Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Recreational Drugs

David Brent

What is the NRL's stance on recreational drugs? If a player tests positive to cocaine, for example, in an ASDA-sanctioned drug test, does the NRL still suspend the player or simply hand out a fine? Cheers.

bazza

David Brent said:
What is the NRL's stance on recreational drugs? If a player tests positive to cocaine, for example, in an ASDA-sanctioned drug test, does the NRL still suspend the player or simply hand out a fine? Cheers.

A few years ago Craig Field and Kevin McGuniess tested positive to cocaine and ecstacy respectively. Each was suspended for at least 6 months.

I assume the current punishment is similar

David Brent

Thanks mate. I wasn't quite sure because I know (or thought) they had stopped testing (or suspending/fining) for marijuana.

Moffo

David Brent said:

What is Slough's take on rec drugs??

I know Brenty didn't mind a choof after a session with Gareth :lol:

m0j0

Andrew Walker tested positive for cocaine towards the end of last year. He was going to cop a lengthy suspension, but retired instead. Not sure if they went through with the whole process of determining the length of his ban or not.

m0j0

Of course the rules are different if you test positive and you play for the Bulldogs. Apparently over there, if you test positive to cocaine they will refuse to release your name and will protect you from any form of punishment.

willvillain

m0j0 said:
Andrew Walker tested positive for cocaine towards the end of last year. He was going to cop a lengthy suspension, but retired instead. Not sure if they went through with the whole process of determining the length of his ban or not.

I believe he copped the two year ban and as a result of the ban he retired. He has since indicated he wanted to play Rugby Union again for either French or Japanese sides ($$$) but the ban made this impossible as it was judged that it covered both codes.

OVP

This also begs the question ... what right does anybody have to say such and such cant smoke a joint now and again ? If it doesnt affect your footy, like Steroids do, then i think its criminal to police this sort of thing ... except it seems the REAL criminals are in charge these days :roll:

Matt M

OVP said:
This also begs the question ... what right does anybody have to say such and such cant smoke a joint now and again ? If it doesnt affect your footy, like Steroids do, then i think its criminal to police this sort of thing ... except it seems the REAL criminals are in charge these days :roll:

Well first of all it is illegal, and second it gives the club and game an extremely poor image.

It also might actually affect their performance, but in a negative way. In which case the club should sack them.

hrundi99

OVP said:

Have another toot Smokie.

OVP

2 Nazis in a row ... i bet youve never even tried it and yet make judgement on the rest of us ... like all nazi's do :roll: Sieg Hiel mein fuhrers.

For the record i havent touched pot in over 8 years ... but i bet that means nothing to a nazi :roll: At least ive tried it and therefore can make judgement on it, unlike you.

mudfly

Let them take all drugs they like, It might make tipping a bit easier if you know which players are f**ked up.

*Paul*

I don't think they're being judgemental, just covering their arses.

These things are a beatup waiting to happen, something the clubs would be pretty keen to avoid.

Behind the scenes, my guess would be that they wouldn't get into too much of a tizz about it. Obviously, so long as it wasn't detrimental to a players performance.

Razor

If it doesnt affect your footy

It does have a positive affect.

It makes you calmer. So if you get very nervous before a match, that will affect your game. Smoking pot, will lower the nervousness substanitally.

Razor said:

It makes you calmer. So if you get very nervous before a match, that will affect your game. Smoking pot, will lower the nervousness substanitally.

Yes but it may also make you see little pink Christina Aguilera monsters, thus affecting your performance.

OVP

Razor said:

but you forgot the number one detail ... it makes your reaction time ALOT slower. Why bother policing it ? Those on the drug wont be selected for anything major anyway, especially if they are playing a match just after taking the drug. Ludicrous ... its just another attempt to take freedom away from everyone.

LRC

The only reason it is bad publicity is because they test for them...other wise nobody would know.
I think a club should be able to to assess their players performnce and test for certain drugs..I sure as hell wouldnt be toking if I was an elite athlete..
Then I dont think they should have to release the results as its for their own records and performance assessmnets.

The Business

Although I admit I have tried most things on more than one occasion, I certainly don't condone it. I do however object that players can be suspended for traces of any of these substances. I don't know about you guys/girls but I certainly don't get tested on Monday mornings at work for traces of ecstasy or cocaine.

Other drugs such as steroids should be tested for and players suspended as it is a performance enhancing drug.

gunnamatta bay

I reckon if you are paying someone $300 grand a year you are entitled to know if they are on coke. Doing coke seems to go hand in hand with late nights, poor sleep patterns and mixing with crims.