Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

POPEYE

People aren't going to believe it when I say I'm happy Taylor got his mob up against Melbourne, the bloke is in danger of stepping in Tiger poo and we all know that can't be removed easily, he's a better coach than given credit for and deserves the ounce of luck others take for granted

Since I want the Warriors or Sharks to drink from the cup it's a pity they could be without inspiration for the rest of season, wouldn't it be great if Lolohea has a blinder and Heighington and Tagatese grow an extra leg . . . none of that happens it'll be a damn f**king shame for both. Still have the Cowboys in with a realistic chance though

POPEYE

You f**king ripper, Sharks couldn't buy their share of penalties, Cummins is a merkin of a referee . . . go the Mighty Flanagan

POPEYE

I refuse to imagine Charlize is to blame so I intensely dislike anyone named Penn, don't give a shit that the Manly version may have only been trying reverse psychology in an effort to get their team focussed. Now that the players have finally awoken from their wet dream will Toovey be reinstated . . . I think not

I like the Barrett vibes, he could be another Robbo or Maguire, too softly spoken to be a Bellamy. Matters not, sacking Toovey is not necessary therefore a merkin act so the Seagles can go f**k themselves and I hope the Penns go the way of Tinkler

POPEYE

If the signing of DCE for the Titans was imagined important it pales into insignificance compared to the signing of Foran for the Eels, if Kieran had of reneged the ramifications for Parramatta would have been tantamount to crawling in a marathon

Imagine if the overrated Hopoate, the bog standard Mannah and any promising newcomer were left to the corruptive devices of a management doing it's best to sabotage the pilotless Hayne Plane . . . no amount of struggling with the controls could have saved Arthur

It's a pity that Hopoate can't be parachuted out, more than one blockbuster on the wing is needed, might mean that others will have to be 'discovered' in some corner of the planet but the Eels can't afford to pander to has been's and over priced maybe's.

Ironic that such so-called mighty breeding grounds like Penrith/Canterbury/Parramatta find it necessary to poach their way out of trouble, someone said on the weekend that successful clubs need successful management . . . maybe so, but management without culture is just another good brothel

POPEYE

With luck I'll be as wrong about James Roberts as I was about Tedesco, I probably would have enjoyed watching the latter James more if I didn't imagine him being forced out of the game after every tackle. Sort of enjoying a Ferrari leading a race and then amazed that it won

Maybe it's because Roberts looks Mundinesque to me, I live in fear that any moment a dark angel will appear and whisk him away to a place mere mortals can't understand. He's entitled to strut around like his shit doesn't stink, nothing wrong with that if you have that sort of talent, all I want is see him enjoy himself in the process

This bloke in the right frame of mind, a little less fragile if appearances are correct, could become more dangerous to the opposition than Inglis ever was. I said to the missus last night when he first touched the ball for his try 'Here's trouble, watch this bloke' . . . almost a foregone conclusion.

If he doesn't finish his career the way it should be finished it will be one of the greatest tragedies to befall the game

POPEYE

Almost a certainty the Broncos will be meeting the Dogs in the 'right frame of mind', the underrated Tolman is back, MbYE is where he belongs and their sideline part timers can concentrate on what they do best. Even with the orchestrated home ground advantage if Benny Bounces Back his mob will truly be one of the favourites for the cup

Not sure the return of Matai and dropping of Long Tall Tommy T is what the Seagles need, but I've lost interest in them so let shit happen. Souths will have to shape up to win however

If Merrin's worth the rave he should be able to inspire the Dragons on the resurgence they need, since the Warriors are one of the teams I want to see drink from the cup I hope not. Duges the Cat won't find it as easy this week

Sharks/Cowboys could be the most intriguing game of the round if Flanagan can keep the ball rolling, a never-say-die battler against the comeback king. Pity that it's not a full strength contest

If Soward is as good in this game as he is on The Back Page the Panthers should win easily, unfortunately or maybe not only Gunga Din could have any idea what is going to happen. Arthur must think he's a director at the Opera House, lose one prima donna and gain another

Thank f**k Melbourne have dumped their Blue Ringed Octopus outfit, only people they frightened were themselves, how can they concentrate playing in a kaleidoscope. Just the same they will have to snap out of the trance they're in if they don't want Roberts running amok

There is a game in Newcastle if anyone doesn't want to bet responsibly

I pity the Raiders, coming up against the mighty Tigers will be difficult but you never know, they might be in with a chance

POPEYE

Eastwood not being there will greatly enhance Brisbane's chances against the Dogs, the bloke is a far better player than his belly denotes. Every bit as important to Dessie as the other keg with legs Kasiano

Don't normally watch footy shows but as I was having a drink with bellyache last night I had to sit through Sterlo. We both almost pissed ourselves when Duges the Cat said to Cam Smith 'You might know as well'

Be interesting to see if Glenn shuts down Brett tomorrow night, the bald brother is a specialist at stopping opposition plays before they eventuate and the other is a specialist at catching the opposition napping. Glenn could be the catalyst for the ruination of the season for the club that ruined his sibling journey

Ben Lowe was a stalwart, one of the vast majority of players who are the most necessary members of any League team. More easily replaced than one of the greats but nevertheless still of 'NRL' quality which says it all. All the best to the bloke in future endeavours

POPEYE

Gotta love Benny when he says he doesn't mind Graham's outbursts at referees, says 'He's the Captain, he's entitled to have his say' . . . this on the eve of his mob playing the Dogs. Don't get me wrong, I reckon Bennett is as good as any coach I've seen but the bloke's apparent belief that all League followers are as collectively gullible as the people that play the game irks me no end

Benny knows that the Cam Smith approach to referees is the ultimate, might be a bit gooey but referees are show ponies who stamp their hooves to count, got to feed them sugar to make them acquiesce. I wonder what he has planned to make Graham blow his top knowing that if the Dogs keep their minds on the job the game could end badly for the Broncos

I don't have a problem that compared to Benny the Storm Captain is a novice when it comes to conning the majority of League followers but I like the connivance to remain on the field and training paddock. Bennett's smug holier than thou attempts to influence everything about the game to suit his purpose are crude when properly examined

POPEYE

If you continue to take pot shots at TheDugan Pops, I'm afraid I may have to get slightly annoyed...

I'm going to refrain from doing it just for you ol' mate, I realised anyway that ostracising Duges is tantamount to flogging a dog for digging up the yard . . . came to my senses when I saw he wears a digital watch