Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rebecca Wilson says attempting to expand rugby league is a futile exercise

STSAE

Dr Crane said:
And if Souths did it you'd be singing a different tune entirely

Not at all mate.

Thats the kind of thing that Id expect phacwitt to come up with with his business connections etc.

Im not against what souffs have done in the last year. I commend them.

I just cant see the point of playing a useless ganme against a UK club in the US. I dont see it gaining the game or souffs anything tangable.

Sure you may sell a few jumpers etc. I really think taking such a game to say Perff wouldve worked alot better, made more money, and helped grow the game where it can actually grow. Or doing it as an end of season trip/holiday/promo would have been much better.

Ive stated b4 If it was my club going Id have asked the exact questions about injuries, preseason distruptions and the actual point of the exercise.

:lol: :lol:

STSAE

Green Machine said:
bullsh*t, you tried to use a quote from Becky and ended up misquoting Becky.

Dally said:
your wrong about this trip being a waste of time for RL.

its all free publicity.

and it sounds like you agree with some of the article. its all BS.

Then you said:
Well there were injuries. Theres no live TV coverage. So she got some facts correct.

She never mentioned “Live” coverage. Wait and see, she might get delayed coverage wrong as well to add to the list of all the other bullsh*t in her article

LMFAO.

1 word. You want a medal???:sarcasm:

Well IM right still. No LIVE TV coverage.

And unless its replayed on Ch 9, I will not conceed this point.

IF it is replayed, I will gladly come back and bow to you mate.

Feel better??:p

STSAE

Sonic Star said:
No players are suffereing from season ending injuries lol
How do u know these LITTLE injuries, for example Talonoa having a sore finger all happened in the US and they weren't carrying them when back at home.

Is everyone in the Roosters camp 100% fit, I doubt it, players get little niggling injuries, happens all the time, blaming the trip is weak.
Most those players mentioned are playing in the game, they must be serious injuries aye?

The game will be on TV, already told you that with delayed coverage.

She has no idea, she didnt do any research, what else is new, its a attack on Rugby league and your eating it up.

Cos your coach told me.:p

Injuries marring Souths' US dream
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23103278-23214,00.html
By Josh Massoud
January 25, 2008
FIRST it was jet lag. Then a freakish Florida cold snap. Now, injuries and a personal drama have maintained the eventful edge to South Sydney's American odyssey.
As five Rabbitohs faced fitness battles to play on US soil this weekend, back-row star David Fa'alogo was on Thursday rushing back to Australia for "personal reasons".
The Kiwi left camp suddenly on Wednesday afternoon (AEST) and is expected home on Friday. Club officials were tight-lipped about the reason.
"David had to go home for personal reasons," a club spokesman said. "He doesn't want anything more said than that."
Currently serving a seven-match suspension for striking, Fa'alogo would not have played in any case. Prop Scott Geddes is certain to miss out as well, having torn his hamstring at training.
Dean Widders and Ben Rogers (strained hamstring), Eddie Paea (groin) and Feluli Talanoa (finger) are also in doubt.
Since arriving in Florida, the Rabbitohs have not been spared from pre-season training and the short turnaround from their 24-hour journey might have contributed to their woes.
With Nathan Merritt still recovering from a major knee reconstruction, Rabbitohs coach Jason Taylor could only have three-quarters of his squad available.
"We've trained pretty hard over here and sustained a few injuries so far," Taylor said. "We've done a lot of work in areas we think we can improve on from last year. Sure, it's not the grand final - but we'll be taking it seriously."
In a boost to Souths' fortunes, Australian icons Greg Norman and Layne Beachley have agreed to attend the match with Rabbitohs co-owner Russell Crowe.

STSAE said:
Not at all mate.

Thats the kind of thing that Id expect phacwitt to come up with with his business connections etc.

Im not against what souffs have done in the last year. I commend them.

I just cant see the point of playing a useless ganme against a UK club in the US. I dont see it gaining the game or souffs anything tangable.

Sure you may sell a few jumpers etc. I really think taking such a game to say Perff wouldve worked alot better, made more money, and helped grow the game where it can actually grow. Or doing it as an end of season trip/holiday/promo would have been much better.

Ive stated b4 If it was my club going Id have asked the exact questions about injuries, preseason distruptions and the actual point of the exercise.

so you are bagging souths new management team.

we have a respected businessman and famous actor for souths.

and for sydney city (ha) roosters we have a used car salesman

Sonic Star

STSAE said:
Cos your coach told me.:p

Injuries marring Souths' US dream
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23103278-23214,00.html
By Josh Massoud
January 25, 2008
FIRST it was jet lag. Then a freakish Florida cold snap. Now, injuries and a personal drama have maintained the eventful edge to South Sydney's American odyssey.
As five Rabbitohs faced fitness battles to play on US soil this weekend, back-row star David Fa'alogo was on Thursday rushing back to Australia for "personal reasons".
The Kiwi left camp suddenly on Wednesday afternoon (AEST) and is expected home on Friday. Club officials were tight-lipped about the reason.
"David had to go home for personal reasons," a club spokesman said. "He doesn't want anything more said than that."
Currently serving a seven-match suspension for striking, Fa'alogo would not have played in any case. Prop Scott Geddes is certain to miss out as well, having torn his hamstring at training.
Dean Widders and Ben Rogers (strained hamstring), Eddie Paea (groin) and Feluli Talanoa (finger) are also in doubt.
Since arriving in Florida, the Rabbitohs have not been spared from pre-season training and the short turnaround from their 24-hour journey might have contributed to their woes.
With Nathan Merritt still recovering from a major knee reconstruction, Rabbitohs coach Jason Taylor could only have three-quarters of his squad available.
"We've trained pretty hard over here and sustained a few injuries so far," Taylor said. "We've done a lot of work in areas we think we can improve on from last year. Sure, it's not the grand final - but we'll be taking it seriously."
In a boost to Souths' fortunes, Australian icons Greg Norman and Layne Beachley have agreed to attend the match with Rabbitohs co-owner Russell Crowe.

