Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd21: Parra v Souths GAME DAY THREAD @ cbus stadium 6/8/21

The way I see it is our seasons done. We will make finals and maybe beat a side in first week.
We have to find positives now and ways to re work the side for 2022.
Pensini has to be considered. I'm also open to Gutherson moving to halves. Unsure where it leaves D.Brown.

W.Smith ---> Russel
Fergo
D.Brown
Blake ---> Penisini
Sivo ---> Waqa
Gutherson
Moses

Above would be a safe but solid pick. The guys on right would be a huge shake up.

Forwards I look at where guys played best footy.
Matterson was lock
Papali'i was bench and in middle

8.Jnr
9.Lussick
10.Brown
11.Lane
12.Bryce
13.Matterson

Kafusi
Marata
Papali'i
Roache/Stone

Lethal

Another pathetic fizzle out has come at the right time. Time to move on the clueless coach, his useless staff, our overpaid captain and the rest of his blind supporters can go before we are stupid enough to re-sign them again.

King-Gutho94

So apparently oregon kaufusi has knocked himself out both times against souths this year in the first tackle of the game.

Not only that both times the ball carrier was mark nicholls.

That would have to be the 1st time in history hasnt it

I'll also say this. We had W.Smith on the bench. So we do not burn our little hooker out. Who has a bung shoulder as we know.
When game was online BA hooked him against Raiders.
When we where getting pasted he left one of our best players who with his shoulder in mind made 48 tackles. And had to play 80 mins the week before and 49 tackles. While we had our utility W.Smith available.

With his shoulder he should of been nursed and only given 55-60mins a game till finals. And when game was shot like last 2 weeks hook him for last 30mins and let W.Smith play.
It was very poor form

yy_cheng

I don't think anyone is getting worn out as the season has gone on, but we do fatigue alarmingly during games. I think it's because our starting forwards make too many carries. With the top sides it's either wingers making the most carries or they spread the workload. There are 20 forwards in the top 50 for all runs in the NRL, and four of them (20%) play for Parra. We also rely on our starting forwards for too many minutes, which explains why our defence lacks energy over 80:

Team# forwards in top 50 carries# backs in top 50 carries# players in top 50 tackles
Storm020
Rabbits221
Panthers133
Eels425
Roosters234
Seagulls112
Raiders113
Knights405
Titans112
Sharks225
Dragons114
Warriors023
Tigers144
Cowboys024
Broncos122
Bulldogs013

Either our bench isn't good enough or Arthur's doesn't trust them. I'm sure we have more money tied up in our top three middles than other clubs. Do we need to get our money's worth out of them? Our team is built to send forwards up the middle at a set defence, and likewise defend against a much slower ruck than we've been seeing since last year. I think we'd be better off spreading the cap more evenly in the forwards, which won't happen while Paulo and RCG are in the team.
We're worn out. We were waiting for the attack to come. We didn't chase kicks. It wasn't like this earlier in the year. Even against storm and chooks

yy_cheng

There were some really dumb passes by jnr.

He threw the ball back to noone and we would lose like 15 m.

Then kick from a terrible position

84 Baby

Anyway I slept on it last night and I think hire Flanagan. MON would have to be good at his job though and keep him on a tight leash. A drug or cap scandal could do me. @Avenger can confirm but Flanagan is no Seibold in the academic department and is as tactless as hitting on a gran at a funeral, but he knows football and if he could bring in the old NRL cliche siege mentality, it could be what certain players need to go to the next level.

It could also backfire like a Sticky 2.0

King-Gutho94

Junior has been disappointing this year. I believe RCG has had a better season but Junior played origin.

I dont believe we use him correctly anyway where his support near the tryline when he is trying to offload. That gutherson try in the semi last year where junior offloaded around the corner hasnt been seen since.

84 Baby

I think Junior going dumb on offloads is symptom of being talked into changing game plan. He needs to run first, him passing every time allows the defence to spread.
The passing that has been frustrating me past 2 games is Rheed’s. So many time Moses pushes up to line at first receiver, only to have to step back to catch the ball.
People laugh about it but it really is an easy fix mostly. A dozen basic fundamentals just need to be done better

King-Gutho94

Anyway I slept on it last night and I think hire Flanagan. MON would have to be good at his job though and keep him on a tight leash. A drug or cap scandal could do me. @Avenger can confirm but Flanagan is no Seibold in the academic department and is as tactless as hitting on a gran at a funeral, but he knows football and if he could bring in the old NRL cliche siege mentality, it could be what certain players need to go to the next level.

