Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

H.H

Any Dragon supporters watching last night's Test will now have some insight into what will happen if Benji comes to Kogarah. Shaun Johnson is a very good player who could be great if he didn't try to play like Marshall. The Kiwis could have won the game as easily as they lost it if they finished their sets as Australia did, all they needed was Cronk or Thurston . . . or Widdop.

I purposely will not read anything in print about the game because I reckon Kearney did a great job but sure as shit he will be maligned. The Kiwis had Australia rattled, they 'played direct' as Cam Smith told the Kangaroos to do but only had one go-to man and it was f**king frustrating to watch.

They didn't need the penalty magnet JWH or SBW or Luke, even with 'Australia's Best' referee being ordinary all they needed was someone with a footy brain with the ball in his hands at the end of sets. Johnson has a fabulous running game and is an important member of the team because of it, but make no mistake the Kiwis lost the game, Australia didn't win it.
How many times I've seen that in internationals over the past 10-15 years beggars belief.

Not just NZ either, pommies have had their share of f**k ups and the 2003 series over there springs to mind.

There is a mental shortcoming when teams play Australia. Kiwis have overcome this at times but last night showed it still lingers.

POPEYE

Good game at Penrith, lot to play for but that wouldn't have mattered, Pacific Island teams always play like it's a war. The crowd was fabulous as usual for the good natured intensity, it's a shame the NRL don't take one game a year to each of the islands. The goodwill would be tremendous for the game if they could find venues big enough to hold the population.

A fully fit all hands on deck Samoa will frighten the shit out of England away from home in the Four Nations and if the powers that be were really keen on serious contests a combined Samoa/Fiji representative team might even be a better proposition. Anyway, this game proved like City/Country will prove that there are enough grass roots supporters to keep them alive.

To hell with sanctimonious f**kwits who worship only the best the game has to offer and dismiss the processes which create opportunity for all participants in the first place.

POPEYE

If Greg Hartley says Tony Archer is not the right man for the job as Director of Referees that will do me . . . he MUST be the right man for the job. I've seen as many games refereed by Hartley as would have been humanly possible within reason and the bloke was by far the most manipulative whistle blower in my 50 years of studying the game.

That is all I'm prepared to say about the man other than I'd love to have the prick spill my beer. The problem with most referees is a simple one, they don't step up a grade as efficiently as players do. Players progress from kids having fun to the ultimate champions that can't intentionally afford to waste a moment.

Referees on the whole start at junior level with a point to prove, albeit reasonably, which unfortunately turns into arrogance because 50% of onlookers see a reason to doubt them even if only some of the time. Players along the road to the top grade will bluff the referee which in turn creates an us against them manifestation.

All that's well and good as long as upon reaching the pinnacle, which is First Grade Rugby League, arrogance is deposed by common sense. Top grade players don't have to be 'taught a lesson' at the slightest opportunity, they don't need 'to know who's the boss' . . . they don't have time any more for that f**king shit.

Coaches want players to follow the rules, at least the ones that make a difference. Who gives a damn if a hand brushes the ball when not blatant interference or opportioning blame for a lost ball when 'play on' negates doubt. Players have better things to do than perpetuate the arrogance referees refuse to relinquish

Supporters should be up in arms not because the referees make mistakes but because they interfere too much, the contest is in the playing of the game which like Formula 1 will always become inherantly faster, referees imo should progress from badly designed chicanes to sensible marshalling

POPEYE

Meninga mightn't be the greatest coach in the world but he's a first class man manager, Origin players don't need to be coached any more than the Kangaroos do, they just need to be organised in the right combinations. NSW are only a series win away from establishing a winning culture if they follow the precedent set by Qld.

The City/Country game showcased the talent waiting to be nurtured, an arena Meninga wishes he had and has explained why he hasn't. Mal is left no choice but to stand by players that give him no reason to reject them, even a hint of camaraderie assasination would be as disastrous for Qld as it always has been for NSW . . . the reason I'm a traitorous Newsouthwelshman.

Aside from the Melbourne combination and putting bias aside I admit DCE for instance is currently performing better than Cronk but it would be equivalent to suicide if Mal dropped him from a one loss team let alone a winning one. Meninga also knows Slater is a more complete fullback than Inglis who is the best centre Qld has.

NSW is in the fortunate position of having some fabulous talent coming through but if they continue to get the trees confused with the forest they'll never be satisfied enough to establish a permanent camaraderie. If Daley thought his job wouldn't be jeopardised by anything less than a series win he could assault Origin with a whole new breed of players just as Qld did almost a decade ago.

