Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd18: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY thread (11/9/20)

IFR33K

I honestly feel for our players. Last week we tried using the ball and surrendered several times to stop giving obstruction penalties away. We just looked confused out there. This week we went out with a 5 hit up game plan and they were on a hiding to nothing. They may work in under 9’s but not nrl. We’re totally lost in attack. We need a coach brought into the bubble for the remaining few weeks. We need a different voice or come in from another angle.

Paul green, Geoff Toovey, or another coach not associated with a team. Our attacking structures are just not happening and there’s no point persevering.

I wanted Bennett but the merkin probably would have f**ked off back to Brisbane after two years so that he could more regularly fellate Boyd.
I’m pretty sure you laughed at the suggestion of Clint Eastwood or was that Hasler? I liked everyone except Arthur because we came last and he comes across as a dumb merkin in press conferences especially when we lose.

Never Bennett. I questioned you on Hasler.

Said that he left Manly and then the Bulldogs in a shitful mess after backloading a lot of contracts. He hasn't had a lot of luck with injuries this year at Manly so it would be unfair to judge him too harshly on that.

Never Bennett. I questioned you on Hasler.

Said that he left Manly and then the Bulldogs in a shitful mess after backloading a lot of contracts. He hasn't had a lot of luck with injuries this year at Manly so it would be unfair to judge him too harshly on that.
Fair enough. I like what Holbrook is doing. There is a definite change at the Titans.

I can’t believe I’m saying this but a halfback/half like Foran would have been handy last night but only after his 25th season ending injury and current mindset.

The posters on here who like to blame the coach are probably the same ones who expected us to win the comp when we were leading it after 9 rounds. IMO 2020 has never been our premiership window. We needed another year in the young bodies of Mahoney amd Drown before we can seriously think we are a chance at a premiership. Melbourne and Roosters have gotten away with having some of their spine inexperienced because of Smith, Cronk and Friend and the experience they have brung.

Its about improving a side and changing tactics. Betters side don't need to take risks. We are not going to stick with them playing a safety first natural game. It is up to the cosch to develop some suprise tactics to give us a chance. Surely the coaching teams understand if we played our normal game we limp out in finals. We need to come up with a high risk high reward game..

It means changing the squad a little also. Sivo needed a holiday months ago. Yet he persists.

Fair enough. I like what Holbrook is doing. There is a definite change at the Titans.

I can’t believe I’m saying this but a halfback/half like Foran would have been handy last night but only after his 25th season ending injury and current mindset.
Hollbrook could end up being a great NRL coach. I like that he backed himself with the Titans.

Moses is good, but not in the same league as the best halves.

I was at the game this evening and frankly the score line flattered your team.

I’m not trying to be a smart arse or whatever but the Panthers were far superior in every aspect of the game and really should have won by a much bigger margin.

I’m not sure where the issues lay with your team which looks strong on paper but seriously, again I’m not being smug here, but you basically offered nothing in attack and our defence was more than capable of dealing with what you threw at us.

You suggest we have no elite, fair call I guess, but we should or could have been up 24-0 at half time had we have finished the opportunities we created.

You mentioned JFH not being a game breaker. No he’s not but ran for 200 metres along with his 40 odd tackles while RCG did f**k all. RCG in the first half of this season was a beast and I was so happy for him. Sadly he appears to have regressed back to his Panthers form of 18/19 because tonight he offered nothing.

I wasn't being a smart arse either. Jfh is a beast but not a game breaker. Penrith is a great well balanced side is my point. Kikau and Korisau are closest to game breakers but they are not toumolo or Turbo or Ponga or Teddy for example.
Too smashed us all night. So did Mansour.
You are right on RCG and JNR. After rnd 10 plenty called them the best 2 props in game and starters for NSW. But our peanut coach played them 60mins every game and burnt them both out. Both are running on fumes.

Parra was a rag doll. I reckon Brisbane put up a far better fight but perhaps Penrith didn't put in as much energy.
Parra didn't have anything. They couldn't even get pass halfway. A couple of last ditch tackles and dropped balls otherwise its 40-2

Look the ideal scenario for me would be to see an Eels v Panthers GF.

If I had to put my hard earned cash on the sides competing for the big prize I think I would be backing a Roosters v Storm they are clearly still the benchmarks.

Leaving aside the RCG v JFH debate, I was ecstatic with the win tonight but at the same time I am a realist and recognise it was the sort of performance likely to be good enough to beat the Storm or Roosters when it really counts.

So where does tonight leave you guys? There is going to be some soul searching to do, post game. We clearly won the battle up front which is concerning for you guys given your promising early form was on the back of winning the forwards battle.

It’s not for me to dissect where it is going wrong for your team but I make one observation and that is the fact your key man in Moses was underwhelming tonight whereas Cleary while not one of his better games was always in the thick of the action.

