Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd24: Parra v Brisbane GAME DAY THREAD @ Suncorp 25/8/22

Gazzamatta

Listening to the TCT instant reaction pod, I think that the glowing accolades are a tad overblown. [Yeah not an invitation for a TCT sledge merkins]

Brisbane lost their quarterback in the first 20m, they then got hit with the injury stick for the rest of the match.

Whilst I was pleased that we took advantage of their misfortune and was thankful that the footy gods finally favoured us, I'm too scarred to get super enthusiastic about last night.
I absolutely appreciate their content and generally listen to and read the majority of their offerings but my resolve starts to waver a tad each time the JA love fest starts which is often. Id rather trust my own eyes. I reckon they place way too much pressure on the kid which may contribute to fan negativity. Best to just let him develop without the hyperbole. If hes good enough he will make it. Just my opinion.

King-Gutho94

Watching the Channel 9 post game show.

JT interviewing Clint and calling him King Gutho at Lang Park after the game.

JT didnt even think when he said it just rolled off the tounge.

I didnt think Queenslanders would ever call someone else the king at Lang Park after Wally.

I absolutely appreciate their content and generally listen to and read the majority of their offerings but my resolve starts to waver a tad each time the JA love fest starts which is often. Id rather trust my own eyes. I reckon they place way too much pressure on the kid which may contribute to fan negativity. Best to just let him develop without the hyperbole. If hes good enough he will make it. Just my opinion.
To be fair most weeks they are not in super in favour of his selection. So unsure why you think it's a love fest.

Like me, they usually conclude that the coaching staff know more than we do, so I don't think you are giving them credit where credit is due.

As I posted this morning in Team List Tuesday, Moses said afterwards to 2MMM that he went into the game with a dodgy ankle. Hence Shrub on the bench. The Carty court thing was disruptive as well.

Well said Gronky but there are a couple of changes that increase my hope.
. Our play the ball was the fastest Ive seen throughout BAs tenure.
. Rheed looking to enguage the markers.
. Sivo actually having a go. His ptb was outstanding.
. Our sliding in D looks better organised.
. Gutho reverting to how Gutho use to play.
. Marata turning from major disappointment into our intimidation leader.
All great improvements. Dare I say we looked like a team thats actually being coached. More please.
The Broncos didn't lay all over us like most teams. Their line speed and completions were horrific.

emjaycee

I was worried about Atkins and the impact he might have had, given he doesn't often do us any favours, but once we took the crowd out of the game, he seemed to not be as influenced as he can be.

And hearing the Sivo Sivo Sivo chant at one point was legendary.

Gazzamatta

To be fair most weeks they are not in super in favour of his selection. So unsure why you think it's a love fest.

Like me, they usually conclude that the coaching staff know more than we do, so I don't think you are giving them credit where credit is due.

As I posted this morning in Team List Tuesday, Moses said afterwards to 2MMM that he went into the game with a dodgy ankle. Hence Shrub on the bench. The Carty court thing was disruptive as well.
Maybe Im more tuned into it but its not how I see it. Agree to disagree mate.

I was worried about Atkins and the impact he might have had, given he doesn't often do us any favours, but once we took the crowd out of the game, he seemed to not be as influenced as he can be.

And hearing the Sivo Sivo Sivo chant at one point was legendary.

A couple of early decisions didnt go our way, particularly with that call from the bunker. In other matches our heads drop off after those moments and others like a simple drop ball, however Gutho's one on one steal proved how focused the boys were, no panicking, rev the boys up. I thought his performance was great last night.

Watching the Channel 9 post game show.

JT interviewing Clint and calling him King Gutho at Lang Park after the game.

JT didnt even think when he said it just rolled off the tounge.

I didnt think Queenslanders would ever call someone else the king at Lang Park after Wally.
Wally will pour his man shake all over JT next time he sees him.

6FE2CBB0-E738-4059-95F7-6952122C8051.jpeg

yy_cheng

Haha it was a Try assist & all part of the game plan.

Jake knows how shit our attack inside the 10m so threw the ball back 30m to allow us to have some width and space.

Opacic 2nd try came 2 tackles later.
That's what I thought. We attack better further from the try line

yy_cheng

Well said Gronky but there are a couple of changes that increase my hope.
. Our play the ball was the fastest Ive seen throughout BAs tenure.
. Rheed looking to enguage the markers.
. Sivo actually having a go. His ptb was outstanding.
. Our sliding in D looks better organised.
. Gutho reverting to how Gutho use to play.
. Marata turning from major disappointment into our intimidation leader.
All great improvements. Dare I say we looked like a team thats actually being coached. More please.
Guth just backing up and being everywhere is what he does best.