Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd12: EELS v Rabbits GAME DAY THREAD @ Allianz Stadium 19/5/23

Pazza

Bloody hell…no wonder we absolutely dominated them. Look at these run metres.

View attachment 74437
View attachment 74438

Its amazing what possession can do for a prop. It maximises their ability to take hit ups while minimising defensive workload.

The old adage that the forwards lay the platform is true but it also relys heavily on the rest of the team being deciplined with and without the footy and the halves making good decisions, forcing errors etc

Looks like BA's whinging about the penalty count last week paid off.

Funny that after 10 years.

Won the penalty count 6-1 and ruck infringement 1-0.
There’s slow learners and then there’s BA who is a decade late to the party.

next learnings for BA would be:

- Team motivation (this not so secret tactic is also employed by other coaches)

- team bus to Grand Final (and NO BA it’s not just another game)

King-Gutho94

What the WTF just happened?
I’ve advocated like many to get rid of Brad over the years, (one game doesn’t make a season, but this was special) then he gets the boys up, v the leaders…. credit where credit is due well done Brad and the boys!!!!!

Shout out to Ash Klein :)
It think it reinforces the frustration when we play bad.

The team is good enough we shouldn't be in the position we are in.

After what we did last night to our bogey side should mean we fear no one.

Our record against the likes of Penrith and Melbourne is better then 90% of the comp.

King-Gutho94

@King-Gutho94 must of been sweet to watch that win from the corporate area!
reminds me of a time when I was a guest of the sharks in 2001 and our Eels toweled them up, I thin 40-0. Me and my mate were walking around the sharks club singing” Parra’s gonna win the comp”. Pity we lost in the GF
Yeah it was sweet and a great night.

Got home at 2:30am was able to sober up getting the metro from Wynyard back to the hills.

A box we had was shared with this souths fan who paid 30k to be a corporate sponsor of Cody Walker for the match. He wasn't apart of our group.

But he was waffling on before the game how Latrell and Cody will tear us to shreds. It's indigenous round and Souths have the best indigenous culture in the game.

The bloke left with 10 mins to go. Even though the bar fridge was still getting topped up.

I was so worried before the game because my one ray of hope was that even after all the losses we still had a much better good for & against than the teams around us and I thought souths would put 40 on us so that's gone

Instead we actually added to it

You can just divide it by the number of games. We have scored the most tries per game in the comp. Obviously there's more than half a season still to go, so it doesn't mean a lot. And in any case, nobody gets a medal for being the best attacking team. But it shows merkins that whinge about our attack have no clue, and are just inventing shit to whinge about.

cHaSe tHe CoLlIsIoN!!!1!!!

Last night we attacked differently. We moved the ball every set. And we offloaded heaps more in the middle. It was good to see. Our back also did a lot more work. Simmonson was electric

We were able to 'play footy' because we controlled the ball and wore Souths down. Our five middles combined for 810m ffs

I thought we moved it inside our own half a lot more this week. We played footy for most the game. Yes I understand we often are tired and then go into our shell if don't get much ball. But last night was very different.
Anyhows I said earlier this week our season looks different if we beat Souths and Cowboys. It also gives us faith we can win any game after a victory like that.

King-Gutho94

Last night we attacked differently. We moved the ball every set. And we offloaded heaps more in the middle. It was good to see. Our back also did a lot more work. Simmonson was electric
Might have been a by-product of souths flogging us everytime for the past 4 years.

BA or the players realised we had to try something different and go away from the normal game plan.

Hopefully it forces a change into a way we play.

Moses is the best short side halfback in the comp the first try to Russell there was barely any room and they did it perfectly.

He plays them as long as he needs to. Paulo played 73 minutes tonight and he was fine because we controlled the ball. He will be fresh by kickoff next week because there is literally 10000 minutes for him to rest and rehydrate ffs. The long minutes only matter if we don't complete our sets.

Or if in Nth Qld. Then your f**ked for more then 9 days

Bandwagon

Yeah, the offload was back big time, but is that because we decided to use it, or because we consistently won the collision in the middle for a change.

Post contact meters from our forwards suggests the latter.

Bandwagon

Might have been a by-product of souths flogging us everytime for the past 4 years.

BA or the players realised we had to try something different and go away from the normal game plan.

Hopefully it forces a change into a way we play.

Moses is the best short side halfback in the comp the first try to Russell there was barely any room and they did it perfectly.

As per above, I don't reckon we changed our game plan all that much, if it all, I reckon we just executed it superbly and bashed them, we earn't the right to use the ball, and because we did we weren't pushing the pass off the back foot, so far less errors.

During the interviews Gutherson said -
We have the Cowboys then the bye and then we get RCG back after that.....
Unsure if he slipped up. But it will be 7 weeks so probably about right?