Instead as usual the concoction of media driven selections will have to suffice on the offchance of a series win, might be only fools gold and not sustainable but will do to satisfy the doomsayers temporarily. Ironic that the people calling for changes to Qld are the same f**king whingeing about NSW not establishing what Qld have

Cloudsurfer

Any Dragon supporters watching last night's Test will now have some insight into what will happen if Benji comes to Kogarah. Shaun Johnson is a very good player who could be great if he didn't try to play like Marshall. The Kiwis could have won the game as easily as they lost it if they finished their sets as Australia did, all they needed was Cronk or Thurston . . . or Widdop.

I purposely will not read anything in print about the game because I reckon Kearney did a great job but sure as shit he will be maligned. The Kiwis had Australia rattled, they 'played direct' as Cam Smith told the Kangaroos to do but only had one go-to man and it was f**king frustrating to watch.

They didn't need the penalty magnet JWH or SBW or Luke, even with 'Australia's Best' referee being ordinary all they needed was someone with a footy brain with the ball in his hands at the end of sets. Johnson has a fabulous running game and is an important member of the team because of it, but make no mistake the Kiwis lost the game, Australia didn't win it.

Went to the game & the score didn't reflect the game imo - except the Aussies WILL capitalize if there's an opportunity which shows the class side they are.

Harris playing in the halves was a masterstroke and when that was changed (into the 2nd half) the game for the Kiwis changed - no one was organizing for Johnson (the stuff you don't see on TV) & he reverted to the 'other' Johnson and his options went out the window.

When Harris went off to the blood bin it changed the dynamics - Smith & Cronk certainly saw this & the pressure on Johnson finally worked.

Foran would've made a difference certainly, his experience and his style of play would've been the icing on the cake for this team...put Harris & Whare as the centres, Johnson relieved of doing anything but his job by Foran like in 3/4 of the game by Harris, it's possibly a whole different finish...proud of the boys.

The Kiwis had a good game plan, played to their strengths & with heart - the Aussies weren't out-enthused in the first half, they were outplayed (till the last quarter)...the 'out-enthused' line is patronizing.

POPEYE

Convincing yourself to be as non-biased as possible is difficult enough without refraining from being a cynic but shit happens, it's enough that I do my best to look on players in the most favorable light I can, bureaucracy is a different matter.

Take ol' mate Toddy G for instance with his "You have to be committed to rep football if you are going to be genuine about it." That pearl of wisdom was in reference to the 'stand alone' weekend just past having to stay despite the criticism.

Anyone following my dribbling will know my thoughts on advancing League using a 3 week interval window which could even include Country/City made up of left over non-Origin and non-Pacific players, as long as Country gets a go . . . except we don't need NZ playing Australia in the middle of the year.

Anyway, without digressing too much, back to TG. When watching the City/Country game I couldn't help but admire the way Bulldog players performed, even to the extent of hoping as many as possible get selected for Origin. We need to have the Bulldogs' season interrupted equally as much as the other top Premiership contenders so Todd can see the error of his ways.

Maybe when Lichaa becomes the next NSW #9, Reynolds #6 and so on TG will have to manipulate byes and opposition teams around Origin time to suit, lucky Fifita wasn't made a Dog absentee after all. Must have been a blow when a tired Storm washed away a fresh kennel in '12

POPEYE

Why is it that the Roosters are considered 'old guard' when they're really still a new kid on the block, the only people that think they're in trouble are the same that believe that '2nd year syndrome' rubbish, something good coaching is the cure for. This week's Bondi team is as shit-hot as you can get and the Tigers, although one of the new breed revivalists, shouldn't have a prayer

Betting on the Cowboys with their shaky spine is like pissing into the wind and hope you finish before the next gust, crikey I want this mob to win consistently but all I expect is the same ol' same ol' which at home may be good enough against Brisbane.

Warriors/Raiders . . . two up anyone

Souths are favourites but the Titans are giving out vibes that replace fingers being crossed, the more the GC get settled the better they are looking. Souths have to prove themselves again . . . sounds like a broken record. I'm interested in seeing if the Titans can get through the game in one piece

By far the two standout teams this century normally have to face each other at full strength to mean anything and Manly aren't prepared, then again the Storm are just about sick and tired of filling rep teams and it's showing.

Knights/Panthers could be the match of the round if both play as well as they can but Penrith have the more interesting players striking form

Have the Dragons got enough mongrel to win the Dogfight . . . would be a surprise

Eels should beat the Sharks shouldn't they . . . you bet, I'll just watch

POPEYE

I'm not concerned with all the gobblydegook on how the ARLC is going to improve the salary cap, once all the red tape is sorted the smart operators will have a gleam in the eye and a sparkle off the teeth anticipating the challenge to do what they do best . . . manipulate.

