Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD7 V Tigers ANZ Stadium

Is there any deals for this game for ga? After yesterday's game, this looks like one I would love to attend as a neutral. 40k+ crowds at anz rock. Ps go the eels. I want to have the dogs v eels in the semis. Such a great day out at the footy that 2009 semi final night other than the final result.

that semi-final was epic, ahh the memories 75k plus I think. Pity it wasn't the grand final

ill remember eels fans giving el masri a respectfull farewell at the end of the game (I think it was hindy took him over to the eels section). If there was an eels fan who who would boo or say something nasty about elmasri, he was greeted with "pull your head in" by the eels supporters around him

Though outside the stadium waiting a taxi with my lot (all wearing eels jerseys), we were greeted with "Storm is gonna kill youse next week" by a pack of 4 bulldogs fans :D

phantom eel

Last night's crowd was fantastic on TV. Looked like a great atmosphere - nothing like a closer-to-full-than-not stadium watching a quality game. I'm not sure we'll pull the same type of crowd on a holiday Monday arvo, but here's hoping.

Hey, and don't we play the Cowboys next week? :crazy:

We play the cowboys in NQ next week on Saturday night, short turnaround for us unfortunately
No reason why they cant get 18k plus up there, which will probably be about 10k more than when we play them at Parra in round 13 on a Friday night early June

To be honest, feeling a little nervous about this game. My mind tells me that we should be fine but my heart and gut still haven't forgotten the last couple of years...

Absolutely, could go either way...by a margin too. I think we deserve to be favourites, but I'd almost be tempted to back both teams 13+

lingard

Don't worry, mate. Parramatta will flog the Tigers. It's the Cowboys the following week that I'm a bit worried about.

lingard

I'd jumped on your thread to wish Parra good luck in the game.

But after reading through some of the posts, I had to check twice I wasn't on the saints forum. For a team that is on the same wins/loss as the Tiges, but further down the ladder, FMD some of you guys have got your tools in hand.
I get that you are excited this year after all that misery, but the unfounded arrogance and stupidity on here is amazing.
The whole league scene is full of warm and fuzzy feelings towards BOTH our teams stemming from their success this year so far.
Just to make it clear to the tossers, the only reason that Parra's success gets a higher mention is because of just how ordinary you lot have been. You came from a deeper depth of shyteness.
To hear you lot spouting about thrashing this, and points diff that, is funny. Especially when it's against a higher placed team.
It reminds me of a wooden spoon team's fan saying they will beat the current comp leaders, based on the intelligently composed "just because".
It will be a good game. It should be a close game. If you understand only 1 thing about footy, there is no reason to suggest it will be a thrashing. Either way.

Again, I get that you are all excited. Neutral fans are wishing both our teams well because of their starts. Don't turn them away by being arrogant arseholes.
There is such a thing as a gracious winner, too.
Talk is cheap boys. Enjoy the game.

Point taken, mate. I actually will be surprised if we don't thrash the Tigers, though - based simply on two facts:
1. Traditionally (over the last few years, anyway) Parramatta have done very well against the Tigers, even when we've been way down the competition ladder.
2. Your team will be without Tedesco and (more importantly) Farrah. I'm sure you'd fancy your chances if we were without Hayne. I guess I'm thinking that Farrah is as important to your side as Hayne is to ours.
Anyway, good luck. Your side has had about ten years worth of bad luck with injuries over the last year or so. You could do with a bit.

Chipmunk

I think this is actually our biggest test this season. It is all very well to come away with some wins when we weren't suppose to, but it will be all for nothing if we get beaten in games that we should win.

We would have to be disappointed if we don't beat the Tigers without Tesdeso and Farah.

If we don't win 3 out of our next 4 then the good start to the season will have been a waste.

Not sure it would make it a complete waste mate. We'll end out losing some close games that could go either way, and starting 4 from 6 means that you can take that and be less likely to panic. I think that Monday is a tough game, but I won't be devastated if we play well and lose. Thus far we've shown sufficient mettle to turn up the next week.

phantom eel

If we don't win 3 out of our next 4 then the good start to the season will have been a waste.
We're sitting above the 50% win ratio, we can afford a loss if a weaker team springs and upset.

I didn't expect us to win last week, and it was great. I'd factored in a win against either Wests or Cowboys - it would suck now to lose both. In the following weeks against Sharks and Saints, again we should win one of those matches and maintain our 50% ratio - if we can score an extra win or two above that 50%, we'll be laughing. But if we only get one win out of the next four, it's not a waste... it's a long season and we're travelling well so far.

T.S Quint

Point taken, mate. I actually will be surprised if we don't thrash the Tigers, though - based simply on two facts:
1. Traditionally (over the last few years, anyway) Parramatta have done very well against the Tigers, even when we've been way down the competition ladder.

Actually in recent years we haven't fared so well against the Tigers.
They were our whipping boys for the first 9 years of their existence (13 wins, 1 draw in 18 games) but since 2008 we have only won 3 times in 10 games.

We did win the last one though.

surely we haven't been favourites for years ... maybe that game against the titans in '11 to avoid the spoon, they were going shit then too

andy777

There was a bit in the paper saying Lussick and Tapau were at it all week, should get the pop corn ready for the game if it's true