Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd18: Parra v Penrith GAME DAY thread (11/9/20)

1st vs 3rd. 3rd losses in a valiant effort with no ball.

3rd has a few injuries in key positions and can’t sway possession. 1st team too good, evidenced by their 13 straight wins.

3rd team LOL’d all week how Gould sacked the new STG coach a few weeks before finals.

In an ironic twist, 3rd teams fair weather “fans” turn on the coach and notwithstanding a 13/5 season and want him sacked.

Cannot deal with you lot sometimes. Peace, out. :pray:
Nobody said to sack him now. If we go out in straight sets or limp into 5th he should be thrown out on his ear.

Is that the same Holbrook that hindy suggested and you laughed at him? Asking for a friend.
I wanted him
when we were spooning it up in 2018 and also got laughed at. But but but stability!!!!!!

We are real stable now. Especially our attack which is non existent.

I think Brad is a top guy and a Parra man through and through, let’s put a pen through everyone else and keep him for life, because when is contract ends we will be in the fight for our life to keep him!!!:pray:
He bleeds blue and gold!!! Who else can we get???? The devil you know blah blah blah!!!

emjaycee

Another shift of the goal posts.

#2021iswhereit’sat

Tell me again where I have shifted the goal posts mate.

Where will we finish? 4th -6th

Best player?
Moses

Biggest disappointment?
Sivo as the expectation outweighs the ability.

The first rookie to make NRL debut?
Dunster

Surprise packet?
Not an easy one because we know what to expect from most of our 1-17. Mennigns will surprise a few posters who think that class can go with age.

Breakout year?
Oregan. Will break into a regular FG spot by round 10 and will not give it up.

Best retention?
Best we retained for 2020 will be Stefano. Best we retain for 2021 will be Stefano.

The biggest name we let go?
Nathan Brown

Biggest signing?
For 2020 - Matterson
For 2021 - D Fifita

I may have gotten some of my predictions wrong but with 2 rounds to play, I reckon I am looking pretty good on a finish between 4th and 6th (and maybe even 1 better in 3rd spot).

What was your prediction before the season started? Oh that's right, you didn't make one.

Gazzamatta

Thank God for League Unlimited. It provides our chance to vent. Some like to point out negatives while others (not many now days) follow stoutly and will endorse whatever is dished up. To each his or her own. Its all healthy. No need for stress. Its just footy. I recall earlier in the year when things were more desperate and we didnt even have our beloved footy. No good to hold it in. Get it said and move on. Thats my plan anyway. On to next game where hopefully we get back on track. Cant wait.

Glenneel

3rd has a few injuries in key positions and can’t sway possession. 1st team too good, evidenced by their 13 straight wins.

3rd team LOL’d all week how Gould sacked the new STG coach a few weeks before finals.

In an ironic twist, 3rd teams fair weather “fans” turn on the coach and notwithstanding a 13/5 season and want him sacked.
Gronk and Pou absolutely love mediocrity based on those comments above.
We're in finals and you're happy. Wtf!

Look at the way the team is playing.
Look at the obvious problems in D that continue (2 Blakes),
look at our really poor games we have each year (38-0 Souths) that the really good teams don't have,
look at our piss poor attack atm,
look at the poorly performing players selected week after week that never get dropped so no responsibility placed on them,
look at the overall team, they've been playing tired for 2 months yet BA can't see it, yet everyone else can. It happens each year with BA, his inability to rest players.
But Gronk is happy. Peace.

T-Boon

BA is clueless in how to deal with the media/fans. To say there is nothing wrong with the attack after the past 3 weeks (and also his last 7 years) is just irritating.

If he doesn't know how to talk about the attacking problems at the press conference he should hand the conference over to this attacking coach we have

BA is clueless in how to deal with the media/fans. To say there is nothing wrong with the attack after the past 3 weeks (and also his last 7 years) is just irritating.

If he doesn't know how to talk about the attacking problems at the press conference he should hand the conference over to this attacking coach we have

I am willing to give Arthur the benefit of the doubt, in that what he says to the media, may not be how he actually feels; he is a man who doesn't generally enjoy communicating with the media, and he is contractually obliged to deal with the media, so I suppose it isn't an unreasonable assumption to make that he goes to press conferences and just "trolls" (for lack of a better word) the media.

However, the fact that the club has stagnated lends some credence to the notion that he, and his coaching team, have no clue about how to fix our problems.

Our long passing game, decoy runners is non existent. Probably for a reason

3 wins in a row from now on, v Drongos, Tigers and most likely Penrith, gets us to the grand final qualifier, at Bankwest Stadium

I reckon we will do enough to beat the Drongos, same with the tigers, and be on fire week 1 of the finals and earn a weeks rest

Mark my words , a 10 out of 10 :sunglasses:

T-Boon

I am willing to give Arthur the benefit of the doubt, in that what he says to the media, may not be how he actually feels; he is a man who doesn't generally enjoy communicating with the media, and he is contractually obliged to deal with the media, so I suppose it isn't an unreasonable assumption to make that he goes to press conferences and just "trolls" (for lack of a better word) the media.

I agree, but the problem with this is if you agree his only contact with the fans is through the media then go back and insert the word "fans" everywhere you use the word "media" and you can see the problem.
It is a big part of the head coaches job to make the fans want to turn up and watch at the ground or on the TV. It is arguably more important than winning.

Our long passing game, decoy runners is non existent. Probably for a reason

3 wins in a row from now on, v Drongos, Tigers and most likely Penrith, gets us to the grand final qualifier, at Bankwest Stadium

I reckon we will do enough to beat the Drongos, same with the tigers, and be on fire week 1 of the finals and earn a weeks rest

Mark my words , a 10 out of 10 :sunglasses:
If that happens and we make the GF, win, lose or draw I'm putting $500 on the bar and I'll finally put some faces to the names of you delusional merkins.

IFR33K

Even Stephen Kearney for all his faults had the foresight to bring in help at some stage. (Chris Anderson). Our friggen donkey is a stubborn twat out of his depths. He looks broken

It wasn't like a close game where we pushed them and made inroads. AMD gave it a good red hot crack.
I didn't see a valiant effort at all. It was more like holding on for dear life as someone belted you with a stick while your crouched down and rolled up in a ball with the occasional kick of your feet in a hope ones gets in.This is the reality of what happend.
At know point did we ever gain ascendancy in the game. Not for even a 5min period. I'd go as far as saying we didn't even match them for a period of 5 mins where it was even Steven. Maybe first 7 or 7 mins for 2nd half we where able to but that's being kind.

Maybe you saw a different game. I reckon it was by far our most dominant loss of the season. Yes Souths flogged us but we did make breaks and inroads on them. It was just poor defense and bad handling. We still made plenty of meters carting it up the guts.

Mr Parramatta

Tell me again where I have shifted the goal posts mate.

I may have gotten some of my predictions wrong but with 2 rounds to play, I reckon I am looking pretty good on a finish between 4th and 6th (and maybe even 1 better in 3rd spot).

What was your prediction before the season started? Oh that's right, you didn't make one.
And straight out the back door, hey at least we made it, stereo typical loser Parra mentality