That's well and good, after all it's not the corrupted 80's, we have Commissioners, a Chairman and a CEO that have to answer to each other and League supporters as a whole, wtf can go wrong. As usual all I'm interested in is the one progressive component that will hopefully but is still not guaranteed be implimented

Clubs that search out new talent > coach it not poach it > keep it > no strain on any other club. If you're a Tigers' supporter what would you prefer, a chance to have Israel Folau or make it doubly difficult for another club to take away Luke Brooks. Daniel Tupou for instance, an escapee from the Parramatta Minimum Detention Centre, taken to first grade by the Roosters so now Politis should be protected from poachers . . . if that's not f**king irony I'm not here.

I wish there was a pill against bad vibes, I fear Melbourne's self harm on the expedition to seek common sense may still be of too little consequence, clubs may not be rewarded enough. Should Melbourne be the club given priority in funding to salvage Falou from the depths, after all he is of their nurturing.

Methinks if he does come back he will finish up at a club that is not one of those the salary cap was designed to protect in the first place . . . ah, the best laid plans of mice and men

POPEYE

Every f**kwit who thinks he knows something about League will have a potshot at Bellamy's declaration of leaving the game and I'm no different, just a soc on the other side of the fence. The bloke's the best coach I've seen because he achieves the best results possible without poaching from his peers.

Other coaches will be his judge, the only people he's ever been interested in impressing, no player who underachieved under his guidance can blame him any more than he blamed anyone for underchieving as a player himself. The best coaches are players that knew what was required but found determination wasn't enough on the field and did better off it.

No-one has been able to dominant the players he coached to Origin greatness, not even himself, which is more testimony of his ability. He's persevered through adversity that would cause other coaches to roll up in foetal position, turned a foreign environment into a League stronghold and created a culture that others dream about.

He's a bloke that can retire with the knowledge that a wealthy man need not be a f**king rocket scientist and there is not one CEO in the game of Rugby League that would deny him coaching their team.

To all his jealousy inflicted doubters . . . suck shit

POPEYE

Hate to say it but whenever Mahe Fonua doesn't play I'm relieved, the bloke doesn't inspire my confidence even though he can come up with something miraculous, I'm interested in anyone Bellamy replaces him with.

Swapping a stump for a piece of wire rope isn't a surprise for Bellamy and the unlikely looking Kurt Mann didn't let his coach down, the last try was just icing on the cake in a game where the debutant tackled like his life depended on it. Hampton too stepped up another rung on the ladder imo, his aggressive running a diamond among rocks

The coach isn't a happy camper and who can blame him the way the team is struggling but when newcomers lead the way it must be reassuring. Frustration has him grasping at straws blaming refereeing decisions as it does every time a coach is doing it tough but seriously, how good a f**king coach is a bloke who refuses to buy his way out of trouble.

While on the subject, Toovey is proving once and for all he was more than just a yellow jacketed water bottle carrier. He is doing with Manly and it's available troops something Hasler would have struggled keeping up with

POPEYE

R.I.P. Reg Gasnier, a pity the bloke wasn't really immortal . . . no-one deserved the right more than him.

POPEYE

You can have all those fancy types, I'll take mongrels every day, no mood swings or off days to worry about just arse up and head down. A perfect example is Parramatta's version of Jeremy Smith, Manu Ma'u, isn't it great to see a new few and far between hardcase in the game.

The look on the bloke's face as he was forced to leave the field last night was something money can't buy, Rambo Ronnie Gibbs would have been proud as would Tawera Nikau and the precious few like them. Teams that don't have a player like this don't have enough to win the cup.

If there's anything that will overcome Jekyll and Hyde refereeing it's discipline, perseverance in transfering training to game day. It's not only Sandow doing what he's instructed but the whole team following suit that has the Eels on track, Parramatta as a team is an extension of Arthur . . . as it should be.

Sphagnum

He looked like he was gonna belt both the trainers for touching him. He was getting the number of the bloke who got him too, i think is was tupou. I'm guessing sharks were happy to see him go off and not return because it might of got ugly.

