Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd21: 735pm EELS v Cowboys GAME DAY THREAD @ Country Bank Stadium 22/7/23

Tiger5150

The fact that @Tiger5150 told us Ofahengaue is good kind of tells you why Tigers have such problems
Mate I was pretty honest about him......I didnt see the game or this incident, but let me guess....he was shown up in defence because of his poor lateral movement? Beaten 1m inside or out?

Sphagnum

Sack everyone who greenlit the “let’s bring that f**ken perennial plodder Waqa Blake back into first grade” manoeuvre

JokerEel

Watching Penrith forwards to our last night they are running their forwards 2 off the ruck.

Last night we were flat footed taking runs especially in the second half.

Dyl and reg might help, but waqa attack and defence, or lack there of, would still let us down
So Hiw did I not reply in context ? Who should have been picked instead of Waqa that woukd have done a better job ?

If I had to nail down the biggest factor (that was in our control) that f**ked our season, it was the depressingly shallow depth chart.

84 Baby

Mate I was pretty honest about him......I didnt see the game or this incident, but let me guess....he was shown up in defence because of his poor lateral movement? Beaten 1m inside or out?
Is it still poor lateral movement if you’re 5 metres out of position? Hopefully he just needs a good preseason to wash away the stench

Eelogical

Yep it's never the coaches fault for anything, it's the NRL's, referee's or the Roosters and Uncle Nicks fault. It's now even the Fox sports commentators LMFAO!! The season is done and dusted. We went in this season with no back up for the injury prone Hodgson and no backline depth whatsoever. I mean who is responsible for this?? Instead we stock pile middle plodder forwards and being back dross like Andrew Davey. We are easily the slowest team in the NRL. Slow as the coaching staff.
Fair call mate, but can you get the dunny plungers off your head?

Eelogical

That explains why Waqa kept trying to poke his teammates in the eye.
Let's seriously examine Waqa's downfall. There was a time when he was considered to be a top shelf centre and we thought we got ourselves a bargain from Penrith. I have no idea why he has regressed so much in the time that he's been at the Eels but that's where his career currently lies. I feel for any player that goes through hard times but I'm yet to understand why Blake's career took such a dump.

He’s got the major yips. Merkins can joke, but imagine any being any sportsman and going through that.

Chipmunk

To be honest we don't appear to have an environment in the club where you get sent back to reserve grade to work on your game. The coaches never wanted to play him again, but had no choice and I reckon he knew that. He seems to be a heavily confidence player and he has seriously lost all confidence.