My only concern with flanagan is his son. Will he bring him to the club if we signed him up. I certainly dont want him and his father is unlikely to give him minimum wage

Last thing we need atm is another father/son combination.

Joshuatheeel

flanagan wouId be a pretty low risk option as a coach. He may not (or may) be able to get the eels to a premiership but it’s unlikely he wouId “tank” the team to the bottom 8 either……

Under flanagan Sharks were always “tough” and he seemed to be able to “build” a side.

I think MON having to keep him on a “tight” is overstated, Flanagan simply didn’t have much support at the Sharks so had to do a lot himself. He wouId probably welcome coaching with more support like the eels and it may even improve his coaching ability….

However wouId the club have the appetite to risk it on Flanagan past offences……

Glenneel

R.7b0d5e40c0b643b93a165ff398a13106
Turned off just after half time. It was death by a thousand cuts meets Chinese water torture meets bamboo under the finger nails. The rapid demise of our team is only matched by the destruction of BAs coaching career. Surely he can't survive past this year, before the board makes a decision he should fall on his sword.

Joshuatheeel

My only concern with flanagan is his son. Will he bring him to the club if we signed him up. I certainly dont want him and his father is unlikely to give him minimum wage

Flanagan may turn into a good player (or may not), however I reckon the risk is overstated. I doubt Flanagan if given the opportunity which would be his last chance saloon wouId risk it all on his son.

84 Baby

As long as it’s not a heap more than minimum Klanagan is good as a backup. Plus if I’m Klanagan, my next move wouldn’t be to run back to daddy

84 Baby

flanagan wouId be a pretty low risk option as a coach. He may not (or may) be able to get the eels to a premiership but it’s unlikely he wouId “tank” the team to the bottom 8 either……

Under flanagan Sharks were always “tough” and he seemed to be able to “build” a side.

I think MON having to keep him on a “tight” is overstated, Flanagan simply didn’t have much support at the Sharks so had to do a lot himself. He wouId probably welcome coaching with more support like the eels and it may even improve his coaching ability….

However wouId the club have the appetite to risk it on Flanagan past offences……
Hopefully his time away has taught him something but if any “good” coach could piss off the players enough to tank us, it’d be Flanagan. That said after last night, do I care enough about the players feelings?

Joshuatheeel

Hopefully his time away has taught him something but if any “good” coach could piss off the players enough to tank us, it’d be Flanagan. That said after last night, do I care enough about the players feelings?

there was never really any rumours of unrest among his player’s at the Sharks even after all the scandals. Players seem to love him like BA

Soto

The way I see it is our seasons done. We will make finals and maybe beat a side in first week.
We have to find positives now and ways to re work the side for 2022.
Pensini has to be considered. I'm also open to Gutherson moving to halves. Unsure where it leaves D.Brown.

W.Smith ---> Russel
Fergo
D.Brown
Blake ---> Penisini
Sivo ---> Waqa
Gutherson
Moses

Above would be a safe but solid pick. The guys on right would be a huge shake up.

Forwards I look at where guys played best footy.
Matterson was lock
Papali'i was bench and in middle

8.Jnr
9.Lussick
10.Brown
11.Lane
12.Bryce
13.Matterson

Kafusi
Marata
Papali'i
Roache/Stone
Except no Stone. Would rather Hipgrave if Roache unavailable. Stone is a no. Have peservered long enough and either injured or just not good enough.
Bryce def starter, Matto definitely lock. Lane was playing well in the 2nd row.
That bench provides good punch. If Lane starts on the bench Nuikore starts in his place in the run on side.
All is not completely lost but we need tweaks to change up what is not currently working.
Bryce is a ball player. He needs to be out there as much as possible. Bash and barge has been worked out. A settler back inside is fooling no-one.
Love to see one of our halves put a backrower through a hole. Maybe I'm dreaming.
We attack by passing the ball so far back its just dogshit...
No bodies in motion. Its all very boring and predictable.
As i said some tweaks and there may be some hope. Keep doing the same for the rest of the year then expect only 1 more win..