Says they have trained hard, but didnt you say that they weren't training hard etc :lol:
How is the US trip the cause, this sort of stuff happens all the time at training.
You telling me that all Roosters players are 100% fit and dont have any niggling injuries?
They probably do, will it be reported, no because no one cares about the Roosters :lol:
Souths are in the spotlight and for all the correct reasons, they only spot light Roosters got was bad press from Mason etc

Sonic Star said:
Says they have trained hard, but didnt you say that they weren't training hard etc :lol:
How is the US trip the cause, this sort of stuff happens all the time at training.
You telling me that all Roosters players are 100% fit and dont have any niggling injuries?
They probably do, will it be reported, no because no one cares about the Roosters :lol:
Souths are in the spotlight and for all the correct reasons, they only spot light Roosters got was bad press from Mason etc

apparently one of the roosters high profile forwards tore a hammy in training.

makes the chooks fans comments about how hard it is to repair a hammy even funnier

uncle nick better sell some used cars quick

falcon anyone?

j5o6hn

Wonder what tune STSAE would be singing if it was Eastern Suburbs playing in the US,as some else here has noted Eastern Suburbs cant even market themselves in the Eastern Suburbs.
If ever a club should be moved to somewhere else its Easts and please dont give me the Sydney City Crap,Easts you were and Easts you remain.
Also your Attempts at Sarcasm with the Phonechucca crap,because Crowe and his managment have achieved more positive publicity for RL in 12 months than Eastern Suburbs have in the past 5 yrs and having Mason playing for you sure wont improve the clubs average.
Get real, the AFL are sending teams to South Africa and I have yet to see anybody bag them out the way you have bagged out Souths, and the people who are running this game, at least they are trying, which I think is more than your club has done for many years

STSAE said:
And where would you be without Illawarra????

Our biarch or a hobbit.:p

Now you are really showing your general RL knowledge we bailed Illawarra out, to the sum of several million dollars. Without Illawarra, we'd be still running around in NRL. So exactly where do you think your mob would be with out packer and uncle nick's $$$$$$$

S.S.T.I.D

STSAE said:
Well there were injuries. Theres no live TV coverage. So she got some facts correct.

And I do agree with her in theory as to the total waste of time playing the game is.

Sorry its not a waste to phonechukkas ego.

Geez mate, your own coach isnt keen. The journo you paid quoted him saying it.

Doesnt that at least worry you???? Not withstanding the injuries b4 the game and the risk of more during???

On top of that theres no point to the game. None. Zip. Nadda.

Why didnt Leeds and Melba organise the WCC in the US???? Now Id see the logic there. The superbowl (thats promotion the seppos will get) of the 2 best league clubs in the US of A.

I know the answer they dont have a phonechukka, the reason of this game. And the ONLY reason its raised an eyebrow over there. And thats debatable an eyebrows been raised.

Christ you're an imbecile. The injuries were pre-existing, meaning players were afflicted with these injuries before they left for Jacksonville. The fact that the camp is in Florida has contributed zero any injury to any player.

As for the game being a waste of time I'm sure Leeds would beg to differ. ESL kicks off in a fortnight with Leeds first game next Saturday.

:lol: :lol: (They are about as prudent as yours)

Dogs Of War said:
I like how she says that Aussie Rules travels well. Travels good to where? Nauru?

So according to this gossip cow - league doesn't travel well, yet Aussie Rules does?:lol: :lol:

She is still bitter from her days in Brisbane as a tv sports journo. Apparently a few league boys didn't treat her with respect.

Drink driver..

have another cask of fruity lexia bec. She is just a bogan with a keyboard. I wonder how she got where she is ?

Dave Q

STSAE said:
All of it.

Its tripe.

You know it, I know it and the Beatles know it.

And wheres the proof??? A GF in living memory???? A semi win??? ANYTHING???:crazy:

Youre a poor sod!

Dally's been drawing the connection between critcising Souths and criticising the league. I subscribe to that argument.

(cough)

Methinks there should be two LU's.

LU "Regular" for us and "Bogan LU" for the likes of you! The first Rooster in RWB flannelette (and Im a proud westie!)

Take another laxative...to relieve the pressure off your brain son ;-)

theres one line in the article i agree with and it is :

When you talk to Russell Crowe, he is almost fanatical about spreading the rugby league gospel to the US.

good to see someone who loves the game so much putting the effort in.

just like 100 years ago 3 individuals put the effort in here to tell RU to f**k off and create the NSWRL.

Ziggy the God

Where is Gallop?

Is he going to let this one slide through to the keeper?

That's right, the same hand that is up Wilson's khyber is also up his.

Also, to the Rorter merkin having a troll on a thread that is having a swing at RL, wake up to yourself you stupid cuarnt.

shaggy

i love all these fonechuckka calls considerin the guy who we threw the phone was let go by the hotel for doing a poor job which was got russel annoyed in the first place

Wow. What unmitigated garbage. I'm surprised there weren't references to "Westie Bogans", "Flatcaps" and "men with Whippets" in there....

Oh, and "AFL travels well" takes the cake.

Where would that be then?