The vicous fish is superior then RCG.... No debate for me.
Moses is a bum. He is stiffling the side like Maloney was you guys. Dbrown must be handed the keys in 2020.

I thought young Kafusi played better than Junior and RCG last night. Really made some good post contact yards. He’s coming along well. That’s one positive in a shit night

28% possesion and waits till after 3o minutes to take our starting props off. Leaves N brown play 80..... Why didn't Stone come back on or Davey get some real minutes? BA cooked the
I watched the game again and reckon that these were the reasons we lost.

1. Whilst we defended to the death, our line speed was actually poor. I know we were gassed, but the lack of line speed meant that they could make 50m+ a set. Their line speed was good (der they hardly had to tackle) which meant that Mitch was kicking on 5 inside our half every set.

2. Dummy half service was gash in the first half. On the rare times we had the ball the first receiver had to jump to catch the ball above his head or at his knees. You can’t roll up the field when you are hitting up flat footed.

3. Our two wingers are not making the solid yards on tackle 1 2 3 like they used to. Sivo is injured or has the yips. Next week v Broncos must be Haze’s debut with Sivo rested.

4. Whilst their good line speed pressured our attack, Moses panicked too many times. He needs to trust the system and learn to earn the right to score points. It is clear that he is missing his 6 as Field is a passenger. He tackled well but offered zero support in our attcking structure and tackle 5 kicks. I’d chop him if we had an alternative. Do we ?

Our back 3 do not make strong carries. Gutherson makes up for it elsewhere. But too and Josh just bashed us up guts every run. So did Edwards

Sivo was awful again. Fergo is trying a lot harder and I thought his defence on the right side was better.

One out stuff doesn't work against well drilled teams like Penrith but would probably work against a lot of the bottom sides. My concern though is that if we try and be more creative we tend to resort to the sideways shit. I don't see another gear that we will need in the finals.

The difference in metres gained was a killer last night. If Moses didn't have a good long kicking game it could have been a lot harder.

I hope Canbera get done by Saints today. We could then put a big effort against Brisbane and then rest Lane,Rcg and Jnr in last rnd. And give others low minutes.
Its hard to attack when only making 30mtrs a set. We are burned out. 60mins a week for big guys like our starting props will burn you out. Especialy without byes this year. Poor management imo.

Penrith attack wasn't great but the rest of their games was special. I dont even think the Roosters or Storm could hold pur pack back to 30 odd meters sets for most the game.

W.Smith did look like he could spark something and I would keep him in our best 17. He offers plenty in attack. More then Mahoney. It may mean Stone misses out but if he is only coming on as a hooker then he is pointless. Stine is a lock....

IFR33K

Hollbrook could end up being a great NRL coach. I like that he backed himself with the Titans.

Moses is good, but not in the same league as the best halves.

Is that the same Holbrook that hindy suggested and you laughed at him? Asking for a friend.

W.Smith made 42 tackles and only 1 missed.

I'd keep our side the same bar Taka in for Sivo.

My bench.

W.Smith
Niakuore
KE
Gower/Kafusi/Stone

Mr Parramatta

The posters on here who like to blame the coach are probably the same ones who expected us to win the comp when we were leading it after 9 rounds. IMO 2020 has never been our premiership window. We needed another year in the young bodies of Mahoney amd Drown before we can seriously think we are a chance at a premiership. Melbourne and Roosters have gotten away with having some of their spine inexperienced because of Smith, Cronk and Friend and the experience they have brung.
How many years of Brad do you think we’ll need ?

Gazzamatta

Is that the same Holbrook that hindy suggested and you laughed at him? Asking for a friend.
Ive been advocating for Holbrook for years. The style he had our 20s play while here was so not Parra. He excelled and was poached by the Chooks. No forsight by us. He then went to the UK and absolutely killed it. Blind Freddy could see he had the stuff. His win record, defensive and attacking figures were incredible. Ill watch those Tits with great interest next year. At least they are Blue and Yellow.

Mr Parramatta

I think Brad is a top guy and a Parra man through and through, let’s put a pen through everyone else and keep him for life, because when is contract ends we will be in the fight for our life to keep him!!!:pray:

emjaycee

Great spin mate. That wasn’t my point. We’re struggling hugely in attack. Actually can I say that? We have no actual attack!!!!
I am not disputing our attack is non-existent mate... In fact i said that somewhere. I just don't see the need to compare it to teams that are leaking 23+ points a game on average.

1st vs 3rd. 3rd losses in a valiant effort with no ball.

3rd has a few injuries in key positions and can’t sway possession. 1st team too good, evidenced by their 13 straight wins.

3rd team LOL’d all week how Gould sacked the new STG coach a few weeks before finals.

In an ironic twist, 3rd teams fair weather “fans” turn on the coach and notwithstanding a 13/5 season and want him sacked.

Cannot deal with you lot sometimes. Peace, out. :pray: