Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd11: Parra v Manly GAME DAY THREAD at BankWest 23/5/21

Joshuatheeel

Serious question, what do you think they say to Waqa regarding defence?

wake up son.... his time could be up...

my response to happy:

Yeah I was a Blake fan, but starting to think that is a better option. Give Blake 1 game with Drown as Arthur may not be helping either. No improvement Marata centre ...

so yeah I think I was probably wrong and Marata should probably be centre.

lucablight

Agreed with everything except the effort. Players gave effort when they had ball in hand. But that’s not professional first grade effort. There was very little attempt to get into position, or support ball runners, or pressure Manly, or even to communicate with our teammates.
If that’s the worst we play all season, fine but that lack of effort is very disappointing.
I agree about the lack of support runners and lack of communication. Too many players started trying to pull off miracle plays that no one else knew was coming. I think apart from that play where Gutherson puts Sivo over we don’t really play as a team in attack.

Chipmunk

Surely Waqa Blake cops a couple of weeks suspension, we bring Marata back in and Waqa is informed to enjoy reserve grade until he finds a new club willing to pay his contract.

Yet the score says we have the third best attack in the comp, and the third best defence, and are running third.

So what gives there mate?

Have a look how we are scoring those tries and also when.
Its based on wearing sides down with brut power. Steam rolling them. This works against weaker sides. They just are not fit enough to go with you. Hits the 60th minute and you lay on 2 or 3 quick trys. Blow out.
But your smart and better sides match the power and then out skill you. It is also very hard to play this physical type of footy every week.

Come finals we can turn it up and go full power. If Moses and Mahoneys kicking games on they still can win the comp imo. But my worry is our forwards will burn out.

Teams have awaken to our set move to Papali'i also. We need more options.

Our defense on the Fergo/Blake side just constantly gets opened. Blake isn't great but Gergo also is at fault. IMO the guys a has been and completely done. I am open to trying Waqa on the wing and that's based in his Aerial threat along with the fact he has speed and power. He also has another 2yrs on a lot of money so it is in our best interest to get him firing and part of the 17.

I also like the unpredictability of W.Smith in the side. If its 14 that's fine but I would genuinely consider him starting. Very cheekie player. Defenses hate asking these types. D.Brown might be the answer at centre.
Now one guy I also would be open to is Milford. He needs a change and is still an extremely talented footballer. At the right price a mid season swap might be what both sides need.

Eelogical

Surely Waqa Blake cops a couple of weeks suspension, we bring Marata back in and Waqa is informed to enjoy reserve grade until he finds a new club willing to pay his contract.
He's go well in Pommyland. They love missing tackles over there.

This was always going to be a danger game. Not only were we exposed by the defensive incompetence of Blake but our general lack of pace is something that needs to be addressed.

Jake Arthur was poor but Moses was worse.

Manly however were fantastic today and those two Serbian boys especially Tomislav were exceptional. I was happy with our own Serbian boy’s game and I thought Nathan Brown, RCG and Paulo were our best. Gutherson tried hard but was schooled by the best fullback in the game.

T-Boon

As expected....

Yep, I heard BA before game tell, matterson to offload off the ground, Cartwright to kick, Moses to throw a stupid pass, Gutho to throw a stupid pass, Sivo to knock on etc etc etc...

But, what, he takes the credit by way of a paycheck when good things happen.
All those things you list ed are his fault because he doesnt teach good attack.

In all seriousness. I couldn’t give a f**k whether we won today. Penrith and the Storm are streets ahead of us. Would need both of them to fall on their own swords.

Not true. Manly pushed the Panthers. We can do the same if we all fired and played smart. We need to make changes but we can not give up on this fight yet. The coach needs to just learn from our losses and see how we are being exposed. Come finals put in all your effort. Our packs very good. Fix our weaknesses. And hope Moses hits a bit of a purple patch.

This was always going to be a danger game. Not only were we exposed by the defensive incompetence of Blake but our general lack of pace is something that needs to be addressed.

Jake Arthur was poor but Moses was worse.

Manly however were fantastic today and those two Serbian boys especially Tomislav were exceptional. I was happy with our own Serbian boy’s game and I thought Nathan Brown, RCG and Paulo were our best. Gutherson tried hard but was schooled by the best fullback in the game.
Tom glides across the park. His bro needs to be NSW lock just because of their combination.

In all seriousness. I couldn’t give a f**k whether we won today. Penrith and the Storm are streets ahead of us. Would need both of them to fall on their own swords.
They are the May grand finalists. Awsome.

Yes. I’m also aware of his defensive decline. How many games do you think we will win with Waqa in the side?
Less than we would without him in the side. Haven't read the comments but hardly surprised Pou is making excuses for this absolute fraud. Has he brought out the ridiculous stat how many games he has won in first grade???

The worst thing he did was give up on the chase when Manly scored right before half time. I can cop people making mistakes and i can cop them not playing well but i can't stand a bloke who just gives up. Hopefully he is suspended for the next decade.

We did and were really bad. But we've beaten some good teams this year, so bad day at the office.

Cherry and the Alphabet Bros were exceptional.
Manly were very good, defence was great and they took most of their chances. I still think our attack against the better defence sides is bog average.

Not true. Manly pushed the Panthers. We can do the same if we all fired and played smart. We need to make changes but we can not give up on this fight yet. The coach needs to just learn from our losses and see how we are being exposed. Come finals put in all your effort. Our packs very good. Fix our weaknesses. And hope Moses hits a bit of a purple patch.
You literally said the exact opposite 15 min ago.

Nathan Brown doing his best. Only one
lol he tries hard but I reckon he is one of the most overrated players in the comp, massive handbrake in attack, has the slowest play the ball in the comp and when was the last time he broke a tackle???? The wraps he was getting on the call were laughable, got dominated by Keppie lol.

T-Boon

Moses was a lot better than Arthur. Moses problem is that he is on his own. I wasnt even aware Arthur was playing most of the game.