Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Almost forgot. I'm lousy at riddles but here goes. How does one turn a storm into a hurricane,
persuade a dragon to breathe fire, turn a gummy into a White Pointer and lift a knight back into the
saddle. The answer will be replaced by a placebo.

Fire

Almost forgot. I'm lousy at riddles but here goes. How does one turn a storm into a hurricane,
persuade a dragon to breathe fire, turn a gummy into a White Pointer and lift a knight back into the

?????

Cloudsurfer

Yep, very few are the real deal...& the eels get a placebo

AlwaysGreen

Gee, that's pretty blue for this time of the day pops.

How about a hint?

Fire

How about a hint?

This. I can't figure it out either.

Maybe teams lift with a new coach (I think there is statistical evidence of this) Fittler at the Roosters, can't think of his name at Panthers. I think the new coach will be all in the players' head (i.e., a placebo) and they'll fade out next season again. Hope I'm wrong as Parra fans deserve better.

POPEYE

A hint you want. Think of a player who specialises in mongrel, played at 3 clubs and another in the new
year. The bloke who is going to replace him at his current club is lauded a saviour but not half the
player . . . a pretender if you like.

POPEYE

Tonight we had the real deal versus the pissant. Nothing like fairdinkum front rowers to put 'Rugby'
back in League . . . take a bow Bailey and Myles. Then we have a ref saying "that's the beauty of two
referees" as yet another loose carry is judged a strip. Imagine a pissant decision determining the
outcome of the pissant cup, especially with two dopes trying to outdo each other.

AlwaysGreen

A hint you want. Think of a player who specialises in mongrel, played at 3 clubs and another in the new
year. The bloke who is going to replace him at his current club is lauded a saviour but not half the
player . . . a pretender if you like.

Kerry Hemsley?

POPEYE

Kerry Hemsley?

I sense from you a glimmer of participation, could be the start of something. If I were allowed to choose a
team the 4th player picked would be Jeremy Smith. In the riddle I'm assuming he's going to Newcastle . . .
and he is laughingly being replaced by Lewis

POPEYE

Apparently there was a contentious try I missed in the Titans/Broncos game. Can't be the one where
Hoffman thumped Bailey after the ball was down. Every player wishes he could get away with that by
saying his eyes were closed and he thought he might make contact before the ball found grass.

Big Tim

I sense from you a glimmer of participation, could be the start of something. If I were allowed to choose a
team the 4th player picked would be Jeremy Smith. In the riddle I'm assuming he's going to Newcastle . . .
and he is laughingly being replaced by Lewis

I fear saying this, but you gave that up too easy mate.

I really hope Smith ends up a Knight. It is the one thing the team is missing... some real mongrel. In Smith and Scott we would have some guys that would make things "right".

I guarantee neither of these guys would have let Burgo's tackle on young KOD go un-answered.

POPEYE

Well, I'm not afraid to eat my words and I'll go on record saying Mason is earning his keep as more
than just a morale booster. Benny may have left his run too late this season but not many coaches
would have taken on Mason, Tahu and Gagai at the one time and got these results.

POPEYE

Wonder if Parramatta realise only half the job is done. They've found a man with a pocket full of tic
tacs but still need one with a head full of tactics. More attraction than Hasler will not overcome worse
coaching than Smith. The Eels need Graham Murray. He's shorter than Stuart, is an ol' boy and doesn't
mind being invisible. Bet Politis is sorry he pumped up the drive but let the steer go flat . . . could have
been 3 or 4 in row.

I don't give a shit how it's done. The journos can fabricate, initiate, coerce or even use Pearce to
manipulate, BS must be banned from Bondi . . . budgie smuggling is outdated.

Rothfield reports it's time to ban the shoulder charge . . . at least from players taller than Sandow
who couldn't live without them. I've lost count of the broken necks since the 70's because of this
insidious part of the game. Contact should be allowed by invitation only.

Jabba refuses to answer Rothfield's questions regarding the future plans for Penrith. We all know
that just as nine is the home of League the Tele is the voice of the people. If Phil thinks that's rough
treatment he should come bible bashing at my door.

POPEYE

Appropriate time of the year for this analogy. Seems Bellamy has dropped back to the peloton and
may even struggle to keep pace. Hasler is attempting a breakaway and Maguire may even go with
him. Bennett has refused a turn at the front and may gain an advantage along with Cartwright who
has been watching the jostling from Henry, Toovey, Flanagan and Griffin. Sheens is hampered by
loose spokes but all will have to be wary of lapped riders.

POPEYE

Yes I know I harp on a lot of subjects but I'm addicted. The Raiders, Eels, Panthers, Knights and Dragons
could be vying for a top four spot if only they had direction on the field. Even the Bismarck was useless
without a rudder. Whether a meathead or not, it is a criminal offence for a half to put himself in the position
to be sent off.

Just on the game. When you have two teams looking towards what may happen in '13 everything suffers,
but that is what made the game interesting and worth watching on a Fox replay. A nine, Sunday arvo, ad filled
compulsory match of the round it was never going to be. You thought Jabba had influence in Starwars.

Not much else in the tele worth mulling over except for the attempt at reviving the old comic strip.
Remember them, to counteract all the bad news there used to be a comic strip like 'Bluey' to finish
the day's read with a laugh. Instead, we have Fittler saying he'd like to coach NSW.

POPEYE

The Cowboys have to be vigilant and not be bitten my mosquitos, located on the top of the Ross
River where a fever was first discovered that amongst others has symptoms such as lethargy,
lack of concentration and an inability to sustain an attention span. Now widespread, it appears to
have reached epidemic proportions at the head of the Parramatta River.

I'm told that although there will be the occasional good day where everything is as it should be, the
symptons last about six months . . . or about the length of a League season. Alas, there is no cure
in sight, leaving the best doctors dumbfounded.

POPEYE

Just because I have faith in vibes doesn't mean I believe in coincidence. Although the footy gods stepped
in and gave Kasiano the holiday he deserved it doesn't mean that once a team is designated the flavour
of the year all others should be forgotten.

Greg Inglis made a mistake that deserves a week off. The only mistake he made was not wrapping his
arms around Young and still get the same result with his shoulder. Inglis is a fearsome tackler who
can stop anyone and doesn't need to prove anything. If he had been told that shoulder charges are
illegal he would not have used one.

Trial by media is only allowed in sport and if the ARLC don't show some backbone by putting offences
in black and white favouritism will thrive. Ray Price was told that if he wanted to throw a player over
his hip he would have to make first contact with his hands.

POPEYE

Wonder what was going through Travis's mind? How long before the inevitable and Cleary drops me to
the bench, or worse, tells me to look elsewhere. I'm not going to Windsor either where Walsh should
be. I know . . . I'll finish the year on the sideline and hopefully another team will think I slipped up and
was not pushed out.

I'd be careful playing like he did at Townsville if I was Benji. Someone else that looked as though he
was being paid to lose a game there was banned for life.

Soward has fired up about people criticising the form of his team mates and a very smart move I must say.
No better way to draw attention away from yourself than to protest the innocence of others.

Mini should be admired also for his loyalty . . . especially to a club that has thrown him a line. Nothing worse
than not being able to fit into the last lifeboat even if the thing is going around in circles.

The Eels think they are going from a storm in a teacup to any port in a storm. Maybe a Certificate of Excellence
from Melbourne's Coaching Academy might be worth something after all if Arthur can do a Taylor.