Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd21: Parra v Souths GAME DAY THREAD @ cbus stadium 6/8/21

yy_cheng

Chase the collision
I think Junior going dumb on offloads is symptom of being talked into changing game plan. He needs to run first, him passing every time allows the defence to spread.
The passing that has been frustrating me past 2 games is Rheed’s. So many time Moses pushes up to line at first receiver, only to have to step back to catch the ball.
People laugh about it but it really is an easy fix mostly. A dozen basic fundamentals just need to be done better
His shoulder could've been hampering him and maybe he came back early

Chase the collision

His shoulder could've been hampering him and maybe he came back early
Wasn’t it a similar to what Cleary did?? So surely you’d be nursing him through??? Lol he rested him when the game was on the line against Canberra and he leaves him against South’s when we are down by 30 lol.

Calling him tactically inept is being kind, an 8 year coach who still hasn’t figured out to use his bench or interchanges. Maybe he should front load his effort areas in his coaching.

He should have been boned after week 6 in 2018. Has done f**k all to deserve his contract extensions. It’s amazing he is still here.

Like my dad said. Why extend him for more ethen one year at a time. It isn't like anyone else wanted him.
And on the Eels. He said.

"THEY PLAYED LIKE f**king OLD MOLES

Gazzamatta

[/QUOTE]
I like your Dad. Wise old man.
Did BA wear his mask upside-down? Lol. Someone smashing him on Bookface over it.

hybrideel

I was watching last nights game with my son and for their 2nd try I told him exactly what Souths would do for the entire set before it all happened. He was impressed but really, how hard was it to predict what Souths were going to do. If a nuffy like me and likely most of you, knew exactly what Souths would do, why the F**k didn't our coaching staff and players.
I'm sure Pou will come on with stats on souths scoring on their left and that it means no team can stop them, but Penrith and Melbourne did. We are meant to be a top defensive side, we should be able to stop predictable attack. Maybe not compressing in your own 30 and leaving your winger with a 3 on 1 situation would be a good start.
Cooper Cronk was giving it to Dunster all night about him being beaten by Cody Walker but was he really? Who would do better in the positions he was left in by the defensive structure we use?

Also, i lost count of how many times our passes ended up at or over the heads of our players. One example being Waqa, who would have scored that try had the pass been decent when he got brought down by Jai Arrow just before the line. SO many time we have to reach for the ball, slowing down any momentum.

Like my dad said. Why extend him for more ethen one year at a time. It isn't like anyone else wanted him.
And on the Eels. He said.

You need certainty in your coaching because recruitment/retention require it.

If a nuffy like me and likely most of you, knew exactly what Souths would do, why the F**k didn't our coaching staff and players.
This is what's wrong with you merkins. You think coaches don't know what's happening, and that solving problems is just a matter of different ideas. Every game we've won this year the opposing coach knew what was coming and couldn't stop it. Every game we've lost Arthur's knew what the opposition would do and couldn't stop it. Mostly results come down to the relative strengths of the players. Of course coaching is a factor. Coaches play a role in recruitment and retention, as well as development of those players. Plus when teams give up, like we did these past two weeks, and Souths did a couple of times this year, and the Chooks did right before last year's finals, it points to a lack of leadership, which includes the coach.

We are meant to be a top defensive side
Not under the fast ruck rules we aren't.
we should be able to stop predictable attack. Maybe not compressing in your own 30 and leaving your winger with a 3 on 1 situation would be a good start.
We tried that last night and Souths' nimble Origin forwards Cook and Murray started carving us up. We lost too many one on ones.

This is what's wrong with you merkins. You think coaches don't know what's happening, and that solving problems is just a matter of different ideas. Every game we've won this year the opposing coach knew what was coming and couldn't stop it. Every game we've lost Arthur's knew what the opposition would do and couldn't stop it. Mostly results come down to the relative strengths of the players. Of course coaching is a factor. Coaches play a role in recruitment and retention, as well as development of those players. Plus when teams give up, like we did these past two weeks, and Souths did a couple of times this year, and the Chooks did right before last year's finals, it points to a lack of leadership, which includes the coach.
Buck stops with BA. It's over. Deep down you know it and despite this article he knows it too.

I cannot wait for a change and he can take some of his favourites with him. I couldn't give a shit who they are.

lingard

Dogs gave souffs a game...if we are being fair dinkum that was a training run for souffs.
We are so far off the pace its like some players are fkn scared to play footy and others look like they are running in quick sand.
If you are horribly out of form at least do the basics right. Race up quickly, put a chase on the kicks, support ur runners...geeeeez its just fkn embarrassing
It's becoming more and more clear, we are a poorly coached side. You are right. We have some very talented footballers who are scared to play football, and/or have no confidence in coach's game plans. I actually think B.A. has lost the dressing room.

Noise

Either our bench isn't good enough or Arthur's doesn't trust them.
I was pointing this out to merkins in the off season and no one would listen. Everyone thought our bench had been significantly improved.

I think people are expecting a better bench. Our bench was dog shit this year and we haven’t really signed anyone of note that improves it.

Potentially improve our bench? Potential is not what we require. We need a definite improvement.

There is no one who we have signed that significantly improves our bench, which is what we f**king need.

So we haven’t really improved our bench at all, which is what I’ve been saying all along.
What a surprise that our bench still offers SFA. But now our starting 13 can't construct an offence or defence either

lingard

I've been saying it all year. Dylan Brown is not a half.
Trouble is, he's shown me nothing to suggest he is a fullback or a centre either. He can tackle, and he scrambles very well. But that's about all he can do.

eel01s

The issues we have as I see it (all three evident last few weeks/years):

1. Ruck control. We never have it. The only time we get it is when the ref calls 6 again against our opponents. Then we can play our preferred style and have quick play the balls. However, every time we come up against a side who pushes the boundaries each and every tackle we are stuffed. No ref will call 6 again repeatedly. We are coached to not concede ruck infringements, yet we seem to be continually called early by the refs and pinged. We need to push the limits and test the ref's. Sure we might concede a few calls early, but is better than letting the other side get quick play the balls.

2. Defensive structure: It's safe to say we are sick of watching sides shift to the edges and easily create overlaps to put the winger away. The system we use does not work against good attacking sides. Also, we aren't good at covering back on the inside.

3. Attacking structure: Way too limited. We need more strike power, but above all we need faster, cleaner ball movement either side of the ruck, more players in motion, and halves that can put a player into a gap or give them space.

We improve these three areas and we can compete with the best sides.