POPEYE

Hampton being suspended is another unfortunate hurdle for Melbourne especially with the Bunnies coming to the boil, Dylan Walker is their yardstick imo, the bloke is making more of an impact than Inglis. If Robbo can't walk away from his old familiar surroundings with a smile on his kisser he'll have trouble explaining why

Broncos should beat the Titans with the Suncorp head start, Ryan James' mouth won't be needed to spur Brisbane on so it's been relegated and the Bird thing won't inspire. Let's hope the Eeyore Syndrome hasn't returned to the GC

Great idea by Arthur to keep one figurehead in NSW Cup, Moimoi's turn to show the boys what can happen with less than 100% effort. Eels have to be favourite and Hoppa will take one more step towards Origin. Widdop is fighting a war driving a Jeep against Panzers

Sharks will give the Tigers a run for their money, no way of betting responsibly on this one

Thurston/SBW, now that's an interesting 5/8 duel, the Cowboys won't miss Lui and according to wankers Pearce out will help the Roosters. By right this should be match of the round, Maloney is running out of opportunities and Green is in need of recognition.

Raiders will have to either beat the Panthers or frighten shit out of them . . . there is no alternative for a lot of people

If the Warriors play the same 2 weeks running thay may have a chance running the Bulldogdozer off track, wouldn't like to be hanging by the nuts for what will have to be 80 minutes if the Kiwis are to win.

The Knights are to going to be made pay for Manly getting beaten the week before, no different than most teams facing the wrath. Can Benny do what Benny is renowned for . . . the answer will have to be bigger than the ask

ek999

I think Romelo will actually improve Melbourne from what Hampton has been providing. No doubt Hampton will become a better player thean what Romelo is over time but short term Romelo will be good for them and give them a boost for the Rabbitohs match.

Would be interested in your thoughts on Hasler's tactics with the Bulldogs. A lot of people thought the rule changes would favour smaller, more agile forwards. Hasler has instead gone with a 7 man prop rotation and are killing teams through the middle. Looks like Hasler has outsmarted all other coaches IMO

POPEYE

Hope you're right about Romelo but imo Hampton is who Bellamy needs, his suspension doesn't worry me too much if Melbourne end up with a firey 5/8 down the track when it counts.

Interesting you think terrorism is smarter than cunning, Des is trying to do what he's paid to do, the bugbear of the competition is injuries to key personnel and Hasler may think the best way is to have players easily replaced by similar players. Working well so far, but if the opposition are fully fit and on tune when it counts razzle dazzle may catch the Dogs out.

If the NRL came to it's senses and realised the best way to entertain would be to reduce interchanges Des would have to come up with something more enterprising . . . which no doubt he is capable of. As it is now the Dogs way of doing things suits the intellect of their local supporters

POPEYE

Much as I dislike Origin scheduling and being a supporter of Qld, which means the concept is detrimental and boring until NSW start winning again, I like everyone else can't help talking about it as though it is the be-all-end-all. Shame that it has disadvantaged the Cup when it could have enhanced it.

Anyway, that said, imo the idea of returning Beau Scott to the fray is a good one. Qld have to be upset and the best way is to introduce niggle, Gallen type toughness is not enough because it can be compensated for. Bird can't be expected to carry the nastiness burden alone, I'm not a fan of Luke Lewis's pansy hit and miss style and Scott should play in the forwards.

I'd have a 100% fit Dugan at fullback and Hayne closer to the tryline at centre, IQ has to represented so Maloney has to play in the hope he'll be in the right mood. The only reason I'd have Adam Reynolds over Pearce would be to further discombobulate Qld who are too comfortable, the rest of the team should be picked on form/fitness.

Whatever happens NSW have to come up with something different, if not for my sake at least make f**king up the Premiership worthwhile

POPEYE

Suppose you're an NRL player, which by definition means you're a very good League player, all that remains is for you to be fit and in the right frame of mind to give your best. There's many things however that can upset your equilibrium on game day, from the desperation of playing for a contract to something as simple as ignoring a knock-back the night before.

You could lack confidence in your coach, a player in your team may be receiving accolades he hasn't earned or there could be a lack of confidence in your fellow players. That just about covers the Raiders or Dragons for instance. There are times when the roster is so unsettled because of injury or suspension no-one is sure wtf is going to happen until it does.

Then there is the dreaded boogeyman of fellow players not contributing the way they should for various reasons, jealousy or thoughts of greener pastures among them. Probably the most disconcerting is the thought of facing a team that has everyone of their players in the right frame of mind when you know your mob doesn't. Eels/Storm/Cowboys weren't going to be beaten by any team taking uncertainty onto the paddock.

So far this weekend the trick has been to distinguish which games had both teams in the right frame of mind and which didn't. Any onlooker who can do that without pissing his pants and blaming lack of player talent exclusively for his team's demise is a true Rugby League supporter.