed, it’s probably why Mahoney is happy to leave.

Gutho pushes him out of the way to do it. I think Reed is not seeing the gaps like the best in the biz Camillions used to. Probably why Harry will get the Qld job and not him.

FWIW, I would like to see Dylan have a run out of dummy half occasionally. I reckon his pace and strength would be lethal off the back of a quick play the ball.
In the early tackles he’s having a rest from defending in the last defensive set. This is why the backs take up the slack.

These are make believe thoughts in your head.
Peats said similar when he left for the Titans, it's hardly a shock.

Two of Bea's all time favs De Gois and Prichard loved leading the line speed and chasing the collision, but were about as creative as you. But yeah thoughts in my head.

Peats said similar when he left for the Titans, it's hardly a shock.

Two of Bea's all time favs De Gois and Prichard loved leading the line speed and chasing the collision, but were about as creative as you. But yeah thoughts in my head.
No citations other than anecdotal rumours from Nathan Peats who was massively pissed that it was him who had move on because of plummer-gate.

Doesn't mean he was wrong, you only have to see how we have attacked historically in all Bea's time here. The only time ww really go through the middle is when Guth takes a scoot. But yeah thoughts in my head.

Gutho and Turbo were the 2 young fullbacks coming through the juniors at Manly that were lined up as the replacement for Brett Stewart when he retired.

Manly kept Turbo and released Gutho.

Who has provided more value for money so far between the two In there careers.

Sure. But where Manly to know? Gutho had a knee reco himself.
When fit Turbo is 3 x the player. Guths just a good solid fullback. I dont feel like he is anything special. Safe and reliable. Good defense and a nice pass. His speed and run game would be one of the worse